Old 04-14-2005, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 247
"message in masquerade:carnival from brooklyn to bahia"

The Nathan Cummings Foundation is hosting the exhibition "Message in Masquerade: carnival from Brooklyn to Bahia," featuring costumes, photographs and sculptures on display until May 26. The exhibition analyzes and celebrates carnivals in America, with focus on the African-based traditions of Brooklyn, Cuba, Dominication Republic, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Bahia, Brazil. Aspects of Asian celebratiosn are also illustrated. An artists' talk will be heald 6:30-7:30 April 21. The Nathan Cummings Foundation is at 475 10th Avenue in Manhattan, 14th Floor. Call 212 787 7300 for more information.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 709
Originally Posted by soca junkie
The Nathan Cummings Foundation is hosting the exhibition "Message in Masquerade: carnival from Brooklyn to Bahia," featuring costumes, photographs and sculptures on display until May 26. The exhibition analyzes and celebrates carnivals in America, with focus on the African-based traditions of Brooklyn, Cuba, Dominication Republic, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Bahia, Brazil. Aspects of Asian celebratiosn are also illustrated. An artists' talk will be heald 6:30-7:30 April 21. The Nathan Cummings Foundation is at 475 10th Avenue in Manhattan, 14th Floor. Call 212 787 7300 for more information.
oooooooooohhhhh...yuh on a roll this morning meh girl!
Old 04-14-2005, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 520

Thanks for the info!
Old 04-14-2005, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 247
Originally Posted by PrEtt1BrWnEyEz
oooooooooohhhhh...yuh on a roll this morning meh girl!
i'm tellin u!! how u doin...sorry for last night. my computer decided it was goin to bed b4 me.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Credits: 5,233
I just called them they advised me the exhibit is free but you have to make an appointment and it's only between 9 & 5 M thru F
Old 05-18-2005, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 709
Has anyone been to this exhibit yet? I want to go tomorrow but forgot that you have to call and make an appt ahead of time.