Going home soon...
Credits: 3,148
How do you Explain...
to others your love/affinity/fascination/obssession with Carnival, particularly to those who do not come from a background of people who have carnival. Not that you owe anybody an explanation. But I find, especially because I am not West Indian, that people are curious as to why I am such a Carnival baby.....
When peope ask (if they do), what do u say? |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 3,046
I'm here in the dumps 1) cuz carnival done this year and 2) cuz i can't go next year cuz its so early and my girlfriend who's never been is like "your so dramatic, whats the big deal if you miss a year, you won't die, its not the end of the world". Now of course all this is true but it doesn't change the fact that i am still so upset about it and still trying somehow, some way to find myself there on the sly... Its really not something you can verbalize..truss me i've tried.. |
Going home soon...
Credits: 3,148
I completely agree, it is a spiritual thing because i have friends whose family are from the west indies and have experienced carnival and still do not understand my fascination with it even though i was born and raised in the states and a product of trini parents. It's a waste of time trying to explain it in words. You either feel it or u dont and unless u feel it u will neva understand it
Jedi Saltfish Eater
Credits: 141
Credits: 4,444
A few of my coworkers and colleagues get it. They said its not in what I say about Carnival but how I come to life, my eyes sparkle, my voice is full of eagerness when I discuss my carnival experiences and upcoming trips.
Reppin' TnT
Credits: 607
I love my culture ![]() |
Amanza Awatu!
Credits: 2,346
Do you get this feelin, show me how you feel when it's carnival time Do you get this feelin, leh meh see de bacchanal wavin up tuh de sky Feel de vibe, feel de energy, watch de powa take over me Carnival is a vibe, it's a feelin, it's a power that takes over the soul. Carnival asks you to strip yourself of all inhibitions, cast your burdens onto the streets, put on your wings to take full flight in all her glorious revalry. Carnival is a lover that entices you for just one kiss, just one whine, just one embrace. Once you sucumb to her wishes, it's then you understand the meaning of sweet surender. You find yourself asking, when will and why is my lover taking soooooo long to return to me. THAT IS MY BEST EXPLANATION ![]() |
Credits: 3,064
Credits: 257
Well mas aside (since that's not my thing), my co-workers hear me playin soca most of the day. They used to ask questions regarding it, but I show em some video clips of the fun everyone is having & they say ohhhhh. A couple co-workers went with me in the past to some fetes and they enjoyed themselves (a tad too much actually).
I think my dad is adjusted to my traveling away vs going to see him. My mom knows I enjoy myself, so she knows July/August is my time to get away for a couple weeks. Dad is getting re-married in Oct and he's already been instructed Miami Carnival is Columbus Day weekend, so he best not even consider those dates. They like the music & I show them pics and video when I come back...I guess people stop askin questions when they see you keep going back. |
*Beaming down my rays :)*
Location: Somewhere still with plenty text books and cases...boooo!
I just does tell them its "ORGASMIC"
Masochist
Credits: 765
You tell them to buy 2 plane tickets and let the Carnival explain itself
Trini Fever
I have to comment on this one...I was born in the states with Trini parents. I play mas here in the states and I thought this is beautiful...But when I went to 2k7 OMG it was SPEECHLESS! Its like Soca Music comes alive. When I hear it I feel to run and jump! but of course I'm in the train station at the time....lol Its an experience I will never forget I'm going next yr. and actually I'm going for mother's day as a present to myself. Can't fight the feeling.
"Soca in my vein, Soca in my Blood". |
Jamaican Su'Flan
Credits: 5,233