Old 07-26-2007, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,869
Hawks

: Are they really boycotting or did they just disburse their costumes to several different bands as outside sections?
Old 07-26-2007, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

So nobody doh wanna explain why Hawks costumes are on display with various other bands
Old 07-27-2007, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,378
Confused what costumes?
Old 07-27-2007, 10:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
MAS BOOOOOOOOTS

Credits: 1,137
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
So nobody doh wanna explain why Hawks costumes are on display with various other bands
SO WHICH COSTUME WAS SUPPOSED TO BE PART OF HAWKS?
Old 07-27-2007, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 8,193
maybe because they had already designed the costumes before they decide they weren't going to partake in the parade. why keep the costumes? i say utilize the costumes with other bands!
Old 07-27-2007, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SEXYPANAT View Post
SO WHICH COSTUME WAS SUPPOSED TO BE PART OF HAWKS?
I was advised to hush on the subject think blue
Originally Posted by CARAMELSISTA View Post
maybe because they had already designed the costumes before they decide they weren't going to partake in the parade. why keep the costumes? i say utilize the costumes with other bands!
That does make sense tho.
Old 07-27-2007, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
MAS BOOOOOOOOTS

Credits: 1,137
I was advised to hush on the subject think blue

That does make sense tho.
OH OK, IT WAS WORTH A TRY
Old 07-27-2007, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 120
Why bring up a topic, ask a question, throw a message, and then say you were told to keep it quite?????

People, as per Bacchanal’s post there were 2 outside sections that were with Hawks who decided to take there costumes to other camps. There was no band launch, and no display of costumes at Hawks mas camp this year. Why not take your section that you worked hard on to another band. There were no problems personally with Hawks, they just decided not to bring a band this year. When one door closes another door opens. I really don't understand the reason for even bringing this up (unless u have nothing better to post about). B/4 you try and cause comass within our already dysfunctional community you should try to encourage the fact that people are still trying to keep the carnival spirit alive here in NYC.

I hope this answers any questions.
Old 07-27-2007, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rapture View Post
Why bring up a topic, ask a question, throw a message, and then say you were told to keep it quite?????

People, as per Bacchanal’s post there were 2 outside sections that were with Hawks who decided to take there costumes to other camps. There was no band launch, and no display of costumes at Hawks mas camp this year. Why not take your section that you worked hard on to another band. There were no problems personally with Hawks, they just decided not to bring a band this year. When one door closes another door opens. I really don't understand the reason for even bringing this up (unless u have nothing better to post about). B/4 you try and cause comass within our already dysfunctional community you should try to encourage the fact that people are still trying to keep the carnival spirit alive here in NYC.

I hope this answers any questions.

*sigh* oh boy! i don't she was trying to create bacchanal it was just a simple question that I think we pretty much answered, no pun intended. who knows we may not have been correct
pssst! also the correct word is "comess"

Last edited by CARAMELSISTA; 07-27-2007 at 03:56 PM..
Old 07-27-2007, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)

So wait, the thread was already dead and forgotten and you created a screenname just come comment on it? I actually created the post just to speculate and start a lil carnival gossip, nothing malicious. I left it alone when I was made aware who in CC was involved w/ Hawks and since its ppl I like I didn't want it to be misinterpreted and offend. Anyway Cara already suggested the same thing you just said and I acknowledged that that made sense so I don't know why you came up in here all righteous.
Old 07-27-2007, 04:00 PM   #11 (permalink)

So wait, the thread was already dead and forgotten and you created a screenname just come comment on it? I actually created the post just to speculate and start a lil carnival gossip, nothing malicious. I left it alone when I was made aware who in CC was involved w/ Hawks and since its ppl I like I didn't want it to be misinterpreted and offend. Anyway Cara already suggested the same thing you just said and I acknowledged that that made sense so I don't know why you came up in here all righteous.
that's wha i thought. maybe cause i've been chatting with you long enough to know you didn't mean anything by it
Old 07-27-2007, 04:08 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 120
Question was asked, Answer was giving.
Thankz and Your Welcome
Old 07-27-2007, 05:32 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
Damn how am I now seeing this....

Anway, since one of my sections I am sure allyuh talking about but don't want to call no names so let me speak on it (allyuh know I doh business, I always speak the truth )

I have been a part of Hawks since last year, myself and other members worked hard on coming up with Hawks theme for Labor Day this year as well as co-designing the costumes with designers from Trinidad (hence why the designs look like costumes from Trinidad as some as said). We also worked hard on getting the launch together (which was postponed) and the photo shoot (Hawks took the initive to be the ONLY BAND in NY to do an outdoor on location shoot) for the costumes as well as other things. Since October last year we have been working hard on these costumes and things surrounding the mas aspect of Hawks. However, the organization as a whole felt the need to pull out of the parade for reasons you all know already. Preparations as far as designs were made since last year. Personally, myself and others felt with all our hard work the costumes were too beautiful to just scrap. Other bands showed interest so we moved it there. Other costumes that were designed for Hawks as outside sections by other designers were also taken up by other bands. If a designer feel their costume is too nice to scrap why fault them. I am still a member of Hawks (AND WILL ALWAYS BE A MEMBER OF HAWKS) and respect their decision to boycott but the Blue Sailors costumes designed were HOT and we didn't want to waste it. POINT BLANK. Add to that members of Hawks continue to support us in Rango and we are getting overwhelming response from die-hard Hawks players. No gossip, no bachannal, no fight down, etc.
Old 07-27-2007, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
So with all this bachannal let me add :

Old 07-27-2007, 05:44 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
Damn how am I now seeing this....

Anway, since one of my sections I am sure allyuh talking about but don't want to call no names so let me speak on it (allyuh know I doh business, I always speak the truth )

I have been a part of Hawks since last year, myself and other members worked hard on coming up with Hawks theme for Labor Day this year as well as co-designing the costumes with designers from Trinidad (hence why the designs look like costumes from Trinidad as some as said). We also worked hard on getting the launch together (which was postponed) and the photo shoot (Hawks took the initive to be the ONLY BAND in NY to do an outdoor on location shoot) for the costumes as well as other things. Since October last year we have been working hard on these costumes and things surrounding the mas aspect of Hawks. However, the organization as a whole felt the need to pull out of the parade for reasons you all know already. Preparations as far as designs were made since last year. Personally, myself and others felt with all our hard work the costumes were too beautiful to just scrap. Other bands showed interest so we moved it there. Other costumes that were designed for Hawks as outside sections by other designers were also taken up by other bands. If a designer feel their costume is too nice to scrap why fault them. I am still a member of Hawks (AND WILL ALWAYS BE A MEMBER OF HAWKS) and respect their decision to boycott but the Blue Sailors costumes designed were HOT and we didn't want to waste it. POINT BLANK. Add to that members of Hawks continue to support us in Rango and we are getting overwhelming response from die-hard Hawks players. No gossip, no bachannal, no fight down, etc.
You didn't have to PD, but thanks for the reasonable and logical answer to my question.