Old 08-13-2005, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Trinibrown

Miami or Toronto Carnival ?

Which do you like better and why ?
Old 08-13-2005, 09:27 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 903
I like them both actually, but Miami just gets a better rating because of the beach. From what I remember the TO parties are better, but I have not been in 5 years, so I dont know if that is still the case.
Old 08-13-2005, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,317
So long as there is Cropover, I will never go Caribana. But I won't doubt the fete lineup is better in Caribana than Miami.
Old 08-13-2005, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 903
Originally Posted by Rummacita
So long as there is Cropover, I will never go Caribana. But I won't doubt the fete lineup is better in Caribana than Miami.
And, Praise Jah for Crop Ova, Whopatee, Whopatee
Old 08-13-2005, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Trinibrown

Really, I would think that the fetes in Miami would be better, in a sense that there is no other Major carnival at that time.
Old 08-13-2005, 10:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Trinibrown

Originally Posted by zenzele1
I like them both actually, but Miami just gets a better rating because of the beach. From what I remember the TO parties are better, but I have not been in 5 years, so I dont know if that is still the case.

The beach part kind of put it over the top for me.
Old 08-13-2005, 11:15 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 23
miami hands down
Old 08-13-2005, 11:52 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibrown
Really, I would think that the fetes in Miami would be better, in a sense that there is no other Major carnival at that time.
Depends on who u want to hear...So far it lookin like I gettin plenty rest that weekend.
Old 08-13-2005, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 10,155
Originally Posted by zenzele1
And, Praise Jah for Crop Ova, Whopatee, Whopatee

Old 08-13-2005, 01:24 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 4,438
Depends on who u want to hear...So far it lookin like I gettin plenty rest that weekend.

Old 08-13-2005, 02:05 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 1,120
Regarding the Road March, playing mas and the King and Queen pageantry, Toronto has it all over Miami...there is no comparison. Last year the Miami Road March was 3 blocks.

Of course, Miami has more of a Caribbean feel due to the beaches and weather, but I found Toronto to be a very nice city and the weather this year was rather warm and humid, reminded me of the Caribbean.

As for the fetes, it seemed to me they are about the same in that regard.

Last edited by Rhythmwize; 08-13-2005 at 02:09 PM..
Old 08-13-2005, 02:36 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 54
I would have to go with Miami on this one
Old 08-13-2005, 02:56 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Miami...talk done
Old 08-13-2005, 09:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 27,052
Sorry I may be biased but Toronto HANDS DOWN!!!
The only thing Miami has going for it is nice weather in October and the beach (man made apparently)

In Miami the Carnival itself SUCKS its too short (seem like a block or two) they have 2 going on at the same time WTF???? and you gotta pay $20 bucks for the park...what the hell is that about? and even on the road the bands them SCARCE!!!

Second the parties are hit and miss. If 2 fetes pack up then all the rest gonna FLOP!!!!

The Source Awards on the same weekend kinah takes away from the Carnival vibe in my opinion.
Old 08-14-2005, 12:01 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy
Sorry I may be biased but Toronto HANDS DOWN!!!
The only thing Miami has going for it is nice weather in October and the beach (man made apparently)

In Miami the Carnival itself SUCKS its too short (seem like a block or two) they have 2 going on at the same time WTF???? and you gotta pay $20 bucks for the park...what the hell is that about? and even on the road the bands them SCARCE!!!

Second the parties are hit and miss. If 2 fetes pack up then all the rest gonna FLOP!!!!

The Source Awards on the same weekend kinah takes away from the Carnival vibe in my opinion.
Well Broward charges $5 to get into theirs & I had a ball. I just disagree w/ some of the fete lineups. I've never had a bad Miami Carnival though. Why compare Toronto & Miami though? They are at 2 different times of the year(unless I guess you are trying to only attend one...then I'd say go Cropover hehe).