Credits: 2,893
Introducing Legacy for TNT 2005...
By Essiba Small
Five-time Band of the Year champion, Legends, is no more. Yesterday, Legends bandleader Mike Antoine announced the birth of Legacy, a band he will lead without former Legends partner Ian McKenzie. Antoine made the announcement yesterday at the National Library in Port-of-Spain, and insisted that the change was a natural progression. “When you are a part of a family, you grow up, become a big man and move out with your own family,” he said. “This is what this is.” Antoine was quick to dismiss the notion that war had developed between himself and McKenzie, who was notably absent, over a controversial section in their 2004 presentation Freedom. The section, which featured masqueraders, including McKenzie’s wife, wearing pasties on their breasts, sparked angry reviews from members of the public. The furore over it forced Antoine to make a public apology. In an interview with the Guardian after the heavy public criticism, Antoine vehemently denied he had anything to do with the nudity. “I want to assure the public that the next time they see Legends, there won’t be that problem,” he had said. “I will do something to get them out.” Yesterday, Antoine said he and McKenzie remained friends and that he would help him if he ever thought of bringing out his own band. “I mean, we spoke up to last night,” Antoine said. “I am the godfather of his child.” Asked why McKenzie was not at the news conference, he said: “Because he probably didn’t want to be.” However, when asked to comment yesterday, McKenzie expressed surprise that his former partner had launched a new band. “Oh, is that so?” he asked. “Well, I didn’t know anything about that.” He also denied that he had spoken to Antoine, but said he wished him well. “People does get married and get divorced, so that’s life,” McKenzie said. “I would be having my own press conference soon to let people know what I am doing for 2005, because you just giving me the news.” The 2005 launching of Legacy is set for October 16. It will feature 18 sections with all-inclusive sections and mobile rest rooms. Antoine said costumes would be designed for the young, old and even children. Legacy also intends to retain brass band Triple X, Sound FX, DJ Laloo and Franco, along with its kings and queens. The band is also looking for a new location for its mas camp. ©2003-2004 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited |
"Oh.....is that so?"
"People does get married and then divorced." Dayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyum. Poor Tbaje. ![]() |
Credits: 3,026
Closet Exhibitionist
Credits: 3,308
Ian is definitely bringing out his own band...I was told it will be called Genesis, the costumes will be a continuation of this years carnival.... naked, naked, and more naked...I know one of the muscle women everybody was talking about
Last edited by Dancer; 05-12-2004 at 02:49 AM.. |
Mad Mas Villain
Credits: 309
Interesting....
i still won't be playing wid Legends Version 2.0 ![]() |
Credits: 1,038
action start early this year legacy vs genisis
hmmmm |
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,208
Wow I feel bad that they allowed carnival to come between their friendship/partnership. Then McKenzie expressed surprise that his former partner had launched a new band and to read and find out about the divorce in Newpapers. That's even more f@cked up. Anyway life goes on and you can always make new friends and form new partnerships. :) This part I also found very interesting "it will feature 18 sections with all-inclusive sections and mobile rest rooms. Antoine said costumes would be designed for the young, old and even children." ![]()
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
Credits: 2,698
Credits: 41,525
Those who like McKenzie start yuh regimen of Creatine, Andro and prepare to bench press 300lbs a day.
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,208
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
Closet Exhibitionist
Credits: 3,308
... |
Credits: 41,525
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Credits: 16,205
But question: Who will Power X Four pinch their costumes off now? |

Wow I feel bad that they allowed carnival to come between their friendship/partnership. Then McKenzie expressed surprise that his former partner had launched a new band and
Anyway life goes on and you can always make new friends and form new partnerships. :)