Old 06-29-2009, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,039
My dc carnival weekend! Post your experience.........

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing experience at D.C. Carnival this weekend. From fetes to performances I had a good time from Fri back to Sun. Before I give you my detailed experience, BIG BIG SHOUT OUT to MR DEUCE holding it down in every fete this weekend! I need to be VIP like you Deuce…..I’ll just give you my experiences on fetes and on the road. I will also tell you about my friend’s experiences who attended DV8…

Friday...Half of my friends attended DV8 and of course I along with three of my friends attended Flags till morning. My experience in Flags till morning was very nice. The venue was nice and had plenty of room to party. I went with the 40 dollar all inclusive option which consisted of unlimited drinks, and trust me i received my money’s worth. The bar was stocked with Top shelf liquor ranging from Hennessey, baileys, JW, and a couple more I can’t name off the top. However it was well worth it, because you were able to get beer selections like Corona, Smirnoff ice, and other drinks to quench the alcoholic thirst; Unlike DV8 who was serving Becks (I’ll get to that in a minute). The performances were okay; I finally got to see Lyrical perform my song Hold Dem. The rest of the performances were very good and energetic ranging from Tizzy, Kerwin, and Patch. Only downside was they stop serving liquor at a certain time, so all inclusive or not we were limited to Soda and water. I just got to a point where I brought the whole cranberry juice bottle with some cups onto the dancefloor and danced the night away. The DJ was on point and we got a good Jump up in that ignited the crowd to GET ON BAD! Flags was the place to be and for 40 dollars; i got more drinks and entertainment than I expected. With energy still left to dance it was back to the Hotel to rest for Carnival morning.
According to my friends who attended DV8, they said it was horrendous. The venue was at the same place. I guess they never wanted people parking on the premises or traffic reasons. As for the transportation situation, my friends got there at around twelve something and waited till around 2 for a shuttle. The all inclusive was not worth no 65 dollars. They had Becks beer and they ran out of liquor. Then they said they made a mistake and had more liquor at around minutes after 4. It’s funny how organized people are in collecting their money, but when it’s time to be organized with providing their service something goes wrong. Very unprofessional of Gresham to try and cut cost and rob people of their money in these times by providing poor service. Their probably laughing all the way to the bank but their name is tarnished this year and they lost a lot of loyal partygoers.

Saturday…Now why didn’t anybody tell me the Carnival route is soooooooooo Long. Last Year I parked close to the beginning and walked up to catch up to the Carnival. This Year I parked by the park and walked to the beginning which in actuality makes more sense but sheesh! That walk is a killer, anyways ofcourse we walked and walked and walked until we seen masses of people covered in brown from a distance; UREKA! It was the MUD BAND. Before we got to them I spotted a tiny crew of people covered in black with a little pan truck. Puzzled trying to figure out if that was the mud band or I thought that was the mud bands idea of going green; or should I say TAR. Well the Vibes was excellent, everyone covered in mud whining up and having a time amongst friends. I was shocked to see what some MEN were dressed in! I couldn’t believe men were wearing thongs, actual THONGS and G-Strings. That’s the real definition of going BRAVE! Nevertheless people were freeing up themselves and requesting pictures with fellow band members to landmark the bacchanal. The Highlight of the road is when the DJ played the Late Michael Jackson’s Rock with you on a Soca beat. (I need that on CD, Julian 182 please try to get that) Even the judges were dancing and everybody loved it. That was all I needed for the road. We chipped, dance, and jumped up down the road till they ushered everyone off by Mcdonald’s; cutting off the music telling people to move along to the park. I was satisfied and yet another year the Mudd Band outdid itself attracting many more people to actually GO MUD!

Soca in Motion….Got to the venue around 1:20 and the line was just absurd and unorganized. Then there was a VIP line which even if you had a ticket you pay 20 to cut the line (Greedy Promoters). Now my vibe immediately as I walked up to the club was disturbed by one of the security guards who told people “CLEAR MY DRIVEWAY! I looked at him an laughed, because I’m such a trouble maker when it comes to idiots who take their job to another level of cockiness. After looking at the line and seeing how long it was, I just cut right in and texted my friends to come to the front. I got in around 2:00 or a little after. When we got in around 30 minutes after that, it was show time. The vibes was great and of course KMC tore the place down with a string of hits. Patch and Hunter also did their thing with rum and roti and jip sting. Bunji, Fayanne, and Benjai have officially become my favorite artists. They put on excellent show although it was a little time consuming with all of the antics and crowd participation, however it displays that their in the works of trying to put together a great show for the fans and cater to their fans. It was very nice and supportive to see how Fayanne sang back up for Bunji looking like a true back up singer in the wing. It was also nice to hear how Bunji introduced his wife as the lovely road march queen. During the show did anyone notice the dumbass security guard standing on stage profiling like he was untouchable…..Now being that time was against them, Trini Jacobs, and Saucy were rushed through their set to try and leave time for Fayanne to close with “get on” and “super blue”. As she came up to the middle of the stage and explained that she can’t leave without doing this song; they cut off her mic. The dumbass bouncer on the stage was disrespectful saying it’s over. What Fayanne did next is truly why I LOVE THIS LADY. The song was written for moments like this. Without microphone and the crowd looking to see what was next; Fayanne stood at the edge of the stage and said “THEY TRYING TO FLAP ME” then the crowd chimed in as she began to sing SUPER BLUE Acappella. With No mic and No band, Fayanne Lyons stood her ground over security catering to all her fans. When she did that the crowd went wild and I was not leaving because truthfully I was ready to brawl with security off of the appreciation Fayanne extended to her fans with all of the madness going on. She did not have to do that, she could of simply apologize and walk off the stage and call it a night. She gave me a night to remember and I cannot wait to see her in Houston. Bunji, Fayanne, and Benjai are true artists who cater to their fans no matter what circumstances may arise; and it was evident on this night to remember.

Sunday…Rise and Shine! Time to pack up and checkout, today is the last day and how else to end the perfect weekend with one of the biggest parties on the planet. Off to the Lux Lounge to take in Shine 2. Parking was easy to find but finding the venue was a little confusing. Well I knew once we arrived at the party it was going to be a nonstop cardio workout. I arrived at 2:00 and I didn’t stop dancing till about 5:30 or 6. The music was on point and ofcourse the place was packed! The club had three levels and the top 2 were jammed to capacity. The floor felt like it was about to cave in a couple of times. They played that Michael Jackson Rock with you soca mix again. That song is sooooo hot and it’s a must have for Miami. Everybody seemed to enjoy themselves especially me and my friends getting on bad in the back for each jump up tune. Big up Mr. Deuce again, you’re at every party! I would have stayed longer but I thought I lost my Drivers license which caused me to panic. I kept back tracking my steps and just felt uneasy so I said we have to go back to the hotel. Me and my paranoid self all along didn’t even bring it to the club; it was in my bag. I could of stayed longer. According to Back to Basics they said it was extended till everyone went home. Damn if I never felt so uneasy about losing my license, they would have had to call the police to get me out of there the way the vibes were so sweet. I can’t wait to do it again next year. Well that was my experience, post yours! Next stop Houston Caribfest!

Last edited by Prince 22; 06-29-2009 at 01:59 PM..
Old 06-29-2009, 02:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 160,063
oh fackin helll

an i like to read.

boy redo this wid some bullets so i could skim thru ok

thnx hun

Old 06-29-2009, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,039
oh fackin helll

an i like to read.

boy redo this wid some bullets so i could skim thru ok

thnx hun
That's the best i can do Taj, what parties did you attend?
Old 06-29-2009, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Happiness

Credits: 131,270
i can tell u had fun, can i get the cliff notes please.............

I swear this is the funniest ting I've heard for the week...although it's so wrong, Lol!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-29-2009, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 153,604
who go read all dat ?? lol
Old 06-29-2009, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 472
hmmm well here we go...
got up there late cuz you know how black people do, liming inna di house...so mi reach deh 'bout 1245am...the line is insanely long, i see shuttles coming an going picking up people to the secret location which is the same as years past.

I was surprised to see that there was no organization around people who reserved their tickets online, matter of fact you have to get near the head of the queue and exchange your e-receipt fi di actual blood**t tickets then go back to wherever you were in the line.F%ck that, cheat we ah cheat so so we started proceeding towards the front,when near the buses we notice that you have to get branded alias get a wristband b4 gettin on da damn bus...they said they had more than 12 buses but we all counted 4, 3 shuttles and a big buss sitting about 52. so we finally get on right...

we reach the same mansion about 210am,muddy terrain,i was making fun of all the ladies that dressed up, heals and everything ahah aha aahah unnuu at times nah mek nah sens,so we walk up and compared to last year where the main entrance was by the poool this time around you had to go around it and yesss,only one booth unlike last year and di both maddd far like at di bottom ah di hill man.so no swimming pool area available for us,no reggae/dancehall both and a much smaller crowd which is i think what the promoters wanted to have.food and drinks are arright, i dont really consume alcohol so hmm hmmm.wow, ladies are looking scrumptious so mi tink yo "daggering neva postpone",my boys tell me he already played reggae,im feeling sadd already ...

the main dancehall is really muddy, it looks like a marine practice terrain, the music is very baddd, the sound system acting and you can barely hear anything, he switches to dancehall,the mixes were very flat and nobody was getting into it,then played soca even worse my yute.the music kept on cuttin off,so people are just socializing, barely dancing you know.
about 355am,without any warning the music stops and people were so bored nobody complained and we all started proceeding toward the summit part of property,by the house itself,some yute get lick wid ah bokkle pon him face, bleeding profusely etc...but where are the f-ing buses, only one shows up and it is getting ridiculous,people shoving,pushing,getting in by the backdoor which was very dangerous...police literally made we walk from the main entrance back and forth it was ridiculous,police threatening police and police threatening back. so from the time they stopped the party till di time mi ketch di bus and back to bowie stadium 530am , rawwttiiddddddddd...

Conclusion; ah waste ah time and money, very poor planning and executing,very bad protocol,music was sub par,laughable,but di gyal dem hotta dan anything mi put mi 2 eyes dem pon...mi tink mi met mi soon to be wife wooiieee

all that said,if i were to rate dv8 it would be a 4.5 outta 10,they have offered us so much better in the past, for me to go back next year a lot of things will have to change but hey....we should collaborate and throw amad ting,a foam/choclate/wet party who's on board?

sorry 4 any typos, i tireddddd

i did club 24 on thursday, a whole heao ah gal but the dj was left to be appreciated meaning not up to par yuh know.friday,dv8 dc,saturday di parade which was actually fun a whole lot of daggering wooiee then concert inna di park,then at night it was 24,club love and lastly Tnt clubhouse,sunday the pool party and crossroads night club...dv8 ruined it for me but overall it was a cool carnival,neext baltimore,toronto,barbados,nyc aand miami...madddddddd
Old 06-29-2009, 11:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,265

Prince,

Sound like you a real trouble maker.....lol

Anyway, not much to talk about...seems like we were at the same fetes...

Anyway... Flags was ok

On the road Saturday....of course..."BKLYN" held it down again ! without us...it flop !

That is the mud section !

Sat night ..." Soca In Motion" ... the best night for me !

Old 06-29-2009, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,298
Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
who go read all dat ?? lol
I did

Prince: glad you had fun, and yeah that's why we neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeever park all the way at the end of the route (or find a way to jump in the band once they hit Georgia Ave./Petworth Station). Hopefully they'll have flags til morning again because I wouldn't mind going to that since it's literally 15 mins from home (plus it's rain proof). I think my only bad experience was the alcohol (not champagne) being poured in the crowd. I literally lmao at one dude (he had the blue paint bucket) who fell in this puddle/pothole ass first. Almost like the rum took over in a wrong way. Also saw another guy, who they called the ambulance for because once again that rum beast bit him. I missed everything once the band crossed the stage since we had to get little miss. Was gonna have a little something at my house, but everyone was too tired/drunk to wanna move .
Old 06-30-2009, 12:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Southern Belle

Credits: 23,298
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Prince,

Sound like you a real trouble maker.....lol

Anyway, not much to talk about...seems like we were at the same fetes...

Anyway... Flags was ok

On the road Saturday....of course..."BKLYN" held it down again ! without us...it flop !

That is the mud section !

Sat night ..." Soca In Motion" ... the best night for me !

nice pix though
Old 07-01-2009, 02:36 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 120
Thumbs up Dc Carnival 2k9

IDONTKNOWBOUTYUHBUTICAMETOGETON BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD!

I had a blast this year and though there there were some mishaps but IT WAS ALL GOOD !.... a fete is only good as you make it!

synopsis of events as follows:

THURSDAY TRIBE IGNITE @ 24:

Nice kick off party no long wait time to gain access into the club music was nice kept the crowd going enough to have my girlfriends dancing on tabletops...lol you know who you are wink* wink*

* see attached picture of me and friends at IGNITE*
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-ignite.jpg

FRIDAY @ DV8
oh boy...as a Taboo Baby I was a little miffed at the muddy dance floor and terrain but what can you do? it was a monsoon earlier in the evening and Gresham tried to recover by putting down mulch to soak up the puddles !$55 dollars was a little steep but I know that the promoters were trying to have crowd control this year.. so less people bigger the price... the food was much better but i wished they had corn soup like last year ...i feel sorry fuh allyuh dat had to wait for the shuttles... that is something that needs to be addresses & more thought put into for this venue ( it worked for DV8 Miami go figure)..hopefully Gresham can make it up next year...i still have love for them and will support them next year....again a party is only what you make it! i drank my $55 dollars worth, took off my muddy shoes and danced the night away!
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-dv8-hd.jpg

SATURDAY DC CARNIVAL PARADE MUD ANTZ

every year i try to prepare myself fuh de route but damn Georgia Ave. is so damn longggggggg and hilly..steupseee like going on a treadmill up hill for 12 miles! but i love mudddddddddddddddddddd...i think it was the largest band and it was pure bacchanal on de road!
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-jeria-heddy-mud.jpg heddy mud.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	57596

SATURDAY NIGHT BUNJI GARLIN BDAY BASH@ DC STAR

was in line for about 30 to 45 mins so i can't complain because they were people in the line longer and some even sold there tickets and went to Xen Fete around the corner...once inside it was all good entertainment on point but a little pissed the club employees cut off the mike as Fayann started to perform ,"Meet Super Blue"....she a gangsta did it without music and mike with all we singing..you know cyah stop trini's fram having fun....powder posse closed the night covering everyone fram head to toe in johnson & johnson:-)
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-dc-carnival-2k9.jpg

SUNDAY MORNING INDIGO @ DECATUR HOUSE

Didn't have to wait to next year! truly a superb event & very classy... food was wonderful...drinks were flowing.. everyone looked beautiful... beautiful location & no one wanted to leave but since we were a hop skip & jump fram the white house time was a must and it ended promptly at 4pm....onto the next party...

my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-indigo.jpg

SUNDAY EVENING LAS LAP UNCONDITIONAL LOVE
went home to freshen up and it was unto the next event... the appreciation party for all the promoters ..i enjoyed last year and this year didn't disappoint and the best part was that it was FREE.. i hope they keep it that way
it was a perfect end to an exhausting four days....

UP NEXT BACK IN TIMES & 4TH OF JULY PARTY!!
Old 07-01-2009, 03:05 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 88,063
DC Carnival in a nutshell

Tribe Ignite... Social (typical Tribe fete I must ad)... except for Jeria's friend in the pink winin up on the table (good lawd... fellas, she will put a smile on your face). but I walk in about 12:30.. I see people standing around.. and you can see clear to the front from the back. Real social. it pick up later but no real vibes

DV8 was a travesty... Where do I start..
DJ's sucked... (one of them sucked atleast and his 2 hour set had everyone standing around thinking.. WTF)
and for that reason... the fete was social...

Dance floor.. Muddy as all hell.. and I dont even understand how it got so muddy but that wasn't a good look

the Bar Busted.... dem ran out of drinks...

and what really killed it for people was the shuttle system. they had about 4 buses.. and not the 55 Seat coach busses, we talkin the small ones that seat maybe 30 people. They had about 4 of these buses to shuttle about 1500 people. So people was waiting 90 minutes after they park just to get to the party.. and you know when the fete was done at 4 what type of chaos that cause. You never knew where the bus pick up would be. People literally chasing buses all over broadwater estates waiting for the damn thing to stop and let people on. This sent people over the top.. not a good luck. DV8 will not see me again.

On a lighter note...(for the fellas)... women were on fire... Especially Jerias friend. lol... and many more.

Saturday... I passed through entire parade...till I found my mud band... Hand down.. mud band is de best!

Sunday... I went Shine... Ram packed.. Nice day fete... definitely vibes were on point... but u know how New Yorkers do....
Old 07-01-2009, 08:12 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 4,392
Originally Posted by Swerve View Post
DC Carnival in a nutshell

Tribe Ignite... Social (typical Tribe fete I must ad)... except for Jeria's friend in the pink winin up on the table (good lawd... fellas, she will put a smile on your face). but I walk in about 12:30.. I see people standing around.. and you can see clear to the front from the back. Real social. it pick up later but no real vibes

DV8 was a travesty... Where do I start..
DJ's sucked... (one of them sucked atleast and his 2 hour set had everyone standing around thinking.. WTF)
and for that reason... the fete was social...

Dance floor.. Muddy as all hell.. and I dont even understand how it got so muddy but that wasn't a good look

the Bar Busted.... dem ran out of drinks...

and what really killed it for people was the shuttle system. they had about 4 buses.. and not the 55 Seat coach busses, we talkin the small ones that seat maybe 30 people. They had about 4 of these buses to shuttle about 1500 people. So people was waiting 90 minutes after they park just to get to the party.. and you know when the fete was done at 4 what type of chaos that cause. You never knew where the bus pick up would be. People literally chasing buses all over broadwater estates waiting for the damn thing to stop and let people on. This sent people over the top.. not a good luck. DV8 will not see me again.

On a lighter note...(for the fellas)... women were on fire... Especially Jerias friend. lol... and many more.

Saturday... I passed through entire parade...till I found my mud band... Hand down.. mud band is de best!

Sunday... I went Shine... Ram packed.. Nice day fete... definitely vibes were on point... but u know how New Yorkers do....
you went ... you did go ??

Old 07-01-2009, 11:50 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 120
more pics from DC CARNIVAL 2K9

infamous table dancer...lol
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-dedra-table.jpg

heavy t bumpa ( me) :-)
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-jeria-heavy-t-bumpa.jpg

on the road
my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-heddy-mud.jpg

bootylicious possemy-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-bootylicious-posse.jpg

wind down appreciation party

my-dc-carnival-weekend-post-your-experience-appreciation-party.jpg
Old 07-01-2009, 09:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
professional whiner man

Credits: 4,554
i had fun...
i was at all the same fetes as prince...
bunji's line was stupid... even i had to wait on it for a lil...smh...
soon as u got past the first door is heat dat greet u...
shine was the highlight to me i guess cuz my cam died and i actually partied some... evidence provided by my friends cam that i included in the galleries...
Old 07-01-2009, 11:04 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 160,063
Originally Posted by Prince 22 View Post
That's the best i can do Taj, what parties did you attend?
Ignite fun good music too much ppl i see at all the parties
Bunji the door drama spoil meh vibes but the performances were good...scratch that they were okay... bunji was a backup singer and some performances seem to formulaic do dis do dat do this again for 2 mins, I didn't feel the heart in it.
Indigo bfast fete & appreciation fete nothing more positive to add on that hasn't been said already

Originally Posted by JERIA CARTER View Post
infamous table dancer...lol

wind down appreciation party

Attachment 57604
Ha! d worl too small meh fren like many of the men at the appreciation party was well troubling your fren in the shorts when she was on her way to the car.
she was a good sport tho.