Old 08-26-2004, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 1,696
Exclamation more carnival controversy - Soca Monarch

SOCA MONARCH GOES BUST

BY DONNA PIERRE - Trinidad Guardian

Soca Monarch may be handed over to the NCC for 2005, as Caribbean Prestige Promotions International is unable to pay out the cash prizes to winners of this year’s competition.

The situation developed yesterday in the wake of CPPI boss William Munro’s revelation that he had not been able to pay the participants, including the champion Bunji Garlin.

He said this resulted from the lack of financial support his organisation received from the Government.

“What Soca Monarch needs is a proper subvention to do it right,” he said.

Munro said while there were sponsors on board like the National Lotteries Control Board, the money was still insufficient to cover all costs.

He said the Government had given him a verbal promise to assist and he was still awaiting word.

However, Culture Minister Joan Yuille-Williams expressed surprise at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s, yesterday, when asked if the Government would be financially assisting CPPI in paying out the prizes.

After a ceremony held to present cheques for special projects, Yuille-Williams said the only time they had agreed to assist CPPI financially was last year.

She said something had to be wrong if there was both a failed calypso tent and an inability by the body to pay out cash prizes.

Yuille-Williams said the Government recognised the value of such a show.

She said something had to be done to salvage it.

Yuille-Williams said the ministry now had several cultural organisations like Tuco undergoing an institution-strengthening programme, which was geared toward making it financially independent.

She said the programme entailed the groups taking on a consultant who stayed on board for a year teaching them how to become viable.

Yuille-Williams said when Pan Trinbago approached the ministry for money for the World Steelband Festival, they agreed under the condition that they, too, adopted the programme.

As for Soca Monarch, Yuille-Williams said talks about it being run by the NCC came up.

She said that move had not been finalised as talks were still to be held.

NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said yesterday that Munro had approached the board about a month ago asking for their involvement in the show.

He said the board dismissed this outright, especially if it meant keeping the competition on the traditional Carnival Friday at Queen’s Park Savannah.

De Silva said this would clash with several NCC projects, including the staging of the Carnival King and Queen semi-finals.

He said they had not completely ruled it out, but a lot of thought had to go into it.

“It could be held by the NCC in the immediate future, but the date has to be changed,” he added.
Old 08-26-2004, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 420
Originally Posted by saucytrini
SOCA MONARCH GOES BUST

Soca Monarch may be handed over to the NCC for 2005, as Caribbean Prestige Promotions International is unable to pay out the cash prizes to winners of this year’s competition.

The situation developed yesterday in the wake of CPPI boss William Munro’s revelation that he had not been able to pay the participants, including the champion Bunji Garlin.

He said this resulted from the lack of financial support his organisation received from the Government.

Munro said while there were sponsors on board like the National Lotteries Control Board, the money was still insufficient to cover all costs.

He said the Government had given him a verbal promise to assist and he was still awaiting word.

However, Culture Minister Joan Yuille-Williams expressed surprise at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s, yesterday, when asked if the Government would be financially assisting CPPI in paying out the prizes.

After a ceremony held to present cheques for special projects, Yuille-Williams said the only time they had agreed to assist CPPI financially was last year.

She said something had to be wrong if there was both a failed calypso tent and an inability by the body to pay out cash prizes.

Yuille-Williams said the ministry now had several cultural organisations like Tuco undergoing an institution-strengthening programme, which was geared toward making it financially independent.

She said the programme entailed the groups taking on a consultant who stayed on board for a year teaching them how to become viable.

Yuille-Williams said when Pan Trinbago approached the ministry for money for the World Steelband Festival, they agreed under the condition that they, too, adopted the programme.

As for Soca Monarch, Yuille-Williams said talks about it being run by the NCC came up.

NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said yesterday that Munro had approached the board about a month ago asking for their involvement in the show.

He said the board dismissed this outright, especially if it meant keeping the competition on the traditional Carnival Friday at Queen’s Park Savannah.

De Silva said this would clash with several NCC projects, including the staging of the Carnival King and Queen semi-finals.

He said they had not completely ruled it out, but a lot of thought had to go into it.

“It could be held by the NCC in the immediate future, but the date has to be changed,” he added.

They too tief...I was at soca Monarch...They sure as hell charged a lot of money and had a lot of people...so How come you cyar pay the people and dem who win their prize :devil
Old 08-26-2004, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Originally Posted by OilInDeCoil
They too tief...I was at soca Monarch...They sure as hell charged a lot of money and had a lot of people...so How come you cyar pay the people and dem who win their prize :devil

I was there too..and get this...

each artiste who performed with back-up and performers on stage had to pay the price of tickets for each person who appeared on stage with them...

so for like Shurwayne who had like 30 people on stage he had to pay TTD$100.00 for each person to CPPP.

Bunji and his people same....

and it was rumoured that certain perofrmers were asked before the show if they placed would they accept half the prize money instead of all.......

Munroe and them thiefing long time.....
Old 08-26-2004, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV

Credits: 203
Some of these artist, had to wait a whole year till they get their money and even then, they never got the whole amount.
Old 08-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)

I was there too..and get this...

each artiste who performed with back-up and performers on stage had to pay the price of tickets for each person who appeared on stage with them...

so for like Shurwayne who had like 30 people on stage he had to pay TTD$100.00 for each person to CPPP.

Bunji and his people same....

and it was rumoured that certain perofrmers were asked before the show if they placed would they accept half the prize money instead of all.......

Munroe and them thiefing long time.....

that is downright disgraceful & embarrassing!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-26-2004, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 148
Thumbs down

That's a damn shame. What is the prize money for Soca Monarch and what percentage of the ticket price goes towards the prize?
Old 08-26-2004, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,205
SOCA MONARCH GOES BUST

Wow that's very tacky and unprofessional. I don't believe that he took a verbal agreement with the government as an okay. They really need to have some type of audit system in place for a lot of these groups/promoters during carnival.
Old 08-26-2004, 05:07 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 41,519
SOCA MONARCH GOES BUST

this is downright damned shamful.

Old 08-27-2004, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 308
Originally Posted by TriniDoll1
Some of these artist, had to wait a whole year till they get their money and even then, they never got the whole amount.
i heard that as well...

each year i go soca monarch and the place is pack wid people...
WHERE DE A$$ IS DE MONEY GOING?! :devil

something stinks big time!
Old 08-27-2004, 10:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
can u handle me?

see my whole problem with this is CPPP is a private company who started the competition to make money for their own organisation in the first place..never asked for government help....

so why drag the government into this now....???????

they make $$$$$$$$$$$ every year....and every year it's the same story.....

they owing the winners, the media companies for their ads....and have to be changing media companies every year as they owing.....one even took them to court.....and they can't run any ads there unless they paying cash upfront...

but Munoe could be seen driving a brand new Rover...and flying here and there........still owing tom, mary, jane and ################......
Old 08-27-2004, 11:07 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 597
This is real shite. I heard all kinda crap about how there were like 20,000 people at soca monarch and now they cant pay the artists? This is crap.
Old 08-27-2004, 11:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 308
but Munoe could be seen driving a brand new Rover...and flying here and there........still owing tom, mary, jane and ################......
why am i not surprised :devil
Old 08-28-2004, 03:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,205
This is Bunji's interview that was taken from the Guardian.

By Donna Pierre

Reigning Soca Monarch champion Bunji Garlin may not be defending his title in 2005. Speaking from New York on Wednesday, Garlin said he was upset over not receiving his $150,000 cash prize for having won the competition, which took place February 20, at the Queen’s Park Oval.

He added that while he could not remember the exact cost of his presentation, it was a substantial.

“You know how much them fireworks costs? Real money,” he said.

At a news conference held at the Queen’s Park Oval in February this year, it was announced that the cash prizes had increased with the first four positions being awarded $150,000, $100,000, $60,000 and $40,000.

The remaining positions, from five to 15, were to receive $20,000 each.

However, Caribbean Prestige Promotions International boss William Munro, producer of the event, said he has not been able to pay artistes their prizes.

Munro said money given to CPPI by sponsors was insufficient to cover all costs.

The title sponsor for this year’s Soca Monarch competition was the National Lotteries Control Board.

Garlin said, “I find that is real stupidness. It comes like an advantage to do something like this to the artistes.”

He said most of the artistes were depending on the cash prizes to travel after Carnival.

He said he would personally like to drop out of the competition, saying, “The way it looking, I don’t think I going back in.”

“I personally would like to drop out because of the behaviour of the promoter, but I am moved by my spirit. Usually, when I don’t follow my vibe I end up paying dearly for it.”

Finalists from the 2003 Soca Monarch competition were faced with a similar situation.

They had received half of their cash prizes the same year and the remainder last Carnival.

In the meantime, Garlin said he and his band Asylum (formerly Censation) were doing exceptionally well abroad.

He said they have been to Guyana, Grenada Carnival, Jamaica, Toronto for Caribana, Chicago, Detroit, New Orleans.

Garlin said the band would also be in Miami Carnival in October.

He said while in Jamaica, he did a recording with dancehall star Beenie Man.
Old 08-30-2004, 01:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
can u handle me?

yup I saw that article.....

Munroe is one sorry character....looking to place blame when yuh make enough $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ especially after that ALL INCLUSIVE stunt he pull this year....
Old 08-30-2004, 01:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
can u handle me?

yup I saw that article.....

Munroe is one sorry character....looking to place blame when yuh make enough $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ especially after that ALL INCLUSIVE stunt he pull this year....