Old 08-16-2006, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 523
Mas Bands Designing Mas Shoes?

What do you guys think about this?
Bands designing shoes/boots for their
masqueraders for a small fee off course?
It's so hard to find the perfect shoes for
any outfit, its even harder to find
it for a carnival costume....(at least in my
opinion)....why not have it custom made by
the band....
Old 08-16-2006, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
LIFE IS GREAT

Credits: 152
Originally Posted by Short_Thing
the band....
I think that would be a great idea. I search very hard to find the perfect pair of sneakers every year to match my costume.
Old 08-16-2006, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imix Biggest Freak

Credits: 1,459
as long it is comfortable and looks good, i have no problem with that...
Old 08-16-2006, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,256
the band....
because they'll give you some cheap cardboard shoes that hurt your feet.

I'm going to stick to the forumula I used this year. After spending months looking for the perfect shoe and worrying I didn't have the right color shade and all that...I found some wicked white boots w/ a soft wedge heel...took them to Trini, went to the mas camp, cut a piece of feather off my costume and took it to this guy in town who colored the boots for me. I was in Pride so he made the body of the boot the turquoisy blue and the trim and heel he did the darker blue. It had lacing that went all the way around the boot so he sprayed that gold for me. If I thought I could wash the dye off and bring them back white I'd use them again this year : but I already have my eye out for a nice white boot.
Old 08-16-2006, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Madd Threadaz SAFARI FURY

Credits: 23
Talking Indeed they should

That's such a good idea
Old 08-16-2006, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 523
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
because they'll give you some cheap cardboard shoes that hurt your feet.

I'm going to stick to the forumula I used this year. After spending months looking for the perfect shoe and worrying I didn't have the right color shade and all that...I found some wicked white boots w/ a soft wedge heel...took them to Trini, went to the mas camp, cut a piece of feather off my costume and took it to this guy in town who colored the boots for me. I was in Pride so he made the body of the boot the turquoisy blue and the trim and heel he did the darker blue. It had lacing that went all the way around the boot so he sprayed that gold for me. If I thought I could wash the dye off and bring them back white I'd use them again this year : but I already have my eye out for a nice white boot.
great idea i thought of that too, trinidadians known
for covering over shoes and thing..... down there
i will look until i find the perfect shoes though....
Old 08-16-2006, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,260
great idea i thought of that too, trinidadians known
for covering over shoes and thing..... down there
i will look until i find the perfect shoes though....
Yup that is how I got the perfect shoe, I went down Trini in January where I was lucky to get a feather from the costume. When I came back home I bought a flat boots and found the perfect fabric that matched to a tee, I had my dad cover them. I plan to strip the boots and use the same one next year.
Old 08-17-2006, 04:17 PM   #8 (permalink)

the band....
thats a good idea cuz i tired taking old shoes and spray painting it to match my costume, but i wouldn't expect too much from these bands cuz the same shit they does sometimes give u as a costume is gonna be the same shit they give u for a shoe
Old 08-17-2006, 04:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
yup, just so........

Credits: 51
the band....
boy would that eliminate alot of precarnival hassel.........
Old 08-22-2006, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Short_Thing View Post
the band....

I wouldn't mind ahtal....I just walking with meh Dr. Scholls Massaging insoles and I good to go!
Old 08-23-2006, 03:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80
Originally Posted by Trini Exhibitionist View Post

I wouldn't mind ahtal....I just walking with meh Dr. Scholls Massaging insoles and I good to go!
Well I know that Funsation had offered specially designed boots as an option for their masqueraders this (and last) year in Poison... maybe there are other sections in Poison or elsewhere that have done it as well? Who knows... maybe they've been doing it right here in NY for years, and nobody knew....

Old 08-23-2006, 11:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
One Sound

Credits: 31
sneakers are just fine and are better for your feet, I think!