Old 10-27-2003, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Getting fit For Carnival ...

shims...I'm sure allyuh start already! But if you didn't or you missed it here's a couple of articles of fitness inspiration I have posted before. They are taken from the Guardian. Part 3 should be out next week.

(Part 1)
Getting ready for Carnival

Brian Chin Leung is a physical fitness specialist
and certified personal trainer.
e-mail questions to brian@wow.net
Please consult your doctor before starting
any exercise programme.

SO you want to play mas and you would like to take off about 10 pounds and look really fit and toned. Well, you need to start training now!!! By now I mean from September. That’s right, you are reading correctly. I said September!

The first week in every month, until Carnival, I am going to devote this column to setting and adjusting your fitness programme as the Carnival countdown begins.

The first step, since you have been lapsing for the past couple of months, will be tuning up your cardiovascular system.

Leiba demonstrates the seated twist.

You are going to start doing your cardio for at least 45 mins, five days per week. Do whatever you enjoy; walking, cardio karate, taebo, cycling, swimming, running etc. This is going to help you burn body fat throughout your entire body. Remember, spot reducing is a myth.

What is also important is that when you are doing your cardio you should be functioning at the correct intensity by being in your training zone.

To calculate your training heart rate use the Cooper’s formula. Let’s use a 40-year-old woman, who has a poor level of cardiovascular fitness and a resting heart rate of 80 beats per minute, as an example. 7

Based on the Cooper’s formula: 205 – age – resting heart rate x 60% (low level of fitness) + resting heart rate. Her target heart rate would be 143 beats per minute. To give the subject a heart rate range subtract and add five beats to the target heart rate. Her target heart rate range would be 138 – 148. Using this formula you can of course insert your own age (half), resting heart rate etc. into the formula. If your level of fitness is low, use 60%; if intermediate, use 70%; if high, use 80%.

If you can purchase a heart rate monitor (cost about $600), it would be very easy to ensure that you are within your training range. Make sure that when you start your actual cardio you progress gradually until you enter your training range.

Next, you are going to start working on your mid-section. A combination of cardio, diet and abdominal training will give you an awesome six-pack.

Lets look at some of the best abdominal exercises:

(a) The criss-cross (In my opinion this is the best all round abdominal exercise) — From a lying position face up, you place your hands behind your head and move your opposite elbow and knee as if you are trying to make them touch. For really peak contraction think as if you are going to touch with your shoulder instead of your elbow. Do four sets of 20 reps.

(b) Basic crunch — From a lying position face up, place your hands behind your head and keep your elbows wide, bend both knees so that your feet are firmly touching the ground and begin to crunch. If you find that your chin is dipping into your chest, take a lawn tennis ball and place it between your chin and chest. Do five sets of 40 reps.

(c) Accordion crunch — From a lying position face up, place your hands behind your head elbows wide, take your feet off the ground and bend your knees so that your calves are parallel to the floor. Make sure your knees are close together and begin to move your upper and lower body together like an accordion.

Moira demonstrates the Criss-cross Abdominal routine, regarded as the best all-round abdominal exercise.

(d) Seated twist — From a seated position hold a broom stick over your shoulders and keeping your lower body in a fixed position begin to twist your waist in a smooth rhythm. Do 3x100 twists.

Remember to warm-up and cool-down properly in each work-out, and also incorporate stretching on a daily basis.

Apart from your exercise programme, if you are serious about looking very sharp for Carnival I suggest you watch very carefully what food you put into your mouth. Try as much as possible to make healthy choices. If you are not sure about what to eat please consult a registered dietician

Okay, we have laid the ground work for the next four weeks.

(1) Plenty cardio,

(2) Ab training,

(3) Watch your diet.

At the beginning of October, we are going to start adding weight training to the equation. You may decide to hire your own personal trainer to guide you through a specialised programme involving cardio, weights and stretching, but that is a personal decision.

Looking at the whole picture, you must remember that December is a month of festivities and a lot of garlic pork, pastelles, ponche de crème and black fruit cake will be circulating so our exercise programme has to be regimented and disciplined if you want to look good for Carnival.

Keep training.

Old 10-27-2003, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Part 2

Losing those unwanted pounds

Brian Chin Leung is a physical fitness specialist and certified personal trainer.
e-mail questions to briancl@wow.net
Please consult your doctor before starting
any exercise programme.

Last month, I promised you that the first week of each month I would devote this column to helping those of you who would like to lose about 10 pounds for Carnival.

As you would recall, I told you in early September that the first step in our plan was to concentrate on 45 minutes of cardio (running, brisk walking, cardio karate, cycling etc) five days per week, plenty of abdominal training and to be selective in your food intake.

The second step in our plan is to now adjust your cardio to three days per week for one-hour duration sessions. Continue to do whatever form of cardio you like, be it aerobic dance, running etc, and remember to hydrate yourself before and during your workout. You also need to now concentrate on doing abdominal work everyday.

With regard to your diet, follow these general guidelines:

n Try to avoid the following foods at night time — bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, ground provisions and corn.

n Do not eat any fruit at night, instead have your fruit on mornings, avoid mangoes, they are fattening.

n Do not eat any fried foods and try to have most of your carbohydrates that you may like such as, potatoes, rice etc, at your lunch meal, not at night time. In the evening concentrate mainly on eating your protein (chicken or fish) with a salad.

Remember that these are just general guidelines. If you have any medical problems please check with your doctor and a certified nutritionist before going on any specific diet.

Now we are going to start adding weight-training to the equation. We are going to start very basic at first. All exercises will be four sets by ten reps. Mondays and Thursdays, you are going to work chest and back. Tuesdays and Fridays, you are going to work shoulders, arms and legs.

CHEST – Flat bench press, incline bench press and flyes. All chest exercises may be performed with dumbbells.

BACK – Lat pull downs or chin ups, barbell rows and seated rows.

SHOULDERS – Overhead dumbbell press, frontal raises, side laterals and bent over laterals.

TRICEPS – Lying triceps extensions (buss head) and dumbbell triceps kick backs.

BICEPS – Straight barbell curls and concentrated dumbbell curls.

LEGS – Free squats, lying leg curls and lunges.

CALVES – Standing calf raises and seated calf raises.

Michelle performs free squats with the assistance of personal trainer Ozzie Birchwood.

Remember, what is even more important than the actual exercise is having the proper mindset.

Although you are trying to lose just 10 pounds for Carnival, you should take this opportunity now that you have started your exercise programme to permanently adopt a fit and healthy lifestyle so you will look and feel good all year round.

Here are some things you need to know about alcohol, nicotine and caffeine and how these substances can affect your training.

Alcohol

1. Alcohol is not a stimulant, as some believe but a drug which suppresses body functions. It provides a temporary sense of well-being, but in reality it serves as a depressant to both mind and body.

2. It increases fatigue by slowing the removal of lactic acids from the cells.

3. It seriously interferes with the functioning of the nervous systems slowing your reaction time and reducing coordination.

4. Habitual use leads to poor eating patterns and eventual malnutrition.

Strong alcoholic drinks are undoubtedly detrimental to both conditioning and performance.

Nicotine

1. Smoking over a period of time causes constriction of the blood vessels.

2. Habitual smoking on an empty stomach can cause digestive disturbances and stress.

3. Inhalation of smoke induces chronic coughing, renders the throat more susceptible to infections and restricts the exchange of oxygen and carbon dioxide in the tiny air sacs of the lungs.

One of the immediate and temporary effects of nicotine is the constriction of blood vessels which raises blood pressure and increases the heart rate. These conditions have negative effects on performance.

Caffeine

Caffeine is a mild stimulant and moderate intake of caffeinated beverages are apparently harmless.

However, it should be kept in mind that caffeine is a toxic drug. If even a small amount is injected into the blood stream it can prove fatal.

Caffeine mostly affects the blood vessels, heart and nervous system.

A mild dose may cause general vasoconstriction with simultaneous dilation of the coronary artery, increase the contractile force of the heart and increase the heart rate.

Generally speaking, it would be wise for people who are concerned about their health and fitness level to stay clear or limit the amount of caffeinated beverages these ingest.

Looking good is a science that combines eating right with exercise and personal grooming. Continue to exercise, and eat properly in order to be healthy and fit, but also bear in mind that good personal grooming e.g. hair cut, body odor, skin care, dental care etc.

All of these things contribute to making the package more attractive.

Keep Training. Please consult your doctor before starting any exercise programme.

Old 10-28-2003, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 30
Thanks.
Old 10-28-2003, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 126
Great Info!

Glad tuh see I started at the Right time!! September 2nd!!