Old 06-02-2006, 10:44 AM   #61 (permalink)

Credits: 1,264
You apparently lack the ability to read critically and for comprehension, so let me try and bring the conversation down to a level that might be more age appropriate for you:

Originally Posted by Julie_Mango
OK breds, educate meh on a couple items....

1) What is it about the NYC demographic that is so different to other American cities that would force Tribe to not want tuh host a band launching? My experience is that in every American carnival I have seen 90% black people, maybe a more diverse crowd in Toronto so what is the difference in NYC to say Miami carnival?

From an overall perspective, the NYC demographic may not be that different from any other major North American city...HOWEVER, NYC has the highest concentration of West Indians outside of the caribbean, compared to these other cities. A very large contingent of that population happens to be darker-skinned and/OR or a certain socio-economic background. If they're not lower to middle-class and largely black, they're certainly largely black/darker-skinned. You said it yourself...what is the demographic that you see at these North American carnivals? "90% black people"...yuh think Tribe want to market to them? Tribe more than happy wooing the Anthony Andersons and the Gabrielle Unions and the Michael Ealys...along with the Sabgas, the Gharibs and the Cabrals...they don't care much about the Joneses and Gopeesinghs. Act like yuh schupid.

2) What bands in TnT do band launches in NYC?

I am not here to concern myself with other bands...I can only speak about what I know, and what I know for fact is that the phrase "that element" was used derisively in describing the New York masqueraders by senior Tribe Exec. committe members in explaining their unwillingness to cater to NYC. You don't have to buy it, bank it or believe it.

3) If you are coming down on Tribe carnival fetes, you need to do the same for many carnival events from Bachannal Wednesday to Brian Lara's All Inclusive or should I say "all exclusive"?.

I have no concern with Lara or any other fete, create yuh own facking thread to raise concerns about them. I have never been to their fetes nor do I have insights on their fetes.

4) These "demographics" have been on portrayal for years in TnT, other bands have shown this, why are you picking on Tribe? No one is worse than Harts. I see a much more diverse demographic in Tribe than Harts. Why are you playing this race card on Tribe?

Asshole...first off, I couldn't give half a fuck about Harts.

Secondly...Tribe has been playing the race card for a very long time, this didn't start with Bake n Shark...I chose to deal with Tribe for a specific reason that seems to have overwhelmed your tiny brain

...and being that I was one of the ones saying that the rumors were likely malicious lies, I feel obligated to expose the repugnant attitudes festering at the top in Tribe

Padnah, the class system has been very apparent in TnT for years, the middle class is no more, the poor in society is growing and the rich separating themselves in gated communities. To play this all on Tribe is just unfair and you have yet to present any facts whatsoever to support your claims against Tribe.

Firstly I am not "playing" anything all on Tribe... the thread deals with Tribe, Tribe is what I know about...so Tribe is what I'll deal with. If I had any insight as to the melting of the polar ice caps and the pending ecological nightmare predicted for Earth...I would share that with you in order to silence your carping about me being unfair to Tribe...but can't help you there. As for facts...you're not going to get anything other than what I've already posted, this ent a court of law and I am not about to reveal my sources (as much as many are already aware of it)...suffice to say that the source is accurate and reliable. If that fails to meet your threshold, then by all means continue to carp and then go spend yuh money in support of the Ackins.

Blame what you are seeing on the new "all exclusive" segment of society, not Tribe, they are not to blame. Most people in TnT today can't even afford to play mas.

Dumbass...it ent "the 'all inclusive' segment of society" who displaying prejudiced attitudes against darker-skinned masqueraders, and taking personal potshots at certain masqueraders on account of their size...is the Tribe collective, namely certain key members of the executive committee. You don't want to buy it...that's your prerogative. I'm not here to convince you or anybody of anything nor am I on some crusade. I saw the thread and couldn't keep the bile down anymore so I said my piece. Tribe shitting in your face and you want to count that as ah blessing, be my guess. Peepers and others out there, just consider it food for thought when September rolls around.

If is anybody dropping bombs here is you!
Yuh damn right I am.
Old 06-02-2006, 10:52 AM   #62 (permalink)

Credits: 51,349
Originally Posted by LSK
I'm fine girl - busy as usual. Lot's going on these days, it's kinda hard to keep up...

But it's all good tho.
cool!

Old 06-02-2006, 08:27 PM   #63 (permalink)

Credits: 425
Well, you have proven my point that basically, you are full of sh!t.

To top it off, you can't answer my questions and when you do, yuh beat arong de bush, you can't debate and thus your only line of defense is name calling, cussing and the race card.

FYI, most bands in Trinidad start as a family run business, the fact that the Tribe clan is red/black/spanish/chinee/syrian or whatever they are is irrelevant. What I do know is they have pleased thousands of masqueraders, after being around for only 2 years, with their level of organization and professionalism that has not been seen in TnT for years.

Your unfair attack is nothing short of the "crabs in a barrel" disease, it's one of the reasons our artists continue to struggle, as we keep on fighting amongst ourselves. You are playing into the hands of your worst enemy by perpetuating the crabs in a bucket syndrome. When Maximus Dan sang "Soca Train", is people like you he was singing 'bout.

Also, I am not a Tribe masquerader, I need live brass on the road, I play with Trini Revellers. I know people who play with Tribe and have seen their DVD, which to me showed a diverse demographic. Feel free to continue with your race baiting games and playing into the hands of massa.

Good luck to you

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
You apparently lack the ability to read critically and for comprehension, so let me try and bring the conversation down to a level that might be more age appropriate for you:
OK breds, educate meh on a couple items....

1) What is it about the NYC demographic that is so different to other American cities that would force Tribe to not want tuh host a band launching? My experience is that in every American carnival I have seen 90% black people, maybe a more diverse crowd in Toronto so what is the difference in NYC to say Miami carnival?

From an overall perspective, the NYC demographic may not be that different from any other major North American city...HOWEVER, NYC has the highest concentration of West Indians outside of the caribbean, compared to these other cities. A very large contingent of that population happens to be darker-skinned and/OR or a certain socio-economic background. If they're not lower to middle-class and largely black, they're certainly largely black/darker-skinned. You said it yourself...what is the demographic that you see at these North American carnivals? "90% black people"...yuh think Tribe want to market to them? Tribe more than happy wooing the Anthony Andersons and the Gabrielle Unions and the Michael Ealys...along with the Sabgas, the Gharibs and the Cabrals...they don't care much about the Joneses and Gopeesinghs. Act like yuh schupid.

2) What bands in TnT do band launches in NYC?

I am not here to concern myself with other bands...I can only speak about what I know, and what I know for fact is that the phrase "that element" was used derisively in describing the New York masqueraders by senior Tribe Exec. committe members in explaining their unwillingness to cater to NYC. You don't have to buy it, bank it or believe it.

3) If you are coming down on Tribe carnival fetes, you need to do the same for many carnival events from Bachannal Wednesday to Brian Lara's All Inclusive or should I say "all exclusive"?.

I have no concern with Lara or any other fete, create yuh own facking thread to raise concerns about them. I have never been to their fetes nor do I have insights on their fetes.

4) These "demographics" have been on portrayal for years in TnT, other bands have shown this, why are you picking on Tribe? No one is worse than Harts. I see a much more diverse demographic in Tribe than Harts. Why are you playing this race card on Tribe?

Asshole...first off, I couldn't give half a ################ about Harts.

Secondly...Tribe has been playing the race card for a very long time, this didn't start with Bake n Shark...I chose to deal with Tribe for a specific reason that seems to have overwhelmed your tiny brain

Quote:
...and being that I was one of the ones saying that the rumors were likely malicious lies, I feel obligated to expose the repugnant attitudes festering at the top in Tribe

Padnah, the class system has been very apparent in TnT for years, the middle class is no more, the poor in society is growing and the rich separating themselves in gated communities. To play this all on Tribe is just unfair and you have yet to present any facts whatsoever to support your claims against Tribe.

Firstly I am not "playing" anything all on Tribe... the thread deals with Tribe, Tribe is what I know about...so Tribe is what I'll deal with. If I had any insight as to the melting of the polar ice caps and the pending ecological nightmare predicted for Earth...I would share that with you in order to silence your carping about me being unfair to Tribe...but can't help you there. As for facts...you're not going to get anything other than what I've already posted, this ent a court of law and I am not about to reveal my sources (as much as many are already aware of it)...suffice to say that the source is accurate and reliable. If that fails to meet your threshold, then by all means continue to carp and then go spend yuh money in support of the Ackins.

Blame what you are seeing on the new "all exclusive" segment of society, not Tribe, they are not to blame. Most people in TnT today can't even afford to play mas.

Dumbass...it ent "the 'all inclusive' segment of society" who displaying prejudiced attitudes against darker-skinned masqueraders, and taking personal potshots at certain masqueraders on account of their size...is the Tribe collective, namely certain key members of the executive committee. You don't want to buy it...that's your prerogative. I'm not here to convince you or anybody of anything nor am I on some crusade. I saw the thread and couldn't keep the bile down anymore so I said my piece. Tribe shitting in your face and you want to count that as ah blessing, be my guess. Peepers and others out there, just consider it food for thought when September rolls around.

If is anybody dropping bombs here is you!

Yuh damn right I am.

Last edited by Julie_Mango; 06-02-2006 at 09:17 PM..
Old 06-03-2006, 04:49 PM   #64 (permalink)

Well, you have proven my point that basically, you are full of sh!t.

And you are spouting it...so I guess that just about makes us even.

To top it off, you can't answer my questions and when you do, yuh beat arong de bush, you can't debate and thus your only line of defense is name calling, cussing and the race card.

Which question did I fail to answer? You posed 4 and I responded to 4. How did I beat around the bush? After years on this board I don't particularly feel the need to prove my debating skills to anyone, least of all a moron like you. As for the cussing and "name calling" that isn't a line of defense dumbass...that is plain talk bad manners, I do it not out of necessity, but because it gives me pleasure in exposing half-wits such as yourself...who quick to cry 'race card' this and 'race card' that. Anyone who knows me knows that is not my style...but you apparently like having wool pulled over your eyes.

FYI, most bands in Trinidad start as a family run business, the fact that the Tribe clan is red/black/spanish/chinee/syrian or whatever they are is irrelevant. What I do know is they have pleased thousands of masqueraders, after being around for only 2 years, with their level of organization and professionalism that has not been seen in TnT for years.

...and good thing all 7 members of the Tribe executive committee are related, right cunt? Not only that, but the founding members have been marginalised and their authority usurped by those currently enjoying majority control of the board...but you wouldn't know that, would you?

Your unfair attack is nothing short of the "crabs in a barrel" disease, it's one of the reasons our artists continue to struggle, as we keep on fighting amongst ourselves.

And what possible motive would I have for making this 'unfair' attack? You'd swear that is you self I 'attacked' the way you're acting all hurt and defensive...

These allegations of racial prejudice against Tribe are nothing new...I even defended them against them last year...why all of a sudden now would I play the 'race card' against them? Have you stopped to ask yourself that? Everyone else who makes these allegations, are they also playing the race card? As the saying goes...where there is smoke....

You are playing into the hands of your worst enemy by perpetuating the crabs in a bucket syndrome. When Maximus Dan sang "Soca Train", is people like you he was singing 'bout.

"crabs in a barrel" dumbass...not a bucket, and yuh right, Maximus was singing about people like me, people who really care about their people and their culture...not the vultures that you and your kind represent.

Also, I am not a Tribe masquerader, I need live brass on the road, I play with Trini Revellers. I know people who play with Tribe and have seen their DVD, which to me showed a diverse demographic.

Are you dumb, deaf or stupid? I believe I clearly made a distinction between the experiences on the road and the peripheral activities, namely the North Stand lime and Blue Range fete. Your selective reading reveals your own particular agenda...because you sure acting like somebody mash yuh corn.

Feel free to continue with your race baiting games and playing into the hands of massa.

Good luck to you
Good luck to you too...getting your head out your ass.
Old 06-04-2006, 11:27 AM   #65 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 559
Boy this discussion too heavy for words...

All I can say is it''s a question off "The lesser of Two Evils"...all these bands and them are FACKED UP be it blatant or hidden..is pure assholery does go down with all of em...Be it the "Morvant Attitiude perception" or the whole element shit, half of these band leaders, and trust me it ent just Tribe deal on bare shit, smile yuh up nice and rake in yuh 6-1 come February.

Will never forget the day I called a certain "former" section of Poison to register some friend s for her Titania section (cause me wasnt playing with her friggin section) only for her to tell me over the phone that she hopes they are not LARGE WOMEN cause she does not cater to anyone over a size 8 for her frontline, and is the pricing a problem cause she caters to a certain clientel...Needless to say the (3) size 5 gals I was looking to register said fack away with she if one of the crew who was a size 10 could be with them.

All the bands...and I do mean ALL IP, TRIBE, HARTS deal in this type of fackery. If you take it on, yuh jump up in yuh living room in yuh own costume come Carnival oui.

Just plain ole disgusting.
Old 06-04-2006, 04:07 PM   #66 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 27,036
Originally Posted by OilInDeCoil
Boy this discussion too heavy for words...

All I can say is it''s a question off "The lesser of Two Evils"...all these bands and them are FACKED UP be it blatant or hidden..is pure assholery does go down with all of em...Be it the "Morvant Attitiude perception" or the whole element shit, half of these band leaders, and trust me it ent just Tribe deal on bare shit, smile yuh up nice and rake in yuh 6-1 come February.

Will never forget the day I called a certain "former" section of Poison to register some friend s for her Titania section (cause me wasnt playing with her friggin section) only for her to tell me over the phone that she hopes they are not LARGE WOMEN cause she does not cater to anyone over a size 8 for her frontline, and is the pricing a problem cause she caters to a certain clientel...Needless to say the (3) size 5 gals I was looking to register said fack away with she if one of the crew who was a size 10 could be with them.

All the bands...and I do mean ALL IP, TRIBE, HARTS deal in this type of fackery. If you take it on, yuh jump up in yuh living room in yuh own costume come Carnival oui.

Just plain ole disgusting.
you definitely have a point there
That why in 2K5 although people thought IE was a bougie stushy band they used Kenisha Thom as there spokeswoman and had people from all ages, sizes, complexion even sexual orientations (that was a ting boy) in their band. Then a person on this very site had the nerve to call them the "fugliest" band on the road. The thing is the HARTS, TRIBES and IP'S are vey selective wit who they let be the face of their bands, so if you don't fit a certain criteria, whether it be size, colour, or whatever, you aint gonna be in anyones pic gallery or DVD. Plain and simple. I have yet to see TRIBE'S DVD so i won't put they in that category yet.
Old 06-04-2006, 06:18 PM   #67 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 6,693
Quite interesting. I would have missed this thread had someone not mentioned this to me. I see some of the same prejudices in Jamaica as well with certain sessions and parties... on one hand you have the "ghetto people's" ting with Passa Passa and what have you, and on the other hand you actually have parties in Jamaica called "High Society". It hurt me to see Bakes call out the foolishness dat a gwaan (and trust me... me and Bakes ever in argument over the race card and me being the one to jump to conclusions... so when he says race is an issue here I can't help but feel dih man serious and sincere in his convictions) and people actually a defend dih fackery! "Crab in a barrel" mentality my ass... people must speak out against dem tings and boycott who fih get boycott cause dem living off the same "element" dem trying to avoid.
Old 06-05-2006, 05:25 PM   #68 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Fiyah
Quite interesting. I would have missed this thread had someone not mentioned this to me. I see some of the same prejudices in Jamaica as well with certain sessions and parties... on one hand you have the "ghetto people's" ting with Passa Passa and what have you, and on the other hand you actually have parties in Jamaica called "High Society". It hurt me to see Bakes call out the foolishness dat a gwaan (and trust me... me and Bakes ever in argument over the race card and me being the one to jump to conclusions... so when he says race is an issue here I can't help but feel dih man serious and sincere in his convictions) and people actually a defend dih fackery! "Crab in a barrel" mentality my ass... people must speak out against dem tings and boycott who fih get boycott cause dem living off the same "element" dem trying to avoid.
Breds I juss here laffin' and shaking my head at this Julie_Mango chick...especially she's the very one who had to the nerve to be calling the masqueraders in other bands ugly when (coincidentally or not) that was the band that went out of it's way to portray some sort of diversity in it's representation. Note I didn't say it's membership...because they WILL take your money (all of them as Oil say, when it comes down to it). But I've already done my part in bringing light to the situation...I feel no particular need to defend myself against "race card" charges. We'll just have to see what happens from here on.
Old 06-05-2006, 05:29 PM   #69 (permalink)
GWEH

Breds I juss here laffin' and shaking my head at this Julie_Mango chick...especially she's the very one who had to the nerve to be calling the masqueraders in other bands ugly when (coincidentally or not) that was the band that went out of it's way to portray some sort of diversity in it's representation. Note I didn't say it's membership...because they WILL take your money (all of them as Oil say, when it comes down to it). But I've already done my part in bringing light to the situation...I feel no particular need to defend myself against "race card" charges. We'll just have to see what happens from here on.
I hope that this social elitism mentality can be stamped out though. And the only way I see it happening is if people stop turning a blind eye to dih foolishness.
Old 06-05-2006, 05:33 PM   #70 (permalink)

I hope that this social elitism mentality can be stamped out though. And the only way I see it happening is if people stop turning a blind eye to dih foolishness.
It is exactly that...right now there is no incentive for them to change as long as they can boast about their band "selling out in 2 hours" and what not. Thankfully for me I dont have some burning desire to jump up in beads and baubles so easy for me to say "fiya bun" on these bands, for other though it's not that easy...and I understand that, but change may only come thru sacrifice.
Old 06-05-2006, 05:35 PM   #71 (permalink)
GWEH

It is exactly that...right now there is no incentive for them to change as long as they can boast about their band "selling out in 2 hours" and what not. Thankfully for me I dont have some burning desire to jump up in beads and baubles so easy for me to say "fiya bun" on these bands, for other though it's not that easy...and I understand that, but change may only come thru sacrifice.
Are there no bands that don't take part in them kind of behaviour that people can support instead?
Old 06-05-2006, 06:57 PM   #72 (permalink)

Are there no bands that don't take part in them kind of behaviour that people can support instead?
Not sure...as some say, it's possible that all act/think this way, I only have information on Tribe.
Old 06-05-2006, 11:04 PM   #73 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 559
This may seem like a very BROAD statement, but A-L-L of them dey pon shit, be it Tribe, Poison, IP (who ironically felt they had to try and trump the Tribe hype by professing they..SOLD OUT in record speed, mean while is WHO yuh know dat was able to get you registered) , to me it just comes down to how blatant the BS is as a means of how you determine if at all yuh feel like being bothered.
Old 06-06-2006, 12:54 AM   #74 (permalink)

Credits: 497
Originally Posted by OilInDeCoil
This may seem like a very BROAD statement, but A-L-L of them dey pon shit, be it Tribe, Poison, IP (who ironically felt they had to try and trump the Tribe hype by professing they..SOLD OUT in record speed, mean while is WHO yuh know dat was able to get you registered) , to me it just comes down to how blatant the BS is as a means of how you determine if at all yuh feel like being bothered.
Oil...howdy..hope you had a time in TNT this year...

Can you tell Collin to give meh ah call or PM his number...

TIA