Credits: 522
Is it important to you
what place yuh band come on de road/savannah? I personally doh care we could come last as long as i enjoy myself on the road thats all that matters! the only problem i would have if the bar run outta drinks and we have plenty of hours still to go on the road
Credits: 27
hhmmm No.. not really..but I do still check to see what place we do come in. The most important thing to me is that I've made it to play, I've jumped up.. crossed the stage and enjoyed myself. So many people don't get the opportunity to engage is such an exciting event.. I say a blessing and a thanks to the Creator every time I reach the end of the stage, that I was allowed the opportunity to make it there to "like myself"......
Credits: 253
Dragon Lizard
Credits: 33
Credits: 1,260
I us foriegners doh even get that because we are not in Trini for the fete. I could care less. It is nice to know but not a major factor. |
/$\
Credits: 17,004
nope
Credits: 268
ONCE UPON A TIME BAND OF THE YEAR TITLE WAS A BIG DEAL IN TRINIDAD, SAME WAY ROAD MARCH AND SOCA MONARCH IS TODAY, ONCE IT EVEN HAD A PEOPLE'S CHOICE WHERE PEOPLE IN THE STANDS USED TO VOTE FOR THEIR BAND OF THE YEAR. WHILE IT DOES NOT MATTER TO YOU GUYS IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO BAND LEADERS , DESIGNERS AND PEOPLE WHO LOVE MAS. ITS ONLY WHEN THE TERM "FUN BAND" A TERM I SWEAR WAS INTRODUCED IN THE 90'S BY YOUNG HARTS AND BARBAROSSA THE SAME LOT WHO MADE "THE FORMULA FAMOUS" THAT "BAND OF THE YEAR" SEEMED TO LOOSE IMPORTANCE AMOUNG SOME MASQUERADERS . WITH THE INTRODUCTION OF "FUN BANDS" THE "FORMULA" TOOK OVER AND CREATIVITY AND ORIGINALITY FELL TO THE SIDE. IT DOES MATTER TO ME WHAT MY BAND COMES ON THE ROAD AND IT DOES TO A LOT OF YOU ....SOME OF YOU JUST DONT KNOW IT .....THINK, WILL YOU PLAY IN IP OR TRIBE OR POISON IF THEY WERE A SMALL BAND OR NOT POPULAR? TO ME BEING IN A BAND THAT WAS NOT IN THE TOP 5 BANDS FOR BAND OF THE YEAR IS LIKE GETTING THE SECTION IN THE BACK WITH THE PEE PEE TRUCK AND FAR FROM THE MUSIC. ![]() |
Imix Biggest Freak
Credits: 1,459
I agree