Credits: 10,438
Natives "attitude" during Carnival
One thing I noticed about carnival in TNT is that the folks are, well, not too friendly.
My experience Carnival elsewhere, Panama and Brazil, that is a major difference. And I am talking about subtle things such as clerks slamming your change or even your visa card on the counter without being provoked. I mean that takes conscious effort to slam someones change or credit card. Or not responding when someone says friendly goodmorning to you......... TWICE. And the ability to give lip but not take lip. WHOA BIG ONE, Especially when it comes to tone. Mi fadda got tat rough tone tat yankees doh understan, so I understand trini lip, but if you can give it be able to take it, phuckas. And I must say such attitudes affects MY spirit of carnival. Whats up wit tat, native trini resentful because they cannot afford the celebration watching foriegners in thier land having a good time? Now in comparison Brazil / Panama, brasileños & panameños are wonderfully pleasant during carnival. THIER SPIRIT DONT EVEN COMPARE, totally different spectrums. AND I AM NOT TRYING TO PROVOKE AN ARGUMENT, JUST A DIALOGUE TO UNDERSTAND DIFFERENT POINTS OF VIEW. Last edited by Canalero; 02-29-2008 at 07:00 PM.. |
Credits: 15,472
It took me a little while to re-adjust my attitude........Trinidad is not a tourist destination.......they are not tourist friendly......and until their natural resource run out......they will continue to have sucky attitude.......once I land at Piarco the beast in me takes over.......I snarl and look at people like they stole my money.......its not the way they were raised.....but the way some of them seem to have evolved.......I dont hold doors for nobody any more.....let it slam in dey face........but on the good side let me share 2 pleasant experiences I had past Carnival.........walking up d road in d morning and a little girl like 8 tell me good morning (remided me of how I was raised as a kid and made me feel shame dat d lil heifer said it b4 I did)........Carnival Tuesday meh hands was full wit my frens lunch boxes and 1 of the forks fell......female masquerader said she would get it.....stopped and picked it up for me........its tough to paint everyone with the same bush........but Customer Service and just comon manners is a major issue I have with Trinidad.......I grw up there and dont just go for Carnival so I have a general feel for the people
Credits: 11,307
Credits: 15,472
as far as store folks dey not trained as far as customer service is concrned and their supervisors are just as bad........as a people I cant say they rude in general because I have seen real courtesy and kindness also........every year I does have to cuss somebody........some years back I cuss way a gal next ting yuh kno she wah be meh fren....madness........but dey special
Credits: 14,228
then on de maxi every person said good morning, season's greetings or compliments of the season! i forgot about saying those things while in the states. i loved it! so it all depends.
Credits: 698
AJB yuh story remind mih of when ah went tuh mih ole school to visit and mih ole PE teacher ask me to address a class. As I walk in the room everybody stood up and was like "good evening Sir". I was stunned...first off that they called me 'Sir' (good manners)...second because they called me 'Sir', I eh dat ole lol |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,257
Ive always found Trini natives to be really welcoming,hospitable and friendly on a one on one scenario HOWEVER customer service in trini is without a doubt THE ABSOLUTE WORST I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED...HANDS DOWN. Its almost like they vex you had the audacity to walk into their establishment. What even worse is that the minute you get more stink than them they start being nice to you and ting....i have no idea what that is about...
Last edited by Rinababy; 03-01-2008 at 12:03 AM.. |
Credits: 14,228
Credits: 698
But nah, I spoke to them (probably Form 2 or 3) for like ten minutes then we had a Q/A session...they were really poised and well-spoken and addressed me as 'Sir' like I said when they spoke to me. Real humbling experience. Folks up Calvary doing a great job as usual. |
Credits: 5,624
What amazes me too, esp in Tobago is that Tobagonians always say that we are friendly people. Steups...Where?? People have NO manners anymore. Service is de worse... is like u gettin cuss for wanting to get service. It's a bother for anybody to do something that they were hired to do. |
Azuuucar!
Credits: 57,264
I have NEVER encountered any of what some of you speak. Trini's don't ting up dey self fuh tourists that is so true, but the nastiness..nah not my experience. Everybody I meet say mornin, good afternoon and good night. To this day it makes me smile when yuh call someone house and they say "hello, good afternoon" or whatever the case may be. As far as customer service, it lacks to me because they move so slow. But then I realize, Trini's doh care if Monday fall on ah Friday. Where as here in the states it if aint ready in 10 seconds, we fly into a rage.
Credits: 9,883
Trini's don't get paid to be friendly. We don't business w. tourists. Overall, Trinis are much friendlier than Americans, but won't bend over backwards for a tip because we don't care about that. Just because you are treated nice don't mean the people are friendly, they just working their hustle on those other islands.
D'Original Puttury Lucian
Credits: 1,920
very interesting viewpoints. hmmmm......
![]() Carry on ![]() |
Credits: 17,059
Yeah boy, this is one criticism that has a ring of truth to it. If yuh expecting all smiles and genuflection from someone serving you whatever in tnt...then you will be dissappointed..and this is not just for the tourists...the locals get the same kind of server. What you have to do is be brash and loud in a real trini sort of way...and you will get more respect and better service....but not every body could do that.
Credits: 5,165