Credits: 15,467
IslandPeople Ind Air----XtasyReds This is either yuh family or yuh get cloned
Good Day Island People Mas Family,
I must say that I am truly disappointed in your band and the lack of customer service that was provided. Though the old adage is "never say never", I can truly say I will NEVER play mas with your band again. In the following paragraphs I cite the reasons why. EXTREMELY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE I treat mas bands with the same attitude that I treat any business that I willingly give my hard earned wages to. And when I pay approximately 500 US dollars for a costume I expect to be treated with respect and to speak to mas band staff that have consistent and accurate information regarding my costume and overal logistics of the band. What I did experience were staff that provided conflicting information, unmannerly staff and staff that seemed not to care at all (utter apathy) Ex.#1 I paid the balance of my costume costs via Money Gram by the Fast Trak deadline set by your band. The money was not picked up for at least two weeks. Which caused my record to show that I still had an outstanding balance on the Mirage costume I registered for. I telephoned your mas camp to inquire about the status of my Money Gram wire only to be told by a rude young lady (and I use the term losely) Tiffany. Tiffany rudely told me I still had a balance and that I needed to phone back later to speak to the person who handled online transactions. Not only did Tiffany not appreciate that I was calling from another country but she seemed like I was wasting her precious time. I now had to telephone another Tiffany. Who then informed me that the IP representative, Anthony Moses who was meant to collect all funds was on vacation. Why would this individual be on holiday the week of the Fast Trak deadline!!!! That makes absolutely no sense. After 2 phone calls to Tiffany, I was assured that she would rectify this situation and I would be all set when I arrived at the mas camp. She also told me to arrive at the mas camp at 2 PM on February 14 to collect my costume. Ex.#2 I was in shock to learn that the mas camp would not be open until 5 PM on February 14 when I arrived at 1.30 PM to collect my costume. This, on a day that is meant to be spent with loved ones. Not taking time out of my holiday to go to a distribution center that was not open yet. Ex.#3 I got through the Fast Trak line with no issues later on that evening. Only to open the box containing my costume and find a bra that could the entire continent of Africa could fit in and a waist band that was clearly meant for my 8 year old Goddaughter and not for me. I reviewed my registration card and confirmed that the correct sizes were written. The woman that was assisting me with the collection of my costume suggested that I stuff the bra with approximately 6 shoulder pads. Now how can that be comfortable! This woman also wanted to argue with me about the size of the bra. Secondly, when I was reviewing my costume checklist, I noticed that she had already checked off that I received my goody bag. Now that was news to me because there was no goody bag provided. When questioned about the goody bag, I was told that I must come back on February 17 to collect the goody bag. I don't know where you find your staff but a hint for next year; do not employ LIARS! It diminishes your already waning credibility. Ex. #4 It is now Saturday, and I have been to your mas camp several times since Wednesday February 14. I am at your camp to collect my goody bag and attempt one more time to collect the correct sized waist band. To my surprise, I am told that I am receiving a goody RAG not a goody BAG!!!!! And you may think this a trivial gripe but I beg to differ. I am a person who majored in Business in university. And I know that the cost of the costume package included the cost of the to be provided goody BAG. So when I did not receive a good BAG but a goody RAG containing 2 whistles, a small container of sunblock and a substandard lip gloss, I was not happy at all. And to add insult to injury when I complained, another young lady advised me that I should not complain because I know I will be back in Island People Mas next year. Is it your policy to employ the CHEEKIEST people you can find in Trinidad!!!!!!! WASTING THE TIME OF YOUR MASQUERADERS Now, I know that things do sometimes happen to create delays in a product distribution. I can understand this but what I cannot tolerate is total disregard for my time. I wasted 9 hours of my holiday in your distribution center and more than that in transit walking back and forth to have my costume issues recified. Why is that I had to spend all of this time to get a great costume (as promised by IP)? This is extreme incosideration. Ex.#5 On Feb. 14, I get to your mas camp at 2 PM, as advised to do by Tiffany, only to find the mas camp closed. I return at 8 PM to stand and wait for about 45 mins in a venue that is obviously not big enough to accommodate the number of masqueraders in your band. Only to be given a too small/too big costume. I am then advised to go to Stone Street for alterations on Feb 15 and go to the distribution center on Feb 16 for exchange of bra and return to the distribution center on Feb 17 for the goody BAG. Ex. #6 On Feb 15, a fellow masquerader and I arrive at the Stone Street location for alterations. We sit in line for over an hour and a half to be told that there is nothing that can be done for our MASSIVE bras and there is no material to accomadate increasing the size of my waist band. We sat there with nothing but some corn curls and some warm water for an hour and a half when we could have been enjoying a meal with friends or a day at the beach. We are told by the IP seamstresses to return to the distribution center for our problems to be resolved. Ex.#7 On Feb 15, my colleague and I stand outstide of the distribution center for another hour just to have to force our ways inside to BEG for bras that fit appropriately. Once inside, we wait for another hour or so. At this point I receive a bra that fits better than the last one but still not my correct size. At this point, we walk an hour back to our accomodations. Ex.#8 On Feb 16, my colleague and I are once again are at the distribution center to attempt to switch the pieces of our costume that still do not fit correctly. Now, we are told after waiting for about an 1.5 hours that we have to return on Feb 17 to attempt to switch the pieces of costume because we could not be accomodated on this date. This is contrary to what we were told on Feb 14. Can you imagine how frustrated we were at this point!
Ex.#9
On Feb 17, we return to the distribution center at this point excited because we believe that we will recieve the correct sized costume and our long anticipated goody BAG. We once again have to beg for entrance into the distribution center. Once inside we spoke to one of your nicest employees, a young cordial man by the name of Richard. That is one of the few kudos you will receive from me. He was polite and should serve as a great example for the rest of the brutes you have employed. But to my disappointment, I recieve a goody RAG and and am told that I have to take two waist bands and return to the Stone Street alteration center on Sunday, February 18. Now, I refused to do this because I was attending a day time fete and refused to waste another portion of my holiday on this nonsense. At this point we were at the distribution center for over an hour once again. Your creative director, Marlon, who is also a very hospitable gentleman agreed to meet me at the fete the following day with my altered waist band. Needless to say, I did not receive my waistband on Sun Feb 19. Ex. #10 On Carnival Monday, I am apprehensive about recieving my waistband. My friends and I walk through the band searching for Marlon. After a half hour, FINALLY I receive my waist band. ILL FITTING/POOR QUALITY MAS Now, carnival is mas, is it not?! After wasting valuable time that I cannot get back and being treated like a dog begging for a bone, I expect this costume to be fantastic! I was sorely disappointed by the fact that my Mirage backline costume was far from a quality product. Ex.#11 Now I already mentioned that my original bra was five times the size of my breast. Well, what I have not mentioned is that the replacement bra I received was a better fit but this bra was about twice my bra size with sewn in shoulder pads. Its underwire was already coming out when I received it and some of the applique was coming off. The bra itself was made poorly. The left cup was bigger than the other and the bra was built in a way that may my breasts look like those of a woman who had given birth to triplets and breast fed for a year (mind you, I have no children) and my breasts have no problem standing when I wear no bra. I thought this was a problem that I bared alone but when I assembled with my section, I noticed that the entire section of Mirage had on bras that looked a (pardon my ghetto speech) HOT MESSS! The clear bra straps that were provided were very cheap and broke when I was on the road Carnival Tuesday. By the time I was finished playing mas, the under wire in both cups were gone! Ex.#12 Since we are on the subject of bras. Why is it that a woman who wears a 34C is put in a Large bra? I would be understanding if this Large bra was one that had a similar fit to other large sports bra. But IP's version of Large was one that would find a Rhinosaurus. Next year, when you are creating your sizing charts, can you please refer to some standard charts that fall within reasonable expectations of masqueraders? I mention this example, because 90% of the lovely ladies playing mas with Island People Mas that I encountered on my numerous trips to your band house and distribution center had issues with the sizes of the bras you provided. It is not favourable to be in a sweet wine with a man on Carnival Monday or Tuesday, and have to be holding your breasts like you are in some Girls Gone Wild video. It is also not a good feeling to look back at your carnival pictures and realize your breast look extremely unattractive when ordinarily, they are your best assets. Ex.#13 Now I know i have beaten to death the subject of my waistband but I believe it deserves mention again. It was too small. And it was put together in a manner that it was falling apart after a few wines and a sit down on Carnival Tuesday. I can understand if the thing started to fall apart after wearing it for both Monday and Tuesday but I only received it on Carnival Monday. ROAD EXPERIENCE Island People Mas up to Carnival Monday had not impressed me in the slightest. But I assumed that the road would be the sweetest thing since the discovery of sugar cane. Well, true to the previous examples, it was a disappointment just the same. I am a previous Tribe, Barbarossa, Legends and Posion masquerader. I understand that you are trying to provide a service that incorporates fun on the road but I was not impressed with the "experience" that you lot provided. I am a firm believer that it does not matter if you play mas in a roll of tissue paper, once you are with friends and have a few good drinks, you will have a blast. Ex.#14 Why was there only one Mobile Bathroom truck? And to mention that it was behind God's back?! Can we mention the smell that reeked from them? The stench could be sniffed out from a mile away. Once I smelled that pee pee truck, I took to urinating on the streets of Port-of-Spain. If you are going to provide such a service, can you at least ensure that you are renting port-a-pottys from a reputable company and make sure they do not provide portable lavatories that were obviously used at Insomnia, Beach House, Eyes Wide Shut and then brought not cleaned to Island People Mas for use! Its called quality control! The thought just turns my belly. Ex.#15 Let us talk about food and rest area now. Having played with Tribe in 2005, I had the joy of relaxing while eating my food. Not feeling rushed. Why is it that playing mas with your band I had to endure eating and walking or sitting on the pavement whilst eating? I am not a dog, nor a slave, nor a public labourer and I DO NOT expect to eat in this manner! It is unattractive. Can I also recommend that you find a new caterer for your breakfast? I am a vegetarian. So I assumed that the cheese sandwiches that were adverised for breakfast would be quite tasty. Was I mistaken! Cheese sandwiches and CHEESE PASTE sandwiches are two different things! While I don't mind a good cheese paste sandwich here and there, it is not something I would be serving first thing in the morning to people who are drinking. Because I do not eat salt fish or turkey, I had no choice but to eat the cheese paste sandwich that was given to me. That was the most disgusting cheese paste I have eaten in my life. It tasted (and resembled) gound up yellow chalk with water on top of it. On Carnival Tuesday I had to go to KFC in Independence Square to satisfy my hunger. And can I ask, do you feed your dj's? Because one of your more popular djs was asking me for chicken when I walked past him. Ex.#16 If you are going to provide a rest area, can you make sure you are provide snacks and shade? What sense does it make to herd us into Jenny's Car Park to provide not even a cup of water? Thanks for the tassa drums but a cold bottle of water and some shade would have been a damn site better than dust and lack of chairs in Jenny's Car Park. Ex.#17 Alcoholic beverages are a must for me on the road. They enhance my carnival. This is obviously not an opinion of which you share. I drink white rum and I was absolutely livid when several of your drinks truck ran out of white rum not even half way into the day. Your drinks trucks are too high for a woman of my height and for many of the men that I observed attempting to get drinks. Your drinks trucks were moving extremely too fast and a good number of your bar staff were rude and not suited to serve your masqueraders. One woman, refused to serve masqueraders when we attempted get drinks after crossing the judging point at the Savannah. Why would you refuse to give water to someone who was just giving thier all for Island People's benefit on the road?! Ex. #18 Please make sure your djs have the proper equipment! The first music truck in your band, had cds that were clearly scratched and was in need of better speakers. Not to mention thier mixing of music was sub-standard. Try and make sure that all of your djs are of the caliber of Xcaliber. They did a gret job of keeping the crowd entertained.
Ex.#19
Train some of your djs in customer service. Whilst waiting at the junction where Tribe and IP were wating for sometime, a dj made an announcement that drinks truck #17 was out of drinks and to please stop begging for the people's drinks. EXCUSE THE HECK out of me but as far as I am concerned, the cost of drinks and food are included in the price of the costume package we paid for. And if I want to drink myself into a coma, I should be free to do so. I dont ever expect to hear someone employed by IP to tell masqueraders to stop begging for the people's drinks. SUMMARY To sum up my review of your band, I am not impressed. I will not spend my money to play with your band nor will I recommend any of my colleagues to play mas with you. I plan on sharing my experience with others and I will go as far to dissuade others from even considering Island People Mas as a carnival option. I think you are a young band with a brilliant artistic vision but that vision is not enough to compensate for the many areas of service you are lacking in. Please bare in mind, that I heard horrible reviews about your band from friends of mine that played with you last year but I believe in giving businesses a chance before I write them off completely. I hope you do not think that pretty costumes will continue to bring you success because it will not. There comes a point when a pretty costume is not going to appease for the negative experiences that one goes through. And I now stand by the slogan of another popular band that is fairly new in Trinidad "The costume is free" You really should take lessons from other bands in terms of service and product. When I pay for something, whether it is a costume or designer bag, I expect a certain level of service and product quality. You fell ten miles short of providing either. I cannot express my disappointment in your organization and I hope you take this letter and others like mine to IMPROVE your band next year. Presently, my opinion of your band is that you really do not care about the experience of your masqueraders once you get thier hard earned wages. That will not harm your band's reputation and any businesses associated with it. The Good: The music was great. Some of your costumes were really gorgeous (Sacred Sands, Goddess and Defenders, Soleil Brulee). Your artistic vision for the past two years has been wonderful The Bad: You do not seem to be able to cater to the number of masqueraders in your band A bigger venue is needed to accomodate the size of your band The Ugly: Your customer service leaves a bitter taste You are disorganized (There is no reason why you should not have identified an assembly point prior to Carniva Saturday) If you advertise a product, provide it (do not provide excuses or lackluster apologies, such as the one in your Thank You Thank You Thank You email newsletter)
Last edited by Picong; 03-21-2007 at 09:08 AM.. |
Ladies Hold Unto Yuh Man
Credits: 126
Credits: 5,898
Thats one LONG ASSED letter.
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
Credits: 1,953
well she reaLLY told them why she mad.....but thanx for the heads up ppl...i kno who not to play mas with now
"Racism is not an excuse to not do the best you can." - Arthur Ashe "I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain." Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987) "Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman." Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993) |
Livin' life in High Def..
Credits: 148
a
Last edited by Picong; 03-21-2007 at 10:35 AM.. Reason: 1 |
Livin' life in High Def..
Credits: 148
Duh!
I was givin respect to meh gyul!! ![]() And yes, hunny, yuh deh ALL man ![]() Last edited by westndnbeauty; 03-21-2007 at 10:04 AM.. |
yes I am, could u also check yuh PM box
Reppin' TnT
Credits: 4,756
All I got to say is DAMNN!!!
This individual really spoke up and thats how it should be. |
Credits: 88,093
A goodie "Rag"
Stuff her bra with "6 shoulder pads".. What you complaining for, "you'll be back next year"... this was great, ![]() |
Credits: 56,869
that is actually xreds letter. I don't anybody else could sit and write one like that. |

Aye! Que bueno, chica!! I guess you did a serious mental offload ent??
I was givin respect to meh gyul!!