Old 02-08-2005, 05:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,039
The Headlines Belong To Tribe

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...ws?id=59835248

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...ws?id=59835247

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/preview.html

Members of Tribe enjoy themselves as the band paraded at Queen’s Park Savannah, Port-of-Spain, yesterday.

Photo: Keith Matthews

BY SANDRA CHOUTHI

The tribe broke loose yesterday. The costumed revellers could not be restrained. They stomped and jumped and waved, with little encouragement.

Yesterday’s parade of the bands got off to a slow start, but once Tribal Fantasy hit the Queen’s Park Savannah stage, it took more than an hour to get them off.

The large contemporary band did not reach the stage until 12.05 pm, an hour and five minutes after the parade’s scheduled start.

With sections carrying such titles as Cheyenne, Aztecs, Smoke Signals and Wild Apache, the Dean Ackin band featured a majority of women parading and displaying wining skills to the pounding DJ-delivered rhythms of Shurwayne Winchester’s Dead or Alive, KMC’s First Experience, Destra Garcia’s We Say So and Iwer George’s Ease de Tension.

Some buffed, barebacked men wearing black tights were in demand for a wine here and there. Bodies glistened from the glitter and sweat.

Some wore body paint and glitter dust of all colours.

A couple of men shaved their heads Mohawk-style. A man sprayed his hair royal blue, another purple.

Braids and beads and weaves and streaks were all part of the masquerade.

The sparse audience had little to see in terms of full costumes and original design, with many of Tribal Fantasy’s masqueraders wearing blue and silver and turquoise and gold bikini suits highlighted with sequins.

The highlight of Tribal Fantasy’s hour-long presence on stage was the appearance of King of Carnival Curtis Eustace’s War Chant, De Rise of Tatanka.

The sun worked its magic on the costume’s huge orange and gold and black wings, complemented by a sun-like image behind Eustace’s head.

The Original Jab Jab’s The Whip Masters was a small bunch, but a colourful whip-lashing lot in green and pink and black and orange suits.

Among the Ronald Alfred-led lot was a jab jab in a wheelchair, as well as four young ones.

The boys put on a fiery display, their whips crackling in the air.

Harts’ Colorsion of predominantly women could not be restrained when their red T-shirted security officers allowed them through their arm-linked barrier.

Tassa led the banner-holders on stage while Harts’ faithful misbehaved to Machel Montano’s You and Destra Garcia’s We Say So.
Old 02-08-2005, 05:31 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 1,039
Doh Forget Neo Say

Tribe Could Be In The Top 3 If Hey Drop Their Bomb Right , They Already Have A King So All They Need Are Individuals.
Old 02-08-2005, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 41,531
GOOOOO TRIBE!!!!!

Old 02-08-2005, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,712
Originally Posted by shandy
GOOOOO TRIBE!!!!!

Wait..allyuh get internet access in yuh goodie bag? what you doing hey
Old 02-08-2005, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
Wait..allyuh get internet access in yuh goodie bag? what you doing hey
Of course...it's the ULTIMATE CARNIVAL EXPERIENCE! :p

Nah, I'm still in NYC. So it's 2006 for me. :)

Old 02-08-2005, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,712

i was telling socaboy.. NEVER AGAIN... i doh like this feeling.... i rather go look fuh another job dan miss de bacchannal
Old 02-08-2005, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
i was telling socaboy.. NEVER AGAIN... i doh like this feeling.... i rather go look fuh another job dan miss de bacchannal
Yeah, this feeling really sucks.

But I dunno about 2007 I'm supposed to go to France that year.

Old 02-11-2005, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,210
I think that's why Poison did what they did to Tribe on Carnival Tuesday. :devil Tribe was one of the first bands down town POS at 830AM on Carnival Tuesday and was heading up Fredrick street by 9:30am only to find out that all the bands will be back up for 5hours because of Posion. But trust I have a board meeting with some of the top dogs at NCC and Tidco next week and if they are not going to enforce the polices and procedures with the large bands and hold them accountable. My next ten carnivals will be paid for in full by all them.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 02-11-2005 at 02:56 PM..
Old 02-11-2005, 09:34 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,406
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
I think that's why Poison did what they did to Tribe on Carnival Tuesday. :devil Tribe was one of the first bands down town POS at 830AM on Carnival Tuesday and was heading up Fredrick street by 9:30am only to find out that all the bands will be back up for 5hours because of Posion. But trust I have a board meeting with some of the top dogs at NCC and Tidco next week and if they are not going to enforce the polices and procedures with the large bands and hold them accountable. My next ten carnivals will be paid for in full by all them.
Wait hold up, and get facts straight. We got there at 8, and bands were already backed up in the savannah, all other big bands went to the savannah first, so if you guys got stuck behind us and had to be last oh well.
Legacy, Genesis, Harts, TriniRevellers, were all in front as well as other bands, we went to the savannah first b/c ppl b*tch on how poison does take too long, not our fault.
Old 02-11-2005, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by deoriginalrudeboy
Wait hold up, and get facts straight. We got there at 8, and bands were already backed up in the savannah, all other big bands went to the savannah first, so if you guys got stuck behind us and had to be last oh well.
Legacy, Genesis, Harts, TriniRevellers, were all in front as well as other bands, we went to the savannah first b/c ppl b*tch on how poison does take too long, not our fault.
That's why there is an investigation being done. So I suggest you do your research.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 02-11-2005, 09:52 PM   #11 (permalink)

That's why there is an investigation being done. So I suggest you do your research.
i'm just upset at the NCC. don't bands have to submit where they're going and heading first, if not they should b/c to be in one location for over 6 hours is ridiculous, and to get jammin again in woobrook like that. absolutely ridiculous. monday went pass so smooth. tues was ridiculous, had a time tho but i missed jumping all over those other judgin pts. :devil
Old 02-11-2005, 10:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by deoriginalrudeboy
i'm just upset at the NCC. don't bands have to submit where they're going and heading first, if not they should b/c to be in one location for over 6 hours is ridiculous, and to get jammin again in woobrook like that. absolutely ridiculous. monday went pass so smooth. tues was ridiculous, had a time tho but i missed jumping all over those other judgin pts. :devil
That's why people are complaining. Trinidad is not big enough for all these bands and the NCC has to be more organized. People's safety and health are in danger and they can get heat strokes by having to stand in the hot sun for hours. Supposely numbers are pulled for the order of the bands. However, I'm still trying to find out how Harts always end up pulling number one every year. According to this article they have a specific parade route and all the bands should not all be stuck at the same judging points all at the same time. ......and It Don't Stop When one large band is on the stage the other large band should be down town and the other ones in St James. But its over 100 years they are planning and implementing carnival in Trinidad and around the world. One would think that someone will have a clue as to how to run and implement a more organized and effective Carnival parade after over 100 years of experience in the carnival biz. :devil

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 02-11-2005 at 10:50 PM..
Old 02-12-2005, 04:49 AM   #13 (permalink)

That's why people are complaining. Trinidad is not big enough for all these bands and the NCC has to be more organized. People's safety and health are in danger and they can get heat strokes by having to stand in the hot sun for hours. Supposely numbers are pulled for the order of the bands. However, I'm still trying to find out how Harts always end up pulling number one every year. According to this article they have a specific parade route and all the bands should not all be stuck at the same judging points all at the same time. ......and It Don't Stop When one large band is on the stage the other large band should be down town and the other ones in St James. But its over 100 years they are planning and implementing carnival in Trinidad and around the world. One would think that someone will have a clue as to how to run and implement a more organized and effective Carnival parade after over 100 years of experience in the carnival biz. :devil
numbers pulled, they lie b/c like u say harts always first. they always trying and failing. I say they should scatter the bands having at least 2 big bands at each venue so its not too congested. and revellers need to be controlled especially when you head down woodbrook and st. james, its ridiculous how they give poison security trouble n hell. if yuh doh pay doh play. :devil
Old 02-13-2005, 06:57 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 601

I have to agree with this. Flushable portopoties? Lawd have mercy. Coolzone? It was all really nice and me and the crew were quite impressed with Tribe.