can u handle me?
Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 125
Trinidad Carnival:
What are some of the things you expect from a band that you are playing with? what would you like to receive in your costume bag (other than your costume of course)? What should and All Inclusive Section/s provide? Do you prefer Live brass band or Dj? What are some of the things you DISLIKE with bands? Please respond intelligently... no offense but I'm doing some research and need Honest, Constructive answers ... thanks......
The most important thing I expect from a band, apart from a decent costume, is a high level of security. I have played with Harts, Legends and Poison in my time and while Legends may not necessarily be my favourite band to play with, their security is without a doubt the best. It is annoying as hell to have people who didn't pay for a costume to be jumping up inside my band.
I personally prefer a mixture of live band and DJ's on the road, but it is so much better when the trucks are linked up and playing the same songs - none of that "wha' song we wining to"? As for All Inclusive sections - they are nothing but a rip off, unless you want to drink rum til yuh die! ![]() |
Re: Imixers - please answer this Carnival Band Question
but honestly everything I wanted in a mas band has been provided by Pleasurescarnival the only complaint I had was the music trucks. with 1 truck in front & 1 behind us playing different songs it was hard to distinguish which song to dance to but I do prefer a live band on the road to a dj. |
Focus & on Task
Credits: 245
Re: Re: Imixers - please answer this Carnival Band Question
I think Pleasures need more guys in the section too much oman. I'll never be able to get all my homeboys to register early. Yeah also knowing what to do and actually implementing what you promise to do effectively are also two different things as well.![]()
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL Last edited by Pebbles362436; 05-24-2004 at 02:56 PM.. |
Credits: 4,444
My desires are a pretty costume, great vibes, great music and excellent security.
I prefer dj to live bands on the road. All-Inclusive needs; rum, bottled water, great food, lots of free stuff (like sunblock, t-shirts), even better security than regaular sections, decent people, I could go on and on forever. |
Mad Mas Villain
Credits: 41
The most important thing is the costume, then its security and quality of the sound system/ band...
i prefer a mixture of DJ's and live band on the road.. Legends no question have the best security and Poison should take heed and take notes goodie bags etc i aint to fussed about but it is good to get a t-shirt for Carnival Monday wid de costume i also like plenty ladies in my section ![]() |
Credits: 313
most important is security.. after my first poison experience I was not impressed... people jumping up in yuh band why pay near 300 dollars for a costume to have people just storming..
next is music... why bother play mas with people like dj Hurricane ![]() |
can u handle me?
hmmmmmm
this is interesting....
anymore views? or want/needs?
can u handle me?
Re: hmmmmmm
ideas what YOU want to see or enjoy in a Carnival band .......
Credits: 268
Re: Re: hmmmmmm
YUH COULDHANDLE THAT ![]() |
Credits: 3,828
After some thought
![]() I agree with Baje on the security issues. And I agree with Ampy on Pleasures Carnival. I like the idea of the all-inclusive package, you don't have to carry too much money with you and everything is more or less at your fingertips. Costumes must be of good quality and substance, meaning go with the damn theme and don't crumble like .50 cent glue was used to assemble it. I don't want to pay $300 for a costume only to have it fall apart before Carnival Monday. The number of sections should be limited man. This 40+ sections in one band is B/S. I'm not going to get into my 3-mile sojurn to the "Pee Truck" ![]()
Focus & on Task
Credits: 245
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL |
can u handle me?
good ideas
1. what is the adequate number of sections/people that a band should have? 2. Back to the 'goodie bag'..what would you like to receive? 3. Goodie bag again - What would you not like to rceive? 4. If you were offered a group discount, how many people should the 'group' consist of? 5. How important is the 'wee wee truck'? 6. How many 'wee wee' trucks should there be and in which sections??????
#14 (permalink) | |||||
Credits: 3,828
The bag itself was nice (I had a drawstring knapsack from PleasuresCarnival), Pocket mirror, cup, samples of local products (that Andrews was helpful oui), (Let's see what else) Liquor samples, T-shirt (if it's not included in the Monday gear) That's all I can think of for now. Oh, I also got nail polish from Pleasures, that was cool.
during Carnival time than Manhattan but it's a hassle not to get any part of the costume to touch God-knows-what. At least with the truck you can put your costume in a safe location, do what yuh gotta do, then fix yourself in the provided mirror before going back out again.
Last edited by Shandy 2.0; 05-28-2004 at 02:38 PM.. |
|||||
Credits: 106
Re: Imixers - please answer this Carnival Band Question
What are some of the things you expect from a band that you are playing with?
I expect(prefer) the band to be organized an professional from the distribution of costumes to the assembly on Carnival Tuesday to the security on the road. what would you like to receive in your costume bag (other than your costume of course)? An information sheet on when and where to meet, the road march route, and any other info that is relevant to the days activities. What should and All Inclusive Section/s provide? Snacks, drinks, and water only...no big meals. Do you prefer Live brass band or Dj? DJ with artist or two on mic, no live brass band. What are some of the things you DISLIKE with bands? Many are too big and too much standing around waiting to cross the stage. I dont like a big hassle getting my costume and I dont like it to not include all that I ordered. I think the wee wee trucks are an absolute must and a great inovation. |

but honestly everything I wanted in a mas band has been provided by Pleasurescarnival
the only complaint I had was the music trucks. with 1 truck in front & 1 behind us playing different songs it was hard to distinguish which song to dance to
I think Pleasures need more guys in the section too much oman.
Yeah also knowing what to do and actually implementing what you promise to do effectively are also two different things as well.