Old 06-18-2006, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
2 Cute 2 Care!!!

Credits: 57
The Hilton in Trinidad...

Would you stay there for Carnival 2007?
Why or why not?

I've never been home for Carnival...so I would like to know from the carnival veterans.
Old 06-18-2006, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 625
Originally Posted by StarGyul
Why or why not?

I've never been home for Carnival...so I would like to know from the carnival veterans.
it's allright but not great. i stayed there for part of my trip in 2004. waaay over-priced for what you get. i think they try to pass it off as a 4* but itd desperately in need of some renovations.
Old 06-18-2006, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Back from de Canefields

Credits: 28
The Kapok Hotel is really nice and the staff is great .
Old 06-18-2006, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
2 Cute 2 Care!!!

Credits: 57
so what are some recommendations for places to stay?
Old 06-18-2006, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,244
Stargyul:

Save Up your Money and stay at de Hilton....

....yuh could look outside an see when yuh band coming up by de Savannah------an yuh could run down de road an take a jump...........an when yuh get tired jes walk up de hill an yuh in yuh bed.

An dey always have a lil fete going on by de poolside, so yuh could walk out yuh room an take a drink an a wine......an when yuh get tired---yuh bed right dey.

Dey have a little snackette right across de street at de bottom of de hill, you could load up on yuh beers, sweet drink, nuts an ting to snack on in yuh room.

Last edited by marabunta; 06-18-2006 at 07:38 PM..
Old 06-18-2006, 07:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 52
Why or why not?

hilton for me is jus ok few my frens stay there for carnival but i find its at de wrong end of de action i prefer hotels town side of the savanah personally
Old 06-23-2006, 10:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
CC JUNKIE

Credits: 28
I stayed there this carnival, and it was JUST OKAY. Kind of like a fancy super 8. For the money I felt like the people could have been nicer, and accomodations better. Next year I'd probably stay at Cascadia. Much nicer, more intimate hotel.

The Hilton is a big friggin waste of money. No way is Paris staying there, for carnival.
Old 06-23-2006, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
AmeriTrini

Thumbs down Another thing about the Hilton...

unless you have a car or a ride- the taxi charging you 60TT just to go down the hill. And to get back from a fete--once they hear you are staying at the Hilton your price automatically double!

The pool is nice but even though I wasn't born in Trinidad it's still Home to me and when I stayed there- I could have been on any island. It felt like a vacation not like going Home. I would not stay there again. I tried the Crowne Plaza which was better esp. since it's close to town and the Breakfast Shed etc. but I still didn't feel like I was Home. But, for your first time- there's safety in a hotel.
Old 06-23-2006, 01:51 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 27,171
Im a huge fan of Hotel Normandie. Stayed there like 3 times (not during Carnival) and it was real nice.
Old 06-28-2006, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 46
Why or why not?

The Marriott was so good .. ...if u plan on playing mas with IP they meet right across the street from the marriott which was even better ...we jump with them right back to our hotel .....the rooms are great ...look into that u will not be disappointed ......

u will run into a lot of celebrity there as well u would think they would stay in the Hilton ...........
Old 06-28-2006, 02:46 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 625
Originally Posted by Roses
unless you have a car or a ride- the taxi charging you 60TT just to go down the hill. And to get back from a fete--once they hear you are staying at the Hilton your price automatically double!
yep - i was like 20TT and drop me at the bottom of the hill so i can walk up!
Old 06-29-2006, 08:05 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 23
Originally Posted by kill Bill
The Marriott was so good .. ...if u plan on playing mas with IP they meet right across the street from the marriott which was even better ...we jump with them right back to our hotel .....the rooms are great ...look into that u will not be disappointed ......

u will run into a lot of celebrity there as well u would think they would stay in the Hilton ...........
how far is the marriott from all the action?
Old 06-29-2006, 10:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 3,046
Originally Posted by Gibson0016
how far is the marriott from all the action?
eh eh u reach back?
Old 06-29-2006, 11:32 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 23
Originally Posted by Rinababy
eh eh u reach back?

ahh yes...well with the help of my therapist and mild medications...I have finally conquered the depression of NOT being able to attend Carnival 2K6...I am now strong enough to re-enter CC.
Old 06-29-2006, 11:39 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 24
i stay in bon air gardens hotel.. lol.. bye