Old 03-14-2006, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,875
Info for a cropover virgin

I'm sure I could search a million threads and websites but I'm too lazy and want to book my flight today.

Whats the fete schedule look like? I can only do 5 days so whats the most important 5?

What are my options for mas bands? Anyone have links? Who are imixers playing with?

J'ouvert band?

Where are the best places to stay?
Old 03-14-2006, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,108
ditto. im making the trip and i need to plan from now.

btw missy, what the hell happened?
Old 03-14-2006, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Lady Slaughter
ditto. im making the trip and i need to plan from now.

btw missy, what the hell happened?
Is same thing I was going to ask you. check ya pm in a few
Old 03-14-2006, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 5,901
The most important 5 days are:

Thursday - Glow
Friday - Foreday morning (our jouvet)
Saturday - Insomnia / 10 to 10
Sunday - Cohoblopot
Monday - KADOOMENT
Tuesday - Fly home

You need to stay in the south coast - One straight road to town, beach, fete, spring garden.

Does that help?
Old 03-14-2006, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)

www.Kadooment.com is the site everyone uses for the info about mas bands, fetes, etc. But if we're lucky Miss ST will come through with pic of px4 (www.powerxfour.com) thats the band we mainly play with.

For jouvet, I just jump behind something and keep it moving, but then they also have a fete on the same day down at Tims on de highway, last yr Krosfyah played there while the rest of us was getting down and dirty gine down de road.
Old 03-14-2006, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)

Thanks, that helps plenty SSL. Could you tell me the name of the area (southcoast)?
Old 03-14-2006, 01:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wuk Up Novice

Credits: 1,200
Also check Baje Int'l (http://www.baje-intl.com) another costume band. Last year they had a predominately Trini section. I know I had a ball on the road w/ them .

As for accommodations, definitely look at the parish of Christ Church...
Old 03-14-2006, 01:54 PM   #8 (permalink)

Worthing, Rockley, Hastings - thats the general area, they have atm machines, banks, 2 supermarkets, 1 mini mart, lots of beach, internet cafe, Chefette's, Barbeque Barn, Chinese food, Bubba's Sports Bar, Lucky Horseshoe (killer fish cakes), Club Extreme, px4 mas camp, beauty salons, gas stations and duty free shopping along this road.

If you go further up in the direction of Miami beach (on the bus stop it will say "away from town" you will find St Lawrence Gap which is another local hotspot with various restaurants, bars and clubs.
Old 03-14-2006, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SwEeTsOcAlAdY
Worthing, Rockley, Hastings - thats the general area, they have atm machines, banks, 2 supermarkets, 1 mini mart, lots of beach, internet cafe, Chefette's, Barbeque Barn, Chinese food, Bubba's Sports Bar, Lucky Horseshoe (killer fish cakes), Club Extreme, px4 mas camp, beauty salons, gas stations and duty free shopping along this road.

If you go further up in the direction of Miami beach (on the bus stop it will say "away from town" you will find St Lawrence Gap which is another local hotspot with various restaurants, bars and clubs.
Sounds like its laid out a lot more tourist-that-don't-have-a-clue-friendly than Trini.

thanks.
Old 03-14-2006, 02:14 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
Sounds like its laid out a lot more tourist-that-don't-have-a-clue-friendly than Trini.

thanks.

No, everything is spaced out, they're not next door to each other, but its just on the same stretch of road which is worthing main road.

To see everything that I've just described would be at least a 45 minute walk, depending on how fast you can walk in the hot sun!
Old 03-14-2006, 02:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Whatever Lola wants...

Credits: 465
I was still trying to decide where I'm going this summer. Maybe I'll see you guys there!
Old 03-14-2006, 02:20 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SwEeTsOcAlAdY
No, everything is spaced out, they're not next door to each other, but its just on the same stretch of road which is worthing main road.

To see everything that I've just described would be at least a 45 minute walk, depending on how fast you can walk in the hot sun!
Gotcha, but that still sounds pretty friendly to someone who doesn't know their way around no?

I ent worried about getting lost tho, I finding Pebbles and jumping on she back.
Old 03-14-2006, 02:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 916
Looks like Crop Over's gonna be a PPPAAARRRTTTYYY again ...
Old 03-14-2006, 02:59 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Floflo
Looks like Crop Over's gonna be a PPPAAARRRTTTYYY again ...
Woiiiiiii
Old 03-14-2006, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)

Ok, I'm booked Wen July 26th (arrive after 8pm) to Tues August 1st -dunno how i went from 5 to 7 days : is allyuh fault fuh telling me I cyah miss this and cyah miss that.

Hubby not coming so I'll be looking to borrow somebody hornaman