Old 01-14-2004, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Harts

CIRCA 1963-66

Check it out,
Edmond Hart and Kay Christopher in Mesopotamia BC (1965)

Kay Christopher in Playing Cards 1966

Kay Christopher as the High Priestess of Ethur in the Etruscans (1963)

Old 01-14-2004, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Wow now that's a retro costume. :p
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 01-14-2004, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally posted by Pebbles362436
Wow now that's a retro costume. :p
Tell me about it. Now allyuh may laugh at me but I think the last one is hot. .

If there was such thing as time travel I would love to be in Trinidad in the years where mas was all about theatre and storytelling.

Old 01-14-2004, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 122
can i say dat i really like those costumes
the creativity is awesome
they r really nice, might be a little warm to wear in TnT but still nice
Old 01-14-2004, 11:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally posted by shandy
Tell me about it. Now allyuh may laugh at me but I think the last one is hot. .

If there was such thing as time travel I would love to be in Trinidad in the years where mas was all about theatre and storytelling.
No girl, the last one and the first one are both nice. Except for the cone on top of her head. They just both look hot as hell I think it's great looking at some of the really old pictures and the research on carnival costumes. :)
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 01-14-2004, 11:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Im a SEXY B!TCH HATER

Credits: 122
Originally posted by Pebbles362436
No girl, the last one and the first one are both nice. Except for the cone on top of her head. They just both look hot as hell I think it's great looking at some of the really old pictures and the research on carnival costumes. :)
see and i really liked the first one
as soon as i saw it i was like wow dats nice
yeah it might be real hot and heavy but dat dress is real nice and form fittin
i like the way it gives off a shape
i like the colors and design
only thing i dont liek is dat white ghost make up on her face, but i guess they wanted her to look like the pics on the cards
Old 01-14-2004, 11:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally posted by PtHova
see and i really liked the first one
as soon as i saw it i was like wow dats nice
yeah it might be real hot and heavy but dat dress is real nice and form fittin
i like the way it gives off a shape
i like the colors and design
only thing i dont liek is dat white ghost make up on her face, but i guess they wanted her to look like the pics on the cards
:)Yep, I like how it shows off her curves. Carnival back then looked really formal. They look like they going to a wedding or something. Ah wonder what Posion looked like back then? Shandy do you know around what year the costumes started changing into the bikini? I would die if Poison had a music truck like in that other picture you posted earlier

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 01-14-2004 at 01:26 PM..
Old 01-14-2004, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)

Well Pebbles from what I've read it seems like it started in the 80's with Harts, but it wasn't as skimpy as it is today.

Here's a tid-bit about thier "bikini mas"

The Harts saw the faces on the road and in their band changing. They declared that “Carnival is colour” and “Carnival is an escape valve”, and found an answering chord among their masqueraders. Their style was simple, bright, and comfortable. In the 80s, theirs was among the first bands to introduce special sections for the “body beautifuls” — those particularly curvy or muscular masqueraders who wanted to show off more bare skin. When asked about their role in developing so-called bikini mas, Edmond was quick to point out that he and Lil were not the ones with the salacious edge. “We tried to be as conservative as possible. But still there were people, when we give them a costume, they cut and bring it down to how they want to wear it, and since it belongs to them, we can’t do anything about it.”
I would read the posts and articles beamoaning the bandleaders' preference for Bikini Mas but I think to myself after reading this it's like the chicken or the egg, what came first. Same with bikini mas...is it the masqueraders' demand or is it the bandleaders producing it first? hmmmm.

Last edited by Shandy 2.0; 01-14-2004 at 11:34 AM..
Old 01-14-2004, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Well Pebbles from what I've read it seems like it started in the 80's with Harts, but it wasn't as skimpy as it is today.

I would read the posts and articles beamoaning the bandleaders' preference for Bikini Mas but I think to myself after reading this it's like the chicken or the egg, what came first. Same with bikini mas...is it the masqueraders' demand or is it the bandleaders producing it first? hmmmm.
Thanks for the information Shandy. I find it very interesting and funny. My sister and I still do that today we cut up our costumes and add our own beads etc. We get our costume's and we are always changing it around and making adjustments
Old 01-14-2004, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 40
That is gorgegous, so much craftmanship, and I bet you it was probably cheaper then, than it is today. I just would like to know which route is that (playing card 1966) cause it looks like grass is on the ground, or is that the savanah
Old 01-14-2004, 01:51 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 268

THE DESIGNERS DESIGN IT FIRST JUST LIKE FASHION THE DESIGNERS DICTATE THE STYLE OF THE SEASON. THE CUSTUMERS HAVE NO REAL SAY.
DID ANY OF YOU HAVE A SAY IN WHAT POISON DESIGNERS PRODUCED THIS YEAR?
THE TALK OF THE "MASQUERADERS WANT THIS OR THAT" IS A TRICK, JUST LIKE TV ADS........ IF I TELL YOU YOU WANT THIS LONG ENOUGH YOU WILL WANT IT.

WHAT WILL ALL THE MASQUERADERS DO IF ALL THE BANDS TRULY WENT RETRO? NOT PLAY MAS? STOP CARNIVAL? SOME MIGHT NOT BUT MOST STILL WILL.
Old 01-14-2004, 02:57 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by NEO ONE
THE DESIGNERS DESIGN IT FIRST JUST LIKE FASHION THE DESIGNERS DICTATE THE STYLE OF THE SEASON. THE CUSTUMERS HAVE NO REAL SAY.
DID ANY OF YOU HAVE A SAY IN WHAT POISON DESIGNERS PRODUCED THIS YEAR?
THE TALK OF THE "MASQUERADERS WANT THIS OR THAT" IS A TRICK, JUST LIKE TV ADS........ IF I TELL YOU YOU WANT THIS LONG ENOUGH YOU WILL WANT IT.

WHAT WILL ALL THE MASQUERADERS DO IF ALL THE BANDS TRULY WENT RETRO? NOT PLAY MAS? STOP CARNIVAL? SOME MIGHT NOT BUT MOST STILL WILL.
Hmmmm, yeah, I did get a call from Poison asking me what I want in a costume. :p

I'm not in the position to judge Mr. & Mrs. Hart who've been dead for 10+ years what they were saying to be true or not.

You may be surprised, if some bandleaders come around and produced mas the way it should be then people will play. Don't underestimate the masses.

Old 01-14-2004, 03:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Bes' Wife Status

Credits: 63
I love those costumes pictured...sigh*the good old days*

Thanks for always providing the great info pieces Shandy!
Old 01-14-2004, 03:24 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally posted by OilInDeCoil
I love those costumes pictured...sigh*the good old days*

Thanks for always providing the great info pieces Shandy!
Glad allyuh like it. :) I just kept running into all this information in my search for Minshall's Jungle Fever pic.

Those costumes are beautiful, I wonder how many people would go back to that. I would wear it.

Kay Christopher really looked happy and proud to be wearing that mas. Not all the time one has to show skin to be sexy. It's a state of mind, an aura.

Old 01-14-2004, 06:10 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Re: Harts

CIRCA 1963-66

Check it out,
Edmond Hart and Kay Christopher in Mesopotamia BC (1965)

Kay Christopher in Playing Cards 1966

Kay Christopher as the High Priestess of Ethur in the Etruscans (1963)

These pictures are great. Where did you get them?