Credits: 1,643
Help Me Understand Carnival Monday and Tuesday
I have never been to Tnt carnival just wanted to know why 2 days of Mas. Do all the bands play mas both days,
Do the bands get judge both days. My asking is because I was reading an article in Strictly Soca and they said that the bands yesterday that got judge some of the revellers were not in full custome and some was in t-shirts that the bands provided. Wouldn't that hurt the judging of the band, as I see from watching today the revellers wear there customes on Tuesday HELP ME |
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,840
Yes please explain why they don't have Monday as a T-shirt band day, and Tuesday as mas day. I don't understand why two days of "mas" when everyone doesn't wear their costume why not a day of each? In Vincy Monday is t-shirt band and Tuesday is Mas it makes sense that way and I thought it was standard all over. Then I heard in Bim they only have one day so so much for Standard.
Last edited by **Vincy-Soca-Diva**; 02-24-2009 at 11:00 AM.. |
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
Credits: 1,948
"Racism is not an excuse to not do the best you can." - Arthur Ashe "I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain." Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987) "Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman." Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993) |
Happiness
Credits: 131,279
I myself never got the Monday wear attire in Trini, cause in st. lucia we have two days as well, but we are in full costume on both days.....
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
it's really up to the person if they wanna wear their costume twice ....i personally would cuz it costs so much, just dress it up two different ways....but maybe some ppl fraid they might mash up they costume on mon
"Racism is not an excuse to not do the best you can." - Arthur Ashe "I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain." Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987) "Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman." Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993) |
Credits: 5,607
But Monday is more relaxed.. it's not a rule to NOT wear your costume. But people prefer to wait till teh official judging day to do so. Unless u buying two costumes.... i doh see how playing in it Monday then wanting to go back and play in it Tuesday is a good thing... :. Earlier bands were fighting the casual monday things... but they couldnt stop players from doing it... some bands just decided to cater for their players with the monday wear idea |
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,840
Credits: 1,643
For Cropover everything is one day, all the bands get judge and cross the stage by 3:00pm and still have time to make it the route to spring garden, even doe they had two routes last year so all the bands would get to the end |
Credits: 153,622
Buh de route is extremely longggg and goes around de city till dey cops say stop.
http://stlucianow.com/ Last edited by Dr Insane; 02-24-2009 at 11:22 AM.. |
All bands don't follow teh same route in Trinidad. You have to, on Monday, pass I think atleast 3 out of 4 or 4 out of 5 of the judging spots to qualify to be in the final results. So techincally there is no END in Trinidad that all bands have to end up. There are too many bands, too many large bands, too long a route for everybody to follow each other. We goh have to meet up earlier thatn 6.30 for that. |
Your Royal Sexiness
Credits: 127,778
In Dominica.... I think judging is on Monday Morning...... after that mas is for everybody, whether you in a band or not.....everybody jumping....
we do both days too
In Tobago, during the day is mas. Monday is kiddies and Tuesday is adults. That doh start till like 2pm... In the evening is the jam session....ugh...
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
But I like Monday... not everybody does come out.. you have space...doh have to worry somuch bout yuh costume and bouncing into people... |

:. Earlier bands were fighting the casual monday things... but they couldnt stop players from doing it... some bands just decided to cater for their players with the monday wear idea