Credits: 580
letter to island people damn!!
anybody see this as yet on saucy's blog damn some people aint playing i have to say when i was interested in playing mas in IP i sent an email askin reasonable questions and i recieved back some generic email that answered nothing i asked them. this letter jus re emphasizes that.
September 27, 2006 Island People Mas Camp #11 Stone Street Port-of-Spain, Trinidad To Whom It May Concern: Dear Island People: For the past couple of weeks there have been numerous amounts of questions and speculations about your organization and treatment towards your loyal and new masqueraders who would like to play with you Carnival 2007. It has been said that your customer service thus far has been horrible and disrespectful; and one can only imagine if we are being treated like this now, what should we expect come Carnival Monday and Tuesday? Is your organization going to treat us to a wonderful and unforgettable on "de" road experience or are we to expect the abuse that was thrown to my friends, to their faces, lining up to register at your Mas Camp. And I quote, “Island People is not begging anybody to play with them, and you free to go elsewhere if you not happy with our service.” Secretly we know some mas makers may think this way, but it should not be blatantly thrown in our faces. And why does an overseas masquerader have to pay full price? An explanation would help as to why such a drastic measure is in place. Could you not have suggested half down? After your hiccups for Carnival 2006 could we trust IP to deliver our goods? If we can forgive you for your inaugural year why is your organization treating us like this? We are not stray dogs looking for food. We are Trinidadians, along with every other Caribbean Islander and people across the world. Is this how you want to represent our culture, and our heritage? To really understand the impact of how your customer service is affecting everyone, visit some of the blogs that are circulating on the web. This is an excerpt from a heavily frequently visited blog. “Every Mas maker thinks that way: "We not begging anyone to play in our band.” Let’s be REAL this morning please! They put out a band, you like what they offering, pay your money and join them. I have no problem with that mentality, its business after all. BUT!! And this is the KEY difference: It seems EVERY OTHER Mas maker except Island People has grasped the concept of treating their potential and confirmed masqueraders with some respect. i.e. you don't have to play with us, we not begging, but you are after all the ones with the buying power so here, and we would be happy to have you, so: take an up to speed website, here's an email with all you need to know, enjoy the airconditioned room while you wait to register, you thirsty? No, problem, help yourself to water and gatorade while you wait, and for all our overseas masqueraders, we've hooked y’all up with a payment system to help the process along. That! My darling is how you do business!” (Anonymous) It’s easy for your committee to ignore and dismiss these blogs and not be concerned. But this blog has had 24,467 hits to date from all over the world, and people are reading and taking note. Through this blog and other online chat forums people are expressing their disgust, anger, and frustration with regards to your organization. And these are people who are registered with you, and or thinking about registering. Negative remarks can influence and open the minds if not all, but the majority of the people that support or are thinking about supporting Island People. Your lack of communication to your masqueraders thus far has been cryptic. Here’s some advice; “If you want to muzzle people like me and everyone else that are criticizing you, there’s something call damage control. Take out a press and media release, addressing the situation and assuring everyone that Island People have made changes to their organization and customer service and promise that come Carnival Monday and Tuesday 2007 THERE’S NO WHERE ELSE YOU RATHER BE, BUT WITH IP!” I hope you do take this letter into consideration and make changes. Respect! Thank you, AHRoberts Angelina Haylee Roberts New Jersey CC: Alan Green Editor Trinidad Express 35 Independence Square POS, Trinidad W.I. Natalie Williams Head of TV News Trinidad Express 35 Independence Square POS, Trinidad W.I. Dominic Kalipersad Editor-in-Chief The Trinidad guardian 22-24 St. Vincent Street POS, Trinidad W.I. Peter Ray Blood Associate Editor, Features The Trinidad guardian 22-24 St. Vincent Street POS, Trinidad W.I. Daily News Ltd. 23 A Chacon St POS, Trinidad W.I. Mr. Terry Joseph Public Relations Officer NCC Queens Park Savannah POS, Trinidad W.I. David Cameron Public Relations Officer Queen's Park Savannah POS, Trinidad W.I. Ms. Candace Ali Communications Coordinator Tourism Development Company Level 1, Maritime Centre Barataria POS, Trinidad W.I. Mr. Donald Little Chairman NCDF 143 Belmont Circular Road Belmont, POS, Trinidad W.I. Ms. Sherma Mitchell Communications Specialist Ministry of Tourism Clarence House 125-127 Duke Street POS, Trinidad W.I. |
Credits: 56,875
The WOW here is that CC list, they copied everybody and they mother!
"A generation of people who refuse to be themselves. The philosophy of 50 cent has them hook, line and sinker. The young black men become like a sacrifice. They love it; they living in a fool's paradise." -Brother Valentino |
Credits: 16,236
I have to say hats off to that person. Despite the fact that I am playing mas with them next year, thier behavior needs to be questioned.
The CC list is killer. I cannot wait to see IP's response. Them shoulda be on the ball from mid year. |
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV
Credits: 204
Credits: 1,785
damn nice letter, I love the CC list (people that matter)
I hope this is an eye opener to them. |
BACK TO PEEPING FOR GOOD!
Credits: 548
whoever wrote this letter is on point. i have stayed out of CC because IP is full of Shit, what they are doing to us are wrong. I am to pissed with them and i dont even want to play with them anymore.
my carry on ![]() |
"A generation of people who refuse to be themselves. The philosophy of 50 cent has them hook, line and sinker. The young black men become like a sacrifice. They love it; they living in a fool's paradise." -Brother Valentino |
BACK TO PEEPING FOR GOOD!
Credits: 548
That's ok too. Long as you make it and you love yuh costume and have a time that you'll be smiling about for the next year or more
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV
Credits: 204
Credits: 580
[QUOTE=TriniDoll1;2133603]I am truly thinking about doing the same thing.[/
i get a feeling tribe is gonna get a sudden influx of masqueraders over the next few days!! ![]() |
Credits: 8,195
Credits: 4,284
Credits: 9,238
I have a serious question to ask.For all the people who had serious problems with IP last year and registered to play with them this year.....Why?
From experience the year that I played with Poison (Darlene's) section we had serious problems with our mas and I decided and vowed never to play with her section again...So said so done...I left the following year and went with Tribe.... So what is your feelings on this?