Old 04-17-2005, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 709
Question Kadooment

Does anyone know what the history of that word is
Old 04-17-2005, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 313
ah went to the ncf website to see if i could find a definition.. but instead ah find
Old 04-17-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
ah went to the ncf website to see if i could find a definition.. but instead ah find

Focus Miss Lady Focus!
Old 04-17-2005, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)

hey that looks like our Sesame Flyers labor day costume from 2001
Old 04-17-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

So does it seem like ah doh know dat the word means Carnival? I hope not...what I want to know is where it came from...c'est ca...
Old 04-17-2005, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 313
Originally Posted by amprincess

of course it is!!!! but we had more rum and wukupology in the road... i don't think the headpiece made it out the stadium
Old 04-17-2005, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,726

bwwaahhhhhh

*slaps desk

BWAAHHH baje in full form

Old 04-17-2005, 07:37 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,726
Festival History

For five weeks every summer Barbados celebrates Crop Over, an exciting and vibrant extravaganza of music and masquerade, history and culture to mark the end of the sugar cane cutting season. Festival origins can be traced back to the 1780's, when Barbados was the one of the world's foremost producers of sugar, and a festival was held at the culmination of each sugar season.

When the Barbados sugar industry declined, the Crop Over festival suffered and in the 1940's stopped completely. But in 1974 the festival was revived to attract tourists to the island in the traditionally "slow season". Other aspects of Barbadian culture were added to create the spectacle that exists today. Calypso music for example, is now inextricably linked with the festival. Crop Over has become an event that attracts thousands of people from across the globe.

"More than a carnival, sweet fuh days"
http://cropover.ncf.bb/

Kadooment is a summer street carnival, filled with people consumed by "festival fever", dancing to Caribbean soca music and wearing elaborate, multicolored costumes and body paint. It's the climax of the Crop Over festival - "sweet fuh days" - in Barbados.
http://kadooment.com/

Old 04-17-2005, 07:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

uhmm..okay. I don't know if I made myself clear but the question was does anyone know the HISTORY behind the word Kadooment. I already stated that I know what it is, while I appreciate you guys pulling up that info about the festival itself, all I wanted to know about was the word. If anyone can find that info please link meh...thank you very much.
Old 04-17-2005, 09:01 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 92
Originally Posted by PrEtt1BrWnEyEz
uhmm..okay. I don't know if I made myself clear but the question was does anyone know the HISTORY behind the word Kadooment. I already stated that I know what it is, while I appreciate you guys pulling up that info about the festival itself, all I wanted to know about was the word. If anyone can find that info please link meh...thank you very much.
www.google.com keyword search "meaning of Kadooment"
Old 04-18-2005, 01:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by zenzele1
www.google.com keyword search "meaning of Kadooment"
Nothing of note...
Old 04-18-2005, 01:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Shiloh Sound

Credits: 46
Originally Posted by PrEtt1BrWnEyEz
Nothing of note...
We prob mek up dah word yeh!!
Old 04-18-2005, 01:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Originally Posted by bajiman
We prob mek up dah word yeh!!

Old 04-19-2005, 02:00 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 254
Originally Posted by amprincess
i see that red costume when ah played mas wid legends in 2001 "now & beyond"

baje, the hair, that long hair, whey it gone boi?