Credits: 19,730
...was absolutely fantastic! I hope lickerishness does not lead them to split back up again. That was the best year in a long time.
What was allyuh experience? ![]() |
Happiness
Credits: 131,150
i doh think we were at the same carnival uh chica.....
they need to fix dat shit in terms of organization next year...barriers for next year too, to much damn non revellers in my flipping way...dem music trucks need to know to be on time and all some bands...it was moving too slow for my liking...my band left the starting point after 12, we cross da damn stage at 8...dats fukkery man.....
I was in everybody band...lol. Barriers doh stop me...maybe allyuh need some rope pullers but of course I imagine that will increase de price of mas. Some bands was small anyway so they was inviting non revellers to come jump...lol. Moving too slow? Really? Who does want to rush dey carnival away? When I playing mas I wish it could go on forever! lol De only thing I doh like is getting jam up behind a band crossing the stage and I am standing at a stand still for hours...lol... Who did you play with? |
Happiness
I played with Mascots International out of Broward....
De carnival was great! Yuh done had your green band...you had a right was to move to a next band find a place and make a stage...you good to be standing and waiting and walking wit dem..lol. Poor you. ![]() |
Happiness
i did have a time on the road doh get me wrong just a little more organization on everyone parts would have made it better...at the rate that i was, i coulda hear two spoons and some iron knocking constantly and i woulda been jumping up....i only had a problem with some old music they played....jump around de place and dem old tings so...craziness by machel dem old tings, when they have so much 2009 music...
L O S T
Credits: 43,331
Credits: 18,062
hi five! ![]() |
Credits: 18,062
Credits: 5,559
My experience was not that bad. I was really excited about them being ONE. As others stated organization was LACKING. Not just with the non masqueraders in the bands.. entry into the park with revellers and trucks and people trying to storm has to be better organized. I think that venue was not conducive to the numbers that were there. Why the fackin stage stay ALL the way down to the end of the park when you have so much more bands? Move it to a higher point nah so that judging could have been done with some natural light. Then for us to have to try to be pushing thru the crowd of people watching the stage show was madness.
Our generator blew from EARLY o clock. I have my issues with how that was handled but we were fortunate to get in with another band quite easily. As we got to the stage at 10.30 to cross a guy falls and i think he broke his hand so that stopped again. THEY crossed the stage minutes to 11.... madness!! I had a ball on the road up till we turn to go into the park. I hope they keep it as one.. just better venue and better organization. |
Credits: 297
RenzePenze you must of been in vibrationz because dat ish was ridiculous. I was in gen x and playing mass was not fun. The damn DJ sucked ass in gen x. He played the same rasshole 20 songs. For 8 blasted hours. Never played the top songs of this year instead he keep playing 2005...wtf...shite piss me da hell off. It was 104 degrees outside + horrible dj= bad time playing mas. We ain't cross de damn stage till 10 and the clumsy idiot break he rasshole hand and delayed it even more. They need to have less than 30 trucks next year or start carnival earlier because dat shite was not cool.
Credits: 5,559
I was cussin sayin that too.. where are the 2009 songs... steups... after the alcohol wore off it was downhill for me. The breaking hand thing is what made me say "home time". I left my sister and friends and started walkin out to get a taxi. They crossed then come to the hotel... steups... I think the late start was the BIG problem. But then trucks were outside still trying to get in.. or had to pass down cause in wrong order...sigh.. they need to sit and figure it out!! |
I am thinking start earlier. Allyuh start time was what? 11am? Maybe they need to bring that closer to 9. Or 7am like Trini...lol. Don't want to decrease the bands thus decreasing the mas. ![]() And wtf is up with these bands that get DJs that never been to any other carnival? Who the france plays Jump for a 2009 carnival? And de damn jokey ass revellers actually going along with that shit. By the time Miami comes around there are way too many islands that have brought out new music for these DJs to be playing old music. I see a belizean band pass with bout 10 old songs [playin and they was like dat was de newest tunes. Shame...lol. One island played new tunes, carnival nationz played some new tunes, party people i think i heard some new stuff. De rest I feel was stuck in a time warp! DJ...why you feel they should split again? ![]() ![]() |
Credits: 6,713
I played with mascots and had a ball. I had no real issues.
I agree that the carnival might have to start earlier to facilitate the number of bands (not that I will get there before 2 anyway) but this approach will also have to include add'l logistics like a rest stop for lunch etc. So maybe if there is a park along the way the organizers can give every band an hour max to feed their masqueraders and keep it moving. Other than that, in the park needed some barriers to seaprate the non masquaeraders. At one point you couldn't even walk more than 5 ppl across because there were so many people along the 'track'. |
Credits: 161
I feel yuh on the music, yes. I feel is only when I go to Brooklyn ah could hear all de new music...thank GOD I ran my own cds so I could get a good vibez.
Ah had a good time up until entry into the park. Trucks passing close as yuh getting food & drinks...then they in front the stage where entertainers were to perform??? Wey de azz! why wasn't the whole park opened for the event (like in the past)? |