Old 06-08-2004, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question Kapok Hotel in TNT

has anyone from imix ever stayed there? or do you know anyone that has? I need some feedback, doing research for 2k5 carnival
Old 06-08-2004, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Credits: 41
Originally Posted by amprincess
has anyone from imix ever stayed there? or do you know anyone that has? I need some feedback, doing research for 2k5 carnival
i stayed there...but it was about 9 years ago...so i dont know if any changes were done...but I HATED it then....it was really run down....but a lot could have happened since
Old 06-08-2004, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80
Stayed there a bit back in 2000. It was okay -- nothing special. Sort of like any Holiday Inn. Location is great, but rooms are on the small side though. Don't know if anything has changed since then.
Old 06-08-2004, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by tallest
i stayed there...but it was about 9 years ago...so i dont know if any changes were done...but I HATED it then....it was really run down....but a lot could have happened since

really? for the prices they calling I expected it to be really nice. it don't look run down from the outside.
maybe they did do some renovations
thanks though
Old 06-08-2004, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LSK
Stayed there a bit back in 2000. It was okay -- nothing special. Sort of like any Holiday Inn. Location is great, but rooms are on the small side though. Don't know if anything has changed since then.

shite. I love the location of this place, guess I should look around next time I'm there. thanks for the info
Old 06-08-2004, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

shite. I love the location of this place, guess I should look around next time I'm there. thanks for the info

Hey, maybe by that time the new Marriott over by the Stadium, right in de middle of Movie Town, would be up and open for business. :)
Old 06-08-2004, 02:12 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LSK

Hey, maybe by that time the new Marriott over by the Stadium, right in de middle of Movie Town, would be up and open for business. :)

yeah they will be but they telling people to check back in Aug for the rates
Old 06-08-2004, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Original Diva

Credits: 235
kapok is nice its no Hilton but hey for carnival weekend and its location is just great and there were recent renovations its nice you could look into in Amprincess also the Royal palm is not to bad also and they are close by.
Old 06-08-2004, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Platinum Diva
kapok is nice its no Hilton but hey for carnival weekend and its location is just great and there were recent renovations its nice you could look into in Amprincess also the Royal palm is not to bad also and they are close by.

thanks. we always pass by Royal Palm too. Next time I'm there I will make it my business to go check out all the rooms. :)
Old 06-08-2004, 02:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

yeah they will be but they telling people to check back in Aug for the rates

...And you can bet your a$$ that the rates are going to be ridiculous! Especially for Carnival.
Old 06-08-2004, 03:43 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 92
thanks. we always pass by Royal Palm too. Next time I'm there I will make it my business to go check out all the rooms. :)
My friend checked out Royal Palm for us and she didnt really like it, she said Kapok is better and in a better location, but you are right, it is expensive. They did do renovations recently so maybe that is why they charging so much.
Old 06-08-2004, 07:14 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 106
Originally Posted by zenzele1
My friend checked out Royal Palm for us and she didnt really like it, she said Kapok is better and in a better location, but you are right, it is expensive. They did do renovations recently so maybe that is why they charging so much.
Ive stayed at the Royal Palm, Kapok and Crowne Plaza(was Holiday Inn)

Royal Palm is no good...ugly rooms...rundown.

Kapok is small and cramped...little pool area...was refurbished a few years back...good location...I didnt really like the place.

Crown Plaza...This is where I stay...spacious, great view of ocean and wrightson road during jouvert. Ask for ocena side room. Breakfast shed right across the street for cheap real trini food. Close to downtown.
Walking distance to queens park oval and savannah. Nice pool area and breakfast area...breakfast was free. Close to
Club Caribbean across the street(was union hall calypso tent?)

Both the Kapok and the Crowne Plaza are expensive and have about the same rates for carnival...you have to buy a 5 day package at about $1400 for a double...and they sell out,
and theres no refund after around the 1st of the year or so, cant remember the exact date.

Never stayed at the Hilton but its just a little more expensive I think.
Old 06-08-2004, 07:45 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,829
From what I'm reading with the prices and quality of service, I'd have to say thank heavens I have family close to POS oui. Or I would have to pitch a tent somewhere in the Savannah.

It looks like Trinidad hotels need a good facilities/hotel manager.

Old 06-08-2004, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 92
Originally Posted by Rhythmwize

Both the Kapok and the Crowne Plaza are expensive and have about the same rates for carnival...you have to buy a 5 day package at about $1400 for a double...and they sell out,
and theres no refund after around the 1st of the year or so, cant remember the exact date.

Never stayed at the Hilton but its just a little more expensive I think.
Rhythmwize, how do you get reservations at the Crown Plaxa, do you call directly? I tis completley sold out online.
Old 06-08-2004, 08:23 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 77
I love it there!!! Oh gosh and Tiki Village (restaurant upstairs) is off the chain!! If yuh can get a local rate, its even more sweet. Its no Hilton, but it is very comfortable and the workers are absolutely charming people. Bless up d security guards, them is meh brethrens..lol...it nice gyul!