Credits: 2,475
J A M A I C A C A R N I V A L
OK so jamaica carnival is this week. Any reports?
How allyuh sooooo dry? |
Credits: 4,872
That sounds nice !! I want to see too
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Credits: 195
Great fetes at JA Carnival
I couldn't stay for the carnival itself this weekend coming cause of work but i was there last week and the fetes were great especially the BACHANNAL fete. Destra and Atlantik was the only band on the show but it was terrific. Is the first time in a long time that I've heard Atlantik sound so great. Something was different but i cannot put my hand on it but the performance was out of this world. Also the beach fest on saturday was superb. Image and company was great but again destra stole the show but Iwer, you have to learn to wine. Like you fraid Destra booty or what? The woman call you up and you couldn't represent. Some Dancehall King that CANNOT Dance. Keep it up Destra.
Credits: 106
Just Returned from Jamaica Carnival
Wifey and I were there for many of the carnival events and to play mas in the Bacchanal Jamaica Parade on Sunday, March 30th. Rained on the parade extremely hard for an hour or two, the worst rain we have ever experienced playing mas with the exception of Cropover in, I think, the year 2003.
Went to Beach Jouvert on the North Coast on Saturday with Destra, Atlantik and Imij Band..great show with first class sound system and lots of paint. Cost was $50 and included drinks. Kingston next: Tuesday was Pan Night, called Pan Magic Jam, at venue across from the Pegasus Hotel where we stayed. This was first year for this show and was well attended, about 800 people. Drinks all-inclusive an entertainment was Crazy and Black Stalin and the Skiffle Bunch Steel Orchestra from Trinidad. Cost was $35 in advance. Wednesday was Lime Cay fete on little island just outside the Kingston Harbor. Free except for $10 RT boat ride out there. There is a bar out there and fish for sale. Sound System was out there with DJ Switch from Trinidad. Poorly attended due to poor weather, some rain, and the fact that there was a big soccer match early that night between Jamaica and Trinidad at the National Stadium in Kingston and no time to do both. We still had fun there as usual. Thursday night there was a Blocko party uptown but we didnt attend, heard it was packed. Friday was the Bacchanal Jouvert "Nitemare" Fete at the mas camp venue just down the street from the Pegasus...the theme for Bacchanal Carnival this year was Bacchanal Dreams. Shurwayne Winchester, Traffic, Clarendon Tassa Band and DJ Switch along with Sparkles Disco Sound System provided the music entertainment...great show. We bought the VIP tickets at $57 and very damn glad we did. Drinks and food included and not over-crowded. Regular tickets went for $36 and it was so crowded I felt sorry for anyone over in that mess...VIP was really the key to having a great time at this fete. Saturday we went to Byron Lee's Vintage versus Soca Fete poolside at the Pegasus hotel. Kind of a staid uptown affair but fine for us the night before the parade. Sparrow performed along with Byron Lee's band. Byron was there but sat in a chair behind the mixing board as he is still recovering from a bout with cancer. Saw the end of the show from our hotel room overlooking the pool area. Sunday was the Parade. Left on time at 10:15am from the Mona Heights in the hills above New Kingston. Imij band on the lead music truck with four other music trucks and about 1500 masqueraders. Lots of people in T-shirt costumes which we dont like and even some with no costumes...thats what happens when you allow T-shirts costumes which then for some become no costume at all...ruins the carnival vibe in my opinion. Parade ended at about 5pm with fete at mas camp but most people left as the rain started up again. Last edited by Rhythmwize; 04-02-2008 at 02:46 PM.. |
Ms. Monogamous
Credits: 59
post pics please
Credits: 2,475
Thanks for the update.......cause like Carnival central Bias...everyone only talking bout trini carnival and non bout Jamaica |
Credits: 1,184
Rythmnwize......did you enjoy it?
You don't seem too positive about your time there? Thanks for taking the time to make a trip report for us not in the know about Jamaica Carnival. ![]() |
Credits: 106
We enjoyed it, that said, its not as good as it used too be. Part of that no doubt is the familiarity of it all, that was our 10th Jamaican Carnival in 11 years, so that tends to take the excitment and edge off of things. And, of course, the quite long torrential downpour during the parade detracted somewhat from the experience, the rain actually made us feel cold and everything got drenched. Really cant complain too much though, it was a good trip without any problems and we had a good time in Negril, Jamaica, spent five nights there prior to the carnival events. We always meet some nice people there and had a fun relaxing time just kicking it on the 7 mile long white sand beach with all the beach bars and great places too eat. If you want a wild time, go there the first week in August, its their Independance Celebration and the place is crazy with action so Im told. Stay at the Kuyaba, its a very nice hotel with a fantastic restaurant.