Credits: 268
Gunshots ring out in Poison
Friday, February 27th 2004 REVELLERS in the 8000-plus band Poison scampered for cover along their parade route on Carnival Tuesday when several gunshots rang out. Speaking to the Express yesterday, Nigel Caesar, a Canadian visitor who played in the band's Golden Cock Fight section of Retromania, said up until his section crossed the stage at the Queen's Park Savannah, the day had been relatively incident-free. It was when some sections reached the Marli Street area late in the evening on Tuesday that at least six gunshots were heard: "Everybody scampered and ran towards the Savannah. It was a mess-I'm never playing mas again. I spent $1,500 and what did I get for it?" Another masquerader from Poison's Krakatoa section, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said she heard at least three loud bangs near Marli Street, and smelled sulphur. "My whole section scrambled into the Savannah to get away. Everybody was trying to help everybody else get away. My friends and I decided to go straight home after that. When we were about to leave, we saw a police jeep coming towards the incident," the masquerader, who has played with Poison for ten years, said. Several revellers from both the Golden Cock Fight and Krakatoa sections confirmed that, prior to the shooting incident, a DJ truck accompanying the sections continually called for the band's security after announcing that a group of young men who did not appear to belong to Poison were harassing its players. A Poison section leader, who did not wish to be identified, noted that after the gunshots pierced the atmosphere she "ran around telling my masqueraders to go home, and then I got the hell out of there myself". Poison's leaders have reportedly not yet met to discuss the incident but the section leader was adamant that "during the post-mortem (of the Carnival season) we have to talk about doing something; something has to change." Efforts to contact bandleader Michael Headley proved futile. ALL YUH NEED ARMED GUARDS NEXT YEAR ?? :Last edited by NEO ONE; 02-27-2004 at 04:46 AM.. |
Temporary Suspension
Credits: 29
Credits: 92
I was also in Golden Cockfight, but didnt hear the gunshots. I did notice that everyone scattered, but I figured it was because we were done crossing the Savannah. Thanlfully no one was hurt. The security was excellent though. I felt very protected throughout the day.
Credits: 1,258
I played with Poison and this is the first I am hearing of this....WOW!!
Credits: 3,828
This is the first I'm hearing of it too. It wasn't even mentioned on the news.
Credits: 40
nah I was there... it is true, there were gunshotsss, but fortunately I was on the Golden cockfight truck. These people really know how to kill vibes
YES THERE WERE GUNSHOTS. AND I SAW ALL THAT WENT ON AS I WAS ON DE GC TRUCK AS WELL...DOWN TO WHEN DE BASTIDS WERE ARRESTED AND ROUGHED UP BY DE TRINI COPS.
NUFF RESPECT TO DE DRIVER RICHARD WHO KEPT MEH SAFE BEHIND DAT BULLETPROOF GLASS...WHEYYYYYYY!!! |
Ok so there are people that are aware of the post-stage events that brought Carnival Tuesday to an abrupt end for many. As a GoldenCockFight masquerader, I found myself running like Marion Jones with Carib in hand through the Savannah after hearing all too familiar sounds( I live in Fort Lauderdale) of gun shots loud above the music.....stunt gun many said...what planet were they on?....No news reports, no newspaper articles and unless you were in GoldenCockFight or Krakatoa you were unaware of what happened... Security, not. After waiting for four hours to cross the stage my Carnival Tuesday was just getting started and ended just as quickly. Hey, Monday was wonderful, so I was not bummed, but a little frazzled. Too bad nobody got a photo of all the people running, can you imagine the Kodak moment....