Old 06-19-2008, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,258
Hawks International 2008 Band Launch

Yes they are back.....

2008 Presentation "Legends of Carnival"

Band Launching--Sunday July 6th @ The Mas Camp 494 Flatbush Avenue (Corner of Empire Blvd)

12pm to 8pm

Costumes will be on display
Live adult and kiddies models
Music * Food * Fun (FREE!!)

2008 Kiddies Carnival Theme: "Ole Time Something Come Back Again..."

Come check out and register for sections by Natural Freaks Unlimited, GB God Bless and others....
Old 06-20-2008, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
spring garden I coming

Credits: 361
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
Yes they are back.....

2008 Presentation "Legends of Carnival"

Band Launching--Sunday July 6th @ The Mas Camp 494 Flatbush Avenue (Corner of Empire Blvd)

12pm to 8pm

Costumes will be on display
Live adult and kiddies models
Music * Food * Fun (FREE!!)

2008 Kiddies Carnival Theme: "Ole Time Something Come Back Again..."

Come check out and register for sections by Natural Freaks Unlimited, GB God Bless and others....
Cant wait to see the costumes
Old 07-02-2008, 12:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
MAS BOOOOOOOOTS

Credits: 206
Yahoooooooooooo
Yippppppppppppppp
Hip Hip Hoorayyyyyyyyyyyy
I Cant Wait Too See The Costumes
Old 07-02-2008, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,255
Glad to hear Hawks back on the scene. I'll be in BK for sesame kiddies launch so I'll check out their launch too.
Old 07-02-2008, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,750
i am curious to see these costumes as well......
Old 07-07-2008, 01:30 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 106
Ah went to di launch.....click the link for pics.....

El Dorado gonna be di first to go ah feel....

Hawks Pics

Last edited by dakrazyone; 07-07-2008 at 01:33 AM..
Old 07-07-2008, 01:48 AM   #7 (permalink)

nice lime but as far as costumes are concerned, overall i was disappointed. one of the costumes reminded me of Jean and Dinah costume from Tribe. the only costume i would even consider is the green that had the backpiece attached.
Old 07-07-2008, 08:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ah only eat WILDMEAT!!

Credits: 26
Hawks have their faithful followers, ah sure dem will be "again" one of the biggest bands on de parkway.
Old 07-07-2008, 12:14 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bajan Barbie View Post
Hawks have their faithful followers, ah sure dem will be "again" one of the biggest bands on de parkway.
i dunno bout that...becuz in recent years, from what i observed, their numbers dwindled
Old 07-07-2008, 12:33 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 528
Hawks come soft this year.

SOFT!!!

They the only ones who can take the crown from Sesame, and they disappointed many.

Guess that one year lay off really set them back.
Old 07-07-2008, 12:51 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms.69 View Post
nice lime but as far as costumes are concerned, overall i was disappointed. one of the costumes reminded me of Jean and Dinah costume from Tribe. the only costume i would even consider is the green that had the backpiece attached.
Agree. Yea Jean & Dinah popped in my head the minute I saw Islands in the Sun. Kaleidescope colors look real garish imo and that yellow one the wide ass waistband...yuh know its not just Hawks, I always wonder why all the mas bands in BK does like to come w/ these wide wide waistbands like 1990 or something? I like El Dorado a lot tho.

OFFTOPIC: I missed both launches yesterday..had to go a funeral...did you get pics of Sesame kiddies costumes?
Old 07-07-2008, 12:52 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bajan Barbie View Post
Agree. Most of the time w/ BK mas is not so much bout the costume but the lime w/ yuh friends and getting that lil jump to fix yuh up till Trini.
Old 07-07-2008, 01:06 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Agree. Yea Jean & Dinah popped in my head the minute I saw Islands in the Sun. Kaleidescope colors look real garish imo and that yellow one the wide ass waistband...yuh know its not just Hawks, I always wonder why all the mas bands in BK does like to come w/ these wide wide waistbands like 1990 or something? I like El Dorado a lot tho.

OFFTOPIC: I missed both launches yesterday..had to go a funeral...did you get pics of Sesame kiddies costumes?
girlie...i left my house arong 5:15 and all that traffic becuz of the flatbush street fair made it take longer for me to get around. so i just ended up going to the hawks launching self. but the hawks kiddies costume are cute. they remind me of mas costumes from the 80s/90s eras. great coverage for the kids.
and i like my waistbands a lil wide but that yellow one reminded me off this costume my mom had waaaay back when....lol....as far as the waist band thing is concerned, i know ppl used to complain about the bands being too thin, and not catering to the thicker women. so then they made them thicker and i think some section leaders used to give options for either thin or thick but i dunno if they still do

Last edited by SweetControversy; 07-07-2008 at 01:08 PM..
Old 07-07-2008, 01:11 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms.69 View Post
girlie...i left my house arong 5:15 and all that traffic becuz of the flatbush street fair made it take longer for me to get around. so i just ended up going to the hawks launching self. but the hawks kiddies costume are cute. they remind me of mas costumes from the 80s/90s eras. great coverage for the kids.
and i like my waistbands a lil wide but that yellow one reminded me off this costume my mom had waaaay back when....lol....as far as the waist band thing is concerned, i know ppl used to complain about the bands being too thin, and not catering to the thicker women. so then they made them thicker and i think some section leaders used to give options for either thin or thick but i dunno if they still do
Actually a thick waistband looks extra horrible on thicker women...they don't hide rolls, they actually accentuate them so if is coverage a woman is looking for, better off w/ corset or cut out one piece.

Damn I want pics of Rosalind's creations for the kids so bad.
Old 07-07-2008, 01:13 PM   #15 (permalink)

Oooh Sesame updated the website..the adult costumes already up so I'm guessing they just need to add the kid pics hopefully by the end of the day.