Old 03-22-2006, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 116
I wanna put CARIBBEAN STAR on blast!

How could I forget this?!? As I was shopping for my ticket for carnival next year, it popped into my mind....

So going to tnt for da carnival, I booked my ticket through an online agent....AA to BGI connect to Carribean Star/Sun airlines which is supposed to take me into POS. So we (AA) landed in BGI at 4:40 exact....by the time we walked over to the Caribbean Star airlines counter to check in for our connecting flight, we were told that since we were late (apparently we were supposed to check in 1 hour prior to takeoff) our seats had been filled and there were no flights leaving for trinidad that night. Summed up, as connecting passengers, we were all stranded in BGI with luggage and tickets in hand. We were not provided with ANY sort of conveniences in terms of a pillow or even a soda. Basically, we were placed on standby and had to figure out how we were managing for da nite. Luckily for me, I have an aunt who lives in St. Phillips and I hoped over there for a shower and short night cap before having to head back to the airport at 3:00 AM to be placed on standby again for the 6:30 flight. Some were not as fortunate and I and the airport became a shelter for many passengers. The restroom being the only "shower" they had.

So that was getting to Trinidad. Returning to New York now is another story with this airline. At the POS counter, I was told by the Carribean Star representative that I had to pay for my 2nd piece of luggage. Why? Because their rules only allow for them to check in 1 piece of luggage at 50 lbs or 2 pieces at 25 lbs each. I was baffled, but didnt argue with the rep. I paid my money, acquired a receipt and I am still currently awaiting response from my travel agent as to why I had to pay returning, and not going.

So this is my story. So if anyone is thinking to travel and connect with this airline, be forewarned.

CARRIBEAN STAR, YOU'VE BEEN PUT ON BLAST ON DA BIGGEST CARRIBEAN FORUM OUT THERE!
Old 03-22-2006, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 325
I dont see the problem. You said you arrived late, which makes all the difference. If they overbooked and gave your seats away, then they would accommodate you. If you arrived late, then youre on your own with standby. Its whoever booked your tix with no transit time in between that needs to be blasted. I arrived late to check in on a Delta Flight from LGA to MIA one year, and guess what... My ass was grass. Standby, with not even a soda or pillow.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)

But thats the thing....we landed at 4:40....and by the time I got to the counter it was like 5:20.....1 hour prior to take off would entail that we needed to be there after 5:30 as the flight took off at 6:30.....and there were several who were ahead of me, no one got on that flight.
Old 03-22-2006, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 325
Originally Posted by Ms. Spicetatik
But thats the thing....we landed at 4:40....and by the time I got to the counter it was like 5:20.....1 hour prior to take off would entail that we needed to be there after 5:30 as the flight took off at 6:30.....and there were several who were ahead of me, no one got on that flight.

well yuh left di times outta your story.
Old 03-22-2006, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 993
I thought once you have one itinerary showing both legs of your flight...ie the leg that allows 2 pieces each of 50lbs, you are exempt from paying that fee. It is supposedly only if you booked both flights separately do you have to comply with the rules governing inter-caribbean flights.

Somebody rob you of $25.
Old 03-22-2006, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 41
Originally Posted by trinidarkie
I thought once you have one itinerary showing both legs of your flight...ie the leg that allows 2 pieces each of 50lbs, you are exempt from paying that fee. It is supposedly only if you booked both flights separately do you have to comply with the rules governing inter-caribbean flights.

Somebody rob you of $25.

they shouldn't have charged you....
Liat tried the same scam on the way back with us, but i showed the woman at the counter my itenerary which clearly stated what the position was...

it was then her collegue standing next to her nodded her head?
they knew well that they were supposed to take two pieces but anything to make extra money!
Old 03-22-2006, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinidarkie

Somebody rob you of $25.

how about $50 + taxes = $58!!

and thats what I thought too......
Old 03-22-2006, 03:25 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by CYPRIANNI
they shouldn't have charged you....
Liat tried the same scam on the way back with us, but i showed the woman at the counter my itenerary which clearly stated what the position was...

it was then her collegue standing next to her nodded her head?
they knew well that they were supposed to take two pieces but anything to make extra money!

but hear the next thing.....after walking away and going through my stuff, I realized that she didnt give me a receipt. So I went back to her and was like I think you forgot to give me my receipt. Now I had to wait....cause she needed to have someone bring the cash box from the back....??? that was fishy to me......you collecting cash and doing what with it, shoving it in your pocket....???
Old 03-23-2006, 06:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mad Mas Villain

Credits: 41
Originally Posted by Ms. Spicetatik
but hear the next thing.....after walking away and going through my stuff, I realized that she didnt give me a receipt. So I went back to her and was like I think you forgot to give me my receipt. Now I had to wait....cause she needed to have someone bring the cash box from the back....??? that was fishy to me......you collecting cash and doing what with it, shoving it in your pocket....???
nothing suprises me anymore....
Old 03-23-2006, 01:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
"SHHHHHHHH"

Credits: 326
Sorry to hear bout your story... I was tolled that you have to be there 2 hours before your flight.
Old 03-23-2006, 01:22 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 458
yeah i putting them on blast too

i was supposed to be here eating groundnut sugarcake and tamerind balls all now, but them late assed fackers woulda make my mommy miss her connecting flight. she done check in at vincy and them call tell them they go haffe put them on a flight the next day. so now i ent getting meh food tim tomorrow
f*ck like a porn star
baby I'm a super star
Old 03-23-2006, 01:38 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 993
Originally Posted by Vincyshotta
Sorry to hear bout your story... I was tolled that you have to be there 2 hours before your flight.
That is true but you are supposed to get on the flight once it is not closed and they do not close it 2 hours before. I have gotten on flights with 10 minutes to spare...flights already boarding all kinda ting. Most of the times they don't even open the counter before 2 hours anyway. And to make matters worse I am sure they were well aware that the flight was late.

What I am sure happened is that the flight was overbooked to begin with but instead of them taking the responsibility of housing and feeding these ppl, they give them this cock and bull sotry about the flight being delayed.

They were getting one long email in their arse from me. and the owner's email address is on the site i think..whether he reads it is another story though