Old 07-20-2004, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,075
How do you pick a mas band? - Inspired by Machel Post..

Reading the post about Machel and Sesame had me wondering...

Are people picking MAS based on the performer that may or may not be on the road with a band? OR they are picking based on the ACTUAL design of the costume?
Old 07-20-2004, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Whining Criminal

Credits: 927
Originally Posted by trinisunshine
Reading the post about Machel and Sesame had me wondering...

Are people picking MAS based on the performer that may or may not be on the road with a band? OR they are picking based on the ACTUAL design of the costume?
Both. of course ah want a nice looking costume, but then again i doan want a shitty band/Dj/performer for my section, ah want a good band, who can keep da music flowing nice, so when ah ready to get on bad i can do so without worrying about the music. or else i will be ptrotesting for my money back.
Old 07-20-2004, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,675
Originally Posted by snakeoilgal
Both. of course ah want a nice looking costume, but then again i doan want a shitty band/Dj/performer for my section, ah want a good band, who can keep da music flowing nice, so when ah ready to get on bad i can do so without worrying about the music. or else i will be ptrotesting for my money back.
you will have to find me first
Old 07-20-2004, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Whining Criminal

Credits: 927
Originally Posted by Trinibaje
you will have to find me first
im sure pimp will lead the way
Old 07-20-2004, 06:13 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,077
for me its the reputation the band has, for instance i registered with poison before i found out that they were having machel, destra, timmy and maximus on thier truck. to me a soca dj cant go wrong. play some hits and yuh good to go! half of the band will be too pissed too notice if yuh cant really wheel a record.
Old 07-20-2004, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Miss Good Reputation..

Credits: 263
Necessities...in order of importance

1. Nice costume (price, menities,fit..)
2. Company- if the costume is gorgeous and I'm by myself...I cant enjoy it can I?
3. Music- I think if the vibes are nice, Im enjoying my company...and the music is only "adequate" it doesnt matter....(as can be explained by the mad sick people from sunday in miami)
Old 07-20-2004, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,675
Originally Posted by tallest
Necessities...in order of importance

1. Nice costume (price, menities,fit..)
2. Company- if the costume is gorgeous and I'm by myself...I cant enjoy it can I?
3. Music- I think if the vibes are nice, Im enjoying my company...and the music is only "adequate" it doesnt matter....(as can be explained by the mad sick people from sunday in miami)

WHO HAVE DE MOST RUM.. that is the only question i does ask
Old 07-20-2004, 06:32 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 4,267

This is a very important question!

Also, who has the most Johnny Walker Black.
Old 07-20-2004, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 19,772

I always want to know...does all inclusive include Hennessy?
Old 07-20-2004, 06:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,010
Originally Posted by brownskintrini
This is a very important question!

Also, who has the most Johnny Walker Black.

You can't drink on Eastern Parkway...

So anyone have Red Bull...?
Old 07-20-2004, 07:44 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,878

I usually select by the music on the road...It's still more important to me than the costume. If I drunk and lovin the music, I can always forget how hideous the costume is(thus why I get drunk in Bim).
Old 07-20-2004, 09:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,202
I think by having certain performers in a band at times can be a two edge sword. It seem to cause major headaches with people who are not mas players now storming the band and security then losing control of the crowd. When that starts happening you now risk messing up the vibe because now you have more people from the outside on the inside of the band. So I rather have my pretty costume with a great DJ instead. If I don't like the costume I'm wearing. I really wont feel comfortable in public. It is very important that I get my monies worth in every aspect so that my carnival experience enjoyable. Ain't that much drinking in the world. However, I also take a lot of other factors into consideration prior to making a final decision. I have at least five different friends that come out with sections. So I make sure and keep it real with them.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 07-20-2004 at 10:05 PM..
Old 07-20-2004, 09:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Pimptress

Originally Posted by snakeoilgal
im sure pimp will lead the way
you better believe it...

to answer the original question i get threatened into a mas band
Old 07-22-2004, 01:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Imix Super Agent

Which ever section sell out all dey women costumes are possible contenders....
Old 07-22-2004, 09:32 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 41,515
For me Costume is first. I don't want to be caught out there on camera wearing a crappy costume, I won't feel comfortable, if I don't feel comfortable I won't completely enjoy myself.

The masquerade band. I want my money's worth especially if I'm paying a king's ransom for a costume like I do in Trinidad. Keep the drinks flowing, give me a good all-inclusive package if that's your thing and I'm good to go. :)

Music: I don't care if it's DJ or live band as long as the sweet music keeps playing it's all fine by me.