Old 01-19-2005, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 106
Great CNN Article on T& T Carnival

Lose Yourself at Trinidads Carnival
Old 01-19-2005, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 268
Sweet
Old 01-19-2005, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Very nice. well explained.
Old 01-19-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828

Nice article. :)

Old 01-19-2005, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 37
Note that carnival is not celebrating 100 years as some people are still spreading......

Carnival is a 166-year-old festival that has its origins in the clash and mesh of African and French cultures on the 18th-century sugarcane plantations of the West Indies.
Old 01-19-2005, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Triniaries
Note that carnival is not celebrating 100 years as some people are still spreading......

Carnival is a 166-year-old festival that has its origins in the clash and mesh of African and French cultures on the 18th-century sugarcane plantations of the West Indies.
I'm still puzzled about this 100 years. And there are people that still insist on it being 100 years.

Old 01-19-2005, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)

Back in the towns, thousands will make their way to Catholic churches to have their sins absolved and to promise good behavior -- at least until Carnival 2006.
Old 01-19-2005, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy
I'm still puzzled about this 100 years. And there are people that still insist on it being 100 years.
It really makes you wonder where that rumor started....I still hearing DJ's up here saying that Trinidad is going to be celebrating 100 years....horrible that they aren't even researching the information they hear before speading it
Old 01-19-2005, 04:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80
It really makes you wonder where that rumor started....I still hearing DJ's up here saying that Trinidad is going to be celebrating 100 years....horrible that they aren't even researching the information they hear before speading it
The chairman of the NCC (Kenny De Silver) said that they found it to have been started as an advertising ploy for certain charters done out of the US.
Old 01-19-2005, 04:26 PM   #10 (permalink)

Back in the towns, thousands will make their way to Catholic churches to have their sins absolved and to promise good behavior -- at least until Carnival 2006.
That explains why there's no seat at St. Peter's on Ash Wednesday. I almost had to stand last year.

Old 01-19-2005, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 106
This 100 years is just a marketing tactic. But it could be 6 months ah carnival I will be there
Old 01-19-2005, 06:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Red face

Originally Posted by Honikane
Now I don't feel guilty anymore and I know I'm not the only crazy person that's willing do this. "It's what we live for," said Dr. Faizah Assad-Perry, of Houston, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Association of Texas. "Without fail, every year, I do not miss it come hell or high water. I've resigned from jobs if I couldn't get the time off to go."
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL