Old 01-12-2004, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,373
Minshall- NO BAND FOR 2004

No mas from Minshall

VETERAN bandleader Peter Minshall has confirmed that he will not be producing a mas band this year. “There will be no mas by Minshall for Carnival 2004,” he said in a brief statement released by his Callaloo Company yesterday. “It is not so much a decision as something that has happened to me, a consequence of all that has occurred in this country and its Carnival and my life in the preceding months and years.” Minshall also offered an apology to supporters of his mas band: “I am aware that our mas over the years could never have happened without the collaboration and loyalty of the many, and I feel your disappointment and pain at this moment. I am truly sorry.” According to the Callaloo statement that was all that Minshall was prepared to say on the matter, although he “may wish to speak further on the matter at a future time.”

Last edited by Chun Li; 01-12-2004 at 09:34 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,201
Unhappy

Wow, “It is not so much a decision as something that has happened to me, a consequence of all that has occurred in this country and its Carnival and my life in the preceding months and years.”

Finally, someone with enough backbone to step out and take a leadership role. If anybody can teach us something about carnival it's going to be Peter Minshall. I just hope he's healthy and family is safe. I have nothing but love and respect for this man and his great work and contributions to the carnival industry.:)
But this fish does not look or smell good
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 01-12-2004 at 09:49 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,005
See...this type of tempermental artistic nonsense... :
Old 01-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,034
Unhappy

I WOULD HATE TO BELEVE THIS ,NO MAS FROM MINSH THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME SUCH THINGS HAS BEEN SAID BY THE MAN, ITS HIS KIND OF HYPE , BUT EACH TIME HE SAYS IT IT MAKES THIS MAS LOVERS HART SKIP A BEAT.............THE SHOW OF COURSE WILL GO NO WITHOUT HIM BUT IT WILL NOT BE THE SAME .

BUT LIKE I SAID ITS NOT THE FIRST TIME HE'S DONE THIS SO I WILL ONLY THINK IT TRUE ON CARNIVAL DAY WHEN THE PEOPLE SAY CALLALOO EH COME OUT TO PLAY

Last edited by NEO ONE; 01-12-2004 at 10:29 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 41,513
Unhappy

I hope all is well with Minshall too.

Pebbles you're right. Someone has to take a stand because the integrity of Carnival is being compromised on a few levels. If Carnival was a block of brownstones in a middle class neighborhood Minshall's "moving out" has lowered the property value. So to speak.

I have nothing but love and respect for him and his Art. I say ART because he produces ART. :)

I do hope it's not a permanent stepping down and I also hope he is doing the opening ceremonies for the Summer Olympics like he did in previous years. :)

Uh...is he doing the olympics opening ceremony this year?

Last edited by Shandy 2.0; 01-12-2004 at 10:08 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 10:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 288

Steups.....well now I really know Mon and Tues will be soooooo boring.....I might look to organize a lime somewhere.

Fantasy - watch your mouth when yuh talking 'bout Minshall!! :
Old 01-12-2004, 10:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 2,283
am i remembering right? wasn't there some confusion about if he was bring mas out last year too?? and then late late late, he launched his band??? or am i just imagining that????
Old 01-12-2004, 10:13 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by shandy
I hope all is well with Minshall too.

Pebbles you're right. Someone has to take a stand because the integrity of Carnival is being compromised on a few levels. If Carnival was a block of brownstones in a middle class neighborhood Minshall's "moving out" has lowered the property value.

I have nothing but love and respect for h im and his Art. I say ART because he produces ART. :)

I do hope it's not a permanent stepping down and I also hope he is doing the opening ceremonies for the Summer Olympics like he did in previous years. :)
SHANDY THE ONE TO MAKE THE STAND IS YOU.
ALL THE LAST OF THE MAS MEN CAN DO IS MAKE MAS/ART FOR THE PEOPLE, BUT IT IS THE PEOPLE LIKE US THAT HAVE TO TURN AWAY FROM THE MOCKING PRETENDERS AND EMBRACE THE TRUE ARTFORM OF MAS.
OTHER WISE YOU CAN KISS YOUR HOPES GOODBYE
Old 01-12-2004, 10:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 419
The man, his art and his stand point are truly to be respected. Whatever his reasons I (as a former Minshallite), hope this is NOT a permanent back seat to Trinidad Carnival as we know it...The Savannah without a Minshall presentation is just not the same!
Old 01-12-2004, 10:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Kaiser Ball Gyul

Credits: 413
i know dat....

he was sticking too long.........
Old 01-12-2004, 10:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 419
Re: i know dat....

Originally posted by BAGOGYUL
he was sticking too long.........
He sticks like that every year yet is sold out three days after he launches!:p
Old 01-12-2004, 10:30 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by NEO ONE
I WOULD HATE TO BELEVE THIS ,NO MAS FROM MINSH THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME SUCH THINGS HAS BEEN SAID BY THE MAN, ITS HIS KIND OF HYPE , BUT EACH TIME HE SAYS IT IT MAKES THIS MAS LOVERS HART SKIP A BEAT.............THE SHOW OF COURSE WILL GO ON WITHOUT HIM BUT IT WILL NOT BE THE SAME .

BUT LIKE I SAID ITS NOT THE FIRST TIME HE'S DONE THIS SO I WILL ONLY THINK IT TRUE ON CARNIVAL DAY WHEN THE PEOPLE SAY CALLALOO EH COME OUT TO PLAY
Old 01-12-2004, 10:38 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,667
aunty go be salty!!!!!

i respect whatever his reason is, but i think he has a lot of supporters thoughout the years who deserve a better explaination.

Last edited by Trinibaje; 01-12-2004 at 10:49 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 10:40 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 9,223
Originally posted by soca junkie
am i remembering right? wasn't there some confusion about if he was bring mas out last year too?? and then late late late, he launched his band??? or am i just imagining that????
nope....u are right..that is y i have no comment

Last edited by sexytrini9; 01-12-2004 at 10:54 AM..
Old 01-12-2004, 01:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,201
Minshall is a genius when it comes to designing carnival costumes. He’s one of the few mas designers that you can tell is very passionate about his craft and it’s not about him making money, fame or exploiting people. Please, he’s in a league of his own and he does not need any "entertainment hype" to bring out his band. So if he decides he wants to launch his band on Carnival Saturday it’s still going sell out by Carnival Monday. Minshall supporters are always going to love him and be loyal to him regardless. :)
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.