Old 04-18-2007, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 481
I just have this urge:

to want to play some kind of mas' right now... I wish after every stressful moment in life you can press a button and you get transported to a carnival... lol
Old 04-18-2007, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Amanza Awatu!

Credits: 2,346
Originally Posted by Empressdududahlin View Post
to want to play some kind of mas' right now... I wish after every stressful moment in life you can press a button and you get transported to a carnival... lol
I am a firm believer carnival can bring world peace Yuh does hug up and dance with people you don't even know. Just imagine everybody in the United Nations playin ah mas. Russia whining back on China, Iran doing de Jumbie dance with Israel....

And everybody singing in unison..."It's the heart of love, Soca in meh veins, Soca in meh blood".
Old 04-18-2007, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
I am a firm believer carnival can bring world peace Yuh does hug up and dance with people you don't even know. Just imagine everybody in the United Nations playin ah mas. Russia whining back on China, Iran doing de Jumbie dance with Israel....

And everybody singing in unison..."It's the heart of love, Soca in meh veins, Soca in meh blood".
I always said that you know... Drop a few costumes overseas... get some SOCA, you go see dem jammin de guns like jabjabs instead of shooting dem!

But lawd, I don't know how people can be tired or sick of SOCA... LAWD it just makes a bad situation sweet! Shucks even my cat was actin up in the house a few minutes ago, I start blastin some chunes, he sit down here like he listenin'!

I sometimes catch myself havin a lil personal jam session on public transportation... I wouldn't want an imixer to have a camera phone and catch me in the act!
Old 04-18-2007, 03:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Amanza Awatu!

Credits: 2,346
I always said that you know... Drop a few costumes overseas... get some SOCA, you go see dem jammin de guns like jabjabs instead of shooting dem!

But lawd, I don't know how people can be tired or sick of SOCA... LAWD it just makes a bad situation sweet! Shucks even my cat was actin up in the house a few minutes ago, I start blastin some chunes, he sit down here like he listenin'!

I sometimes catch myself havin a lil personal jam session on public transportation... I wouldn't want an imixer to have a camera phone and catch me in the act!
Is not u alone nah. When he sings the part about "It's the heart of love". I does kinda throw meh head back and close my eyes and smile.

If you have it, play that song and sing to your self...IT'S THE HEART OF LOOOOOOOOOVE!!!!!!!! Guarantee your pores will raise.
Old 04-18-2007, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
it's in my DNA

when you find the button please share it. thanks!
Old 04-18-2007, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
where i don't want to be

Credits: 639
Originally Posted by hondurantrini View Post
u are suppose to be in the peoples training come off
Old 04-18-2007, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by hondurantrini View Post
I will... Shucks I wonder if I can try and invent it!! lol

Btw people today is Kitchener's birthday so you know what chunes I'm playing today!
http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/sh...19#post2489819

This link here www.ethnomusic.podomatic.com/ have some great vintage calypso and soca... Scroll down the middle and look for a jouvert session... also the music overall from the french to Afro-spanish is beautiful!

chiney eyes- thank you for the link up wit de chune!
Old 04-23-2007, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 27

Gyal.... I have to tell u this. Friday, while tidying my office...I had the window open and I was blastin the ole time Sparrow chunes. The stray cats outside came up by the window and sit themselves down and didn't move for ah whole hour!!!! No lie!!! It was sooooo cute. And the funny thing is, when the Sparrow chunes ended, they got up and left!!!! Tell yuh... deh cats at Medgar are Soca lovers fuh sure!!!! I'll make sure to tell dem about the next sokal fete.lol

But regarding your post, yes..I can relate. I wish we were able to do that. Just press ah button and we are already in costume on the road chippin and the stage ready for us...aahhhhhh