Credits: 4,444
Jamaica Carnival 2008
Okay, so I thinking of going next year.
Give me some key dates. What airport do I need to fly into? What band is good to play with? I need some hotel recommendations as well. |
Credits: 4,444
bump
Credits: 106
Part 1...North Coast Easter weekend in Ocho Rios...Fly into Montego Bay, stay at Hisbiscus Lodge in Ocho Rios. Two big carnival shows that weekend, Beach Jouvert on Saturday at James Bond Beach east of Ochie and Carnival Countdown on Easter Sunday evening at Richmond Estates just west of Ochie. Four day Holiday weekend for Jamaicans starting on Good Friday...All kinds of shows both reggae and soca in that area over those four days...Monday following Easter is also a National Holiday with all kinds of activities. The organizers for the Beach Jouvert stay at the Hibiscus Lodge and we had limes out by the pool every day starting Good Friday. Book early as all the hotels become fully booked in Ochie that Easter weekend. Part 2...Kingston Carnival activities move to Kingston. We usually travel down there on the Tuesday following Easter. Carnival events are Wednesday thru Sunday. We always stay at the Pegasus Hotel which is carnival central and in a good secure area of town. We usually get a carnival rate there, so be sure and request that even after you have booked a room...s/b about $150 a night with taxes. We have always jumped up with the Bacchanal Jamaica group, bacchanaljamaica.com We fly outta Kingston on Monday, the day after the jumpup. Hope this helps, John |
Credits: 391
How do you travel to Kingston???