Old 06-02-2004, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 30
From Legends to Genesis

[url=http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_features?id=24733041]

From Legends to Genesis

By Cordielle Street

Wednesday, June 2nd 2004

FROM Left: Rory Gadjadhar, Ricardo McKenzie, Ian McKenzie and wife, Nina, have plans to dazzle masqueraders for Carnival 2005 when their new band MB Fusion presents Genesis the Beginning.

IT'S not the first time that Carnival mas leaders have said "it's all about the masqueraders" nor will it be the last, yet Ian McKenzie's voice rang clear with a note of sincerity at the launch of his mas band's 2005 presentation "Genesis, the Beginning", yesterday.

Formerly part of the duo that brought forth five-time large-band of the year winner, "Legends", McKenzie has recovered from his not so "amicable" split with partner, Mike Antoine to throw his towel into the ring for 2005 Carnival.

"I have my strength in mas and on the road," said McKenzie who introduced his new committee which includes promoter Randy Glasgow as head of Marketing and Promotions, wife Nina as head designer and ex-Defence Force Captain Gary Griffith as head of Security at the launch held at the National Library.

While the friendship between the former friends of some twenty-odd years is no longer intact, McKenzie has fallen back on the adage "blood is thicker than water" and welcomed his brother, Ricardo McKenzie as new partner and confidant.

McKenzie has moved far away from the "Legend days" and the name of his new band is

"MB Fusion". The MB stands for McKenzie Brothers with the tag "Strongy and Scorpion". The motto of the band is "less hassle, more fun" and this is how McKenzie hopes to court masqueraders.

MB Fusion will definitely be different with a few never before seen "on de road" additions. First, the group plans to take the term "all-inclusive" literally and introduce to T&T the idea of an all-inclusive band.

While many masqueraders have opted to cough up the extra dollar to have their food and drinks on Carnival Monday and Tuesday taken care of by the individual section leader, McKenzie believes that they would appreciate the same service from the band itself.

Smoky and Bunty, the famous St James bar, represented by Rory Gadjadhar and Ricardo McKenzie, will provide the bar for the band. There will be about three or four "bar stations" to which masqueraders can go freely at any time no matter what section they are from.

McKenzie has yet to announce how much masqueraders will have to pay for this added bonus but he did say that the committee is looking to "maximise drinks and food while minimising costs."

Another new "attraction" or subtraction depending on what makes one enjoy a carnival chip is the absence of a live band on the road. MB Fusion will be a dj only band. Reason given-"DJs don't get tired". According to McKenzie a survey of masqueraders revealed that mas players often complain about live soca bands getting tired and having long rest periods.

While McKenzie was cagey about revealing details on the band, he did tell the media to wait until the launch of "Genesis" on September 11. Word is, McKenzie is courting many of the popular radio DJs from various stations throughout the country to play with the band.

"It's a business," according to McKenzie who said many of the ideas for his band were presented but shot down by Antoine when they were "Legends". McKenzie was very confident in his committee and his new section leaders stating that he did not contact any of the "Legends" committee to become part of his band.

MB Fusion will be presented in Trinidad and Tobago only and there are no plans take part in any of the other spin-off West Indian carnivals. While some bands seem to grow each year, McKenzie hopes to present an alternative to the "big band" and is catering for about 500 masqueraders.

How many of these may be Legends masqueraders is yet to be seen but McKenzie who sees himself as a "people's person" said he has been approached by many masquerades who are already looking forward to playing with his band.

"We are designing for all body types," said McKenzie who explained that there will be costumes designed specifically for full-figured masqueraders that will be modelled by full-figured women on the day of the launch. Crediting his wife for her great designs, McKenzie said that they will be staying away from the "beads" mas and there will only be one or two sections out of the 16 sections that will have beads in its design.

Thus far eight of the 16 sections have been franchised and McKenzie believes the number will grow to ten. McKenzie would not give any hints about costume designs for next year and he dodged questions relating to his wife's "risqué" costuming in the past. The image for "Genesis" is that of a globe being held in a woman's hand. A closer look at the globe reveals the continent Africa as the central figure.

"What my masqueraders want is what my masqueraders are going to get." McKenzie will also be staying away from any and all competitions , he believes it takes away from the fun and the enjoyment of the masquerader.

Last edited by trinisoul; 06-02-2004 at 05:59 PM..
Old 06-02-2004, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 246
Wow very interesting and I wish them both good luck for carnival 2k5. :)
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 06-02-2004, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 93
Old 06-03-2004, 06:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 42
the idea to be able to use any bar not only the ones in your section is interesting.....

i think next year you will see less live bands on the road anyway so for Ian not to have a band isn't surprising i think mas is slowly moving in that direction.....

no beads?!

more pasties then

i wish him de best for 2k5
Old 06-03-2004, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
Carnival 2K5 will be orrrrrrnnnnnnn like boil coooorrrrrrrnnnnnn!

(On the cob Cyprianni)

Old 06-03-2004, 09:37 AM   #6 (permalink)

Hmmm, Judging from the article it looks like Ian has a good thing going. I'm sure the designs will be different because it looks like Big Mike kept all the stencils.

SkandalUS already have a bar truck from which any section can go to. So the idea isn't that new, but it's not common. You can't have a bar concept like that in Poison.

Anywho...best of luck to the McKenzie Bros.

Old 06-03-2004, 09:41 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 269
FACE OFF

THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE Click the image to open in full size. LEGACY VS MB.................IM LOVEING IT
Old 06-03-2004, 09:43 AM   #8 (permalink)

Re: FACE OFF

Originally posted by NEO ONE
THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE Click the image to open in full size. LEGACY VS MB.................IM LOVEING IT
Sounds like the ultimate face-off ent. :p

Old 06-03-2004, 09:45 AM   #9 (permalink)

I swear, Big Mike must have a closet full of metallic body paint and those blasted chains must stand up by themselves.

Old 06-03-2004, 09:47 AM   #10 (permalink)

IAN SAY NO BEADS THE VERY THOUGHT OF WHAT HIS WOMAN THINKING MAKES MY BLOOD RUN COLD
Old 06-03-2004, 09:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

IAN SAY NO BEADS THE VERY THOUGHT OF WHAT HIS WOMAN THINKING MAKES MY BLOOD RUN COLD
You and your big mouth went and tell people to try and be creative and design costumes without beads and feathers. Lawd now look at what might happen.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 06-03-2004, 09:57 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by Pebbles362436
You and your big mouth went and tell people to try and be creative and design costumes without beads and feathers. Lawd now look at what might happen.

:p ME? SHE DOH STUDY ME ................
Old 06-03-2004, 10:00 AM   #13 (permalink)

I hope all mas bands don't adopt this cost effective attitude of DJ's only for carnival Mon & Tue. I for one prefer to hear a mixture of live bands and DJ's - just link up all the trucks so they're playing the same songs ent.

As for designing costumes without beads - PRESSURE! Ladies I guess this band will not be for us modest ones! So will they be imposing a size and weight restriction on the masqueraders then? (ah know ah going an' dig horros fuh dat one )
Old 06-03-2004, 10:14 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 314
Originally posted by TheNaughtyOne
I hope all mas bands don't adopt this cost effective attitude of DJ's only for carnival Mon & Tue. I for one prefer to hear a mixture of live bands and DJ's - just link up all the trucks so they're playing the same songs ent.

As for designing costumes without beads - PRESSURE! Ladies I guess this band will not be for us modest ones! So will they be imposing a size and weight restriction on the masqueraders then? (ah know ah going an' dig horros fuh dat one )

i know this no live band shite sucks..
Old 06-03-2004, 10:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

:p ME? SHE DOH STUDY ME ................
I really hope she doh study us and they try to do something in very good taste that represents Trinidad carnival to the fullest.