Old 07-09-2005, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 40
Jouvert in Toronto

Someone was tellin me about Jouvert In toronto caribana friday night. Can anyone confrim this?
Old 07-09-2005, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,690
if it could just get established properly It would be great. I want to take it in again this year. Didnt go last year tried it the year before.
What is the location this year
Old 07-09-2005, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 27
> I want to take it in again this year. Didnt go last year tried it the year
> before.

you mean an actual j'ouvert takes place in toronto? this is news to me.

i only know of a fete called j'ouvert thrown by dr. jay and the kos every caribana friday.

peace,

ajax
Old 07-09-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)

yeah after that fete they take it to the street so that is the jovert
with the riddim section and ting
Old 07-09-2005, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 27
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
i've been to j'ouvert for the past two years in a row and had no idea they did that! :)

peace,

ajax
Old 07-09-2005, 05:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ajax
i've been to j'ouvert for the past two years in a row and had no idea they did that! :)

peace,

ajax
stay till the very end.
it does circle a few blocks and all
I going after glow or the outside fete whichever one I go to
Old 07-10-2005, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 40
Hopefully this year it is a success.
Old 07-10-2005, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 353
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I think this is the only type of jouvert we have. It circles a block after the feteand follows a rythm section at about 4am or 5am and its bring ur own powder. But its nothing to go out of your way to attend. We should have a real jouvert wit mud and all
Old 07-10-2005, 04:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 3,046
Originally Posted by Pretty Preya
I think this is the only type of jouvert we have. It circles a block after the feteand follows a rythm section at about 4am or 5am and its bring ur own powder. But its nothing to go out of your way to attend. We should have a real jouvert wit mud and all
Why don't we?
I mean has anyone ever appraoched the idea with the CCC or the mas camps. I mean would it really be that difficult to do ?
Old 07-10-2005, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 353
i think it has been brought up. the city doesn't want to close down any more streets than we already have to, and then to get police to be present, yadda yadda yadda.

basically just excuses i heard
Old 07-10-2005, 06:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 3,046
Originally Posted by Pretty Preya
i think it has been brought up. the city doesn't want to close down any more streets than we already have to, and then to get police to be present, yadda yadda yadda.

basically just excuses i heard
okay fair enough but then why not have it at an open venue like markham fairgrounds or shangrila or someting of that sort? Yes it would be small but at least it would be something to set things off for the parade.
Old 07-11-2005, 12:15 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 154
Originally Posted by Rinababy
okay fair enough but then why not have it at an open venue like markham fairgrounds or shangrila or someting of that sort? Yes it would be small but at least it would be something to set things off for the parade.

I agree with that