Old 09-01-2008, 08:50 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 3,282
Thanks to Sesame Flyers and Borokeets for giving meh 10 minutes of display that was easy on the eyes...the rest of the time was the usual whole lot of noise and not much else.
Old 09-01-2008, 08:53 PM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 1,184
Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post
Girl I dont even have the authority to rate the parade anymore. I reach there like 3 O clock and walked around a bit while trying to feel the vibe. Then the Grenadian truck came by (which looked exciting). But i didn't jump up with them because I didn't have the will or energy to "fight" my way into the street this year.

Labor day is not my scene anymore..... before 2005 it was like a tradition to meet up with my Cousin and friends in the "90s" before heading out towards Lincoln terrace park. Now we don't even bother to see each other on that day anymore.......
Ditto for Caribana here. But I'm surprised with all the different varieties of islands' bands a lot of IMIXers from what I've read aren't that interested in Labor Day.

I don't think we have as many islands different bands/musical styles represented here like you NYCers do like Krosfyah for example or de Hatian trucks. Or Flames too. Mostly the same stuff they've been playing at fetes for months in advance.

Glad you enjoyed Grenada, de J'ouvert there I've heard many say is the best out there. But one ah dese days I go drag yuh down to Bahia with me......that is if you can handle it,lol.
Old 09-01-2008, 09:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Look into my eyes - Give me your credits

Credits: 21,339
Originally Posted by ms_socadiva View Post

remember primary school carnival back home? like when we used to make we own mas and parade each class? that better than the parkway..u aint missing ah thing...well IMO anyway!
maybe somebody else thinks different or maybe u should experience it and you will see for yourself hon!
memories oye.... in high school the best part was when we did ole mas too nuff school politics and gov't piccong :

Girl i been saying that forever but friends in yr steady asking if I coming every yr.
I have more fun at DC carnival honestly. It may be smaller but that not necessarily a bad thing

Hurt people hurt people... Try to break the cycle.
Look within yourself, value yourself and treat others with dignity.

Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 09-01-2008, 09:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Reborn!!

Credits: 1,756
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Ditto for Caribana here. But I'm surprised with all the different varieties of islands' bands a lot of IMIXers from what I've read aren't that interested in Labor Day.

I don't think we have as many islands different bands/musical styles represented here like you NYCers do like Krosfyah for example or de Hatian trucks. Or Flames too. Mostly the same stuff they've been playing at fetes for months in advance.

Glad you enjoyed Grenada, de J'ouvert there I've heard many say is the best out there. But one ah dese days I go drag yuh down to Bahia with me......that is if you can handle it,lol.

BET!!!! I am down...LOL
Old 09-01-2008, 09:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

Credits: 1,950
Originally Posted by ms_socadiva View Post

remember primary school carnival back home? like when we used to make we own mas and parade each class? that better than the parkway..u aint missing ah thing...well IMO anyway!
maybe somebody else thinks different or maybe u should experience it and you will see for yourself hon!
Damn...that sucks. I went in 98, it was fun for me. Although I was still in my culture shock phase so I didn't really get to enjoy myself. Even though allyuh complainin (not sayin allyuh lie) I'd still like to go and see...one more time. Maybe I'll reach up dey next year...maybe.
Old 09-01-2008, 09:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
ste madeline posse!

Credits: 1,950
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post

I only went Caribana a couple times too and I will never go again. I can do the fetes and what not but the parade...nah. Last time I went, I got my toes dem mash up so bad my toe nails all fell off! Never again!
Old 09-01-2008, 09:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

memories oye.... in high school the best part was when we did ole mas too nuff school politics and gov't piccong :

Girl i been saying that forever but friends in yr steady asking if I coming every yr.
I have more fun at DC carnival honestly. It may be smaller but that not necessarily a bad thing
Taj the best part of primary school parade for me was ole mas!! and then we used to be singing the calypso and ting...and gov't piccong!! steupps i will never forget meh standard 2 teacher ms, guytree nanein yo she really made us understand the true meaning of our carnival and culture!!! it was like the whole school get together and we make mas and ting but the stand 5 students always use to win band of the school and dat was not fair at all!!
Old 09-01-2008, 10:24 PM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 1,184
Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post

BET!!!! I am down...LOL
Lol....we'll see.

Originally Posted by southern chic View Post
I only went Caribana a couple times too and I will never go again. I can do the fetes and what not but the parade...nah. Last time I went, I got my toes dem mash up so bad my toe nails all fell off! Never again!

Caribana isn't that packed from what I remember that you get crushed like that. Ah hope yuh wasn't one of dese gyel walkin' into crowds wearing open toed sandals. I saw it in Bahia this year, women missing all dey damned toe-nails....and still partying.

Some ah allyuh crazy fuh wearing open toed sandals to such events,lol. You should at least wear sneakers if yuh go be in such a crowd imo.