Old 05-06-2005, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Exclamation International Festival of Arts and Ideas

I'm just sharing this information because it may give some people additional resources in your community/state that you may be able to tap into or collaborate with.

Arts & Ideas invites you to join the party as the
Festival celebrates its tenth terrific year!

Circle the dates
From June 10 - 25, the Festival brings the world's best minds and brightest stars to your doorstep for sixteen fabulous days of song and dance, wit and wisdom, conversation and controversy.

website, www.artidea.org, for programs, press, pictures and more.

Saturday June 11th 2005 Traffik the band will be performing this year on the New Haven Green for Free.

Sorry I have no fugly carnival costumes to post for allyuh to laugh or look at. The kiddies carnival costumes however are made and provided to the kids from the inner city to participate in the street festival.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 05-10-2005, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Divine Fox

We will try & make it Pebbs...

Old 05-10-2005, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by Divine Fox

Cool if you're family with Hayden then you'll find me in the middle of all the madness at Yale.

Caribbean TRAFFIK Jam
“Look the band coming!” is the cry that announces the energetic and irresistible Caribbean TRAFFIK Jam. The top musical ensemble from Trinidad & Tobago, Traffik sends you to the islands with pulsating rhythms, horns, vocals, and steel drum—a delightful, danceable blend of calypso/soca, reggae and salsa. http://www.artidea.org/index.cgi/830
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 05-10-2005 at 04:47 PM..
Old 06-12-2005, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Shurwayne Winchester and his band Traffik did a great job representing Soca last night. I don't know what it is about this particular innovative concert. But I have to give Yale, the sponsors, traffik and venue For some reason these soca artists seem to give this concert 200% when they have to get part of this very conservative diverse crowd engaging. Some of whom might not know any thing about soca. It was one of my best 90 min soca workout's at a concert. The Iron for Dead or Alive never sound so sweet. Lawd, the fine Trini Doctor that got on stage and grab the mic from Shurwayne and starting singing LOOK DE TRIBE COMING!!! They closed the show with it. By then they had people bouncing and jumping doing a 180 degree turns in the air to it. Now I know why Traffik is in very high demand and on tour like crazy this year. Their game plan is very tight this year. The crowd got to hear the soca flavor of Candy shop,This 1 Thing It was such a site to see again some of these 60 year olds in the crowd who were also waving and bouncing to soca. It makes me love and appreciate our culture some much more. I can't wait for carnival 2006 now. Oh yeah I forgot my camera again but I think my girlfriend got pictures of "mainstream folks" with water bottles singing "we want water". So whoever said that we needed to "water down soca" for "mainstream audience" to enjoy it is not true.

SOME SELECTED PRESS QUOTES. I can't wait to see and read the lastest press reviews about them.

“A staggering smorgasbord of international talent, imagination and intellect”
Hartford Courant, June 9, 2005

The undeniable High-Profile Arts Event of the Year in New Haven, when the Elm City will be visited by theater groups, dance ensembles, musicians of diverse stylings, performance artists, poets, visual artists, chefs and , critics and thinkers, children's entertainers, and more nearly 300 events featuring groups and individuals from around the world. The Advocate Summer Music Guide

Central to the month of June will be the International Festival of Arts Ideas in New Haven, taking place from June 10thru 25.& This is an internationally acclaimed event in the fields of theater, music, dance and visual art, as well as many of today&s leading thinkers, writers and speakers.New England Entertainment Digest , May 2005
Now 10 years old, this sprawling interdisciplinary series gets an A-plus for clever, thought-provoking programming. The New York Times, May 1, 2005

Salman Rushdie, Michael Feinstein, the best of Bollywood, a coroner’s panel investigating the “Death of the Book,” and the “Cat in the Hat” on trial are just a few of the attention-grabbing programs scheduled for the 10th annual Arts & Ideas Festival in New Haven. The Boston Globe, April 27, 2005.

On June 10, the sound of drums – hundreds and hundreds of them snaking across the city and culminating in an enormous concert on the Green – will open New Haven's tenth annual International Festival of Arts and Ideas, a bonanza of cultural expression and showcase of tremendous artistic creativity. Yale Daily News, April 22, 2005

“The idea of the festival is to present many different voices,” explained {Festival director} Miller, “and I think ‘Constantinople’ is a perfect metaphor for the festival because it’s about diversity and it will make people think, but also the music is incredible.” New Haven Register, February 4, 2005

The festival brings a whole new world of culture to Connecticut. Where else could people go to expand their theatrical, musical and dance experience by getting a taste of what is happening around the globe…or stateside? Where else could the many ethnic communities in the state see such a rich assemblage of first-class artists from the countries of their heritage?.... The festival excites, engages and empowers. And that is something to celebrate, and support. Hartford Courant, December 12, 2004

Celebrating its 10th anniversary, this daring and eclectic festival of performing and visual arts, provocative discussions, outdoor entertainment, street fun, and an all-city carnival turns New Haven into a cultural playground every summer.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 06-12-2005 at 01:55 PM..
Old 06-12-2005, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,620
Originally Posted by Divine Fox

how come she bann ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Last edited by Oneshot; 06-12-2005 at 10:39 AM..
Old 06-12-2005, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by Oneshot
how come he bann ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Wow I did not even notice that one. I wonder what happen now?
Old 06-13-2005, 12:28 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
Wow I did not even notice that one. I wonder what happen now?

absolutely

no comment

Old 06-13-2005, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by ImanNiteMare

absolutely

no comment

LOL ok
Old 06-13-2005, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
De original night nurse!

Credits: 25
where is this? in NYC?
Old 06-13-2005, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally Posted by 1sexyvincy
where is this? in NYC?
No it's not in NYC. The International cultural festival is in New Haven Connecticut downtown Green/Yale University area. They have over 100,000 people that attend their events every year.
Old 06-30-2005, 03:54 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,758
yuh neva tell mih!!!

nex time it have anyting in CT please pm me!!
Old 06-30-2005, 05:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Unhappy

Originally Posted by sharkbait
yuh neva tell mih!!!

nex time it have anyting in CT please pm me!!
Oh gosh sharkgirl ah bout that. I thought that was your prom night so that's why I slipped up. I have to introduce you to the other CT folks on here. http://www.caribbeantraffikjam.com/c...st/default.asp

The CT lime was cool. I was busy drinking and eating folks food there I also ran into a couple of folks that were all in Trinidad for carnival. I have to check my inbox for the dates but Hartford having Rupee and Elephant man soon. So I can send yuh that info.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 06-30-2005 at 05:18 PM..