Old 01-30-2007, 09:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,258
Get your priorities straight...

That Broke thread just made me think, well actually it is something that I am always discussing with friends and the SO. People hear you going Trinidad for Carnival and it is almost like you wutless when it comes to responsibilities. In my case, it is always "so you missing school, or you spending so much money every year. That could be your down payment for a house already". STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSs It is like once you are going Trini you are irresponsible.

I am getting it double this year with ticket prices being so high. I haven't even told much people I am going, far less to "announce" how much I paid for my ticket because I will then hear "You mad, Carnival is not that serious, get your priorites straight"

How do you guys feel when you hear things like this.
Old 01-30-2007, 09:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
PJK
Return of the JeDi

Credits: 711
I feel fine because everyone is grown and they should be old enough to know what they can work with and what they cant work with. So if someone wants to splurge x-amount of dollars or take the last two vacation days they have till august its on them really...
Old 01-30-2007, 09:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Spreading Blessings

Credits: 351
While I agree with priorities, like PJK said big ppl should know their limitations.

Go if you can, if you on the fence financially, then you shouldn't take the risk! there's always next year!
Old 01-30-2007, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,258
I agree with you guys, but the question was more about how do you feel about people "looking down" at others who go Trini every year.
Old 01-30-2007, 09:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
PJK
Return of the JeDi

Tell dem to throw dey frame...
Old 01-30-2007, 10:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Credits: 5,228
As far as I'm concern it's worth every penny. So F them!
The amount of fun you have for those few days is priceless! You leave TNT on a whole new high
Old 01-30-2007, 10:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
PJK
Return of the JeDi

Yeah high interest rates...
Old 01-30-2007, 10:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Credits: 5,228
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
The Poor Man's Playboy Mansion is worth every cent
Old 01-30-2007, 10:18 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 392
Thats life.

live it and love while you alive.
Old 01-30-2007, 10:49 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 46
when ppl say those thing i tell them , some ppl work hard to pay bill and before u know it they dead and gone and all their life all they can say is i worked and payed bill .....once u plan and save your money for carnival u will be alright .

sometimes u just have to say f!$k it yes , if u study the money u spending u will never do anything or buy anything..don't get me wrong make sure and pay you rent ,light n gas ..... make sure that is one thing u will alway have .
Old 01-30-2007, 10:54 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 521
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
That Broke thread just made me think, well actually it is something that I am always discussing with friends and the SO. People hear you going Trinidad for Carnival and it is almost like you wutless when it comes to responsibilities. In my case, it is always "so you missing school, or you spending so much money every year. That could be your down payment for a house already". STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSs It is like once you are going Trini you are irresponsible.

I am getting it double this year with ticket prices being so high. I haven't even told much people I am going, far less to "announce" how much I paid for my ticket because I will then hear "You mad, Carnival is not that serious, get your priorites straight"

How do you guys feel when you hear things like this.
I find if "people" are not buying my plane ticket, paying for my costume, accomodation and fetes then they could just hush their asses. I honestly think that if you save for this trip, like any other, you should be set and not end of broke like most people think. Its only once a year, and if you make certain sacrifices throughout the year, in order to be home for carnival
your ass will not end up in shit street. Once your priorities are in order who the hell cares what people have to say? Not I.

And another thing if someone desides to make a rash decision
as going to carnival when they know that they shouldn't then
that is there business. They will have fun no doubt but will have to face the consequences of their actions. Not I though. I'm not doing anything stupid to get to carnival.
Old 01-30-2007, 11:00 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 395
Originally Posted by kill Bill View Post
when ppl say those thing i tell them , some ppl work hard to pay bill and before u know it they dead and gone and all their life all they can say is i worked and payed bill .....once u plan and save your money for carnival u will be alright .

sometimes u just have to say f!$k it yes , if u study the money u spending u will never do anything or buy anything..don't get me wrong make sure and pay you rent ,light n gas ..... make sure that is one thing u will alway have .

AGREED!!
Old 01-30-2007, 11:03 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 25
Originally Posted by Short_Thing View Post
I find if "people" are not buying my plane ticket, paying for my costume, accomodation and fetes then they could just hush their asses. I honestly think that if you save for this trip, like any other, you should be set and not end of broke like most people think. Its only once a year, and if you make certain sacrifices throughout the year, in order to be home for carnival
your ass will not end up in shit street. Once your priorities are in order who the hell cares what people have to say? Not I.

And another thing if someone desides to make a rash decision
as going to carnival when they know that they shouldn't then
that is there business. They will have fun no doubt but will have to face the consequences of their actions. Not I though. I'm not doing anything stupid to get to carnival.
+1 my sentiments exactly. i try to go every year but i save in advance for any trip i take AND make sure i could still pay my bills before and after i return.
Old 01-30-2007, 11:16 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,064
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
high interest rates? that's what sou sou's are for. buy your ticket cash, buy costume cash, accommodations cash (doesn't apply to me), tickets to fetes cash. you'll be more than fine
but seriously I know my limitations I plan my whole year's vacation and if Trini is can not fall into that limit then i won't go. there always next year or the year after next. I wish some one could come and tell me to "get my priorties straight"
Old 01-30-2007, 11:51 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 26
Originally Posted by Dutty View Post
Thats life.

live it and love while you alive.
yeah this is what i say to me....when it comes from my inside (hey, you better should concentrate on your MD and you should be responsible and grown-up, look what the others do, they don´t work extra and are more easily able to get there priorities done and they don´t spend so much time with thinking of a ridicoulous costume and outfits for fetes...) - hey, it is once in my life, from next year on i will be locked in a hospital and never be seen again to fullfill and do what i always wanted to do. SO WHY NOT PARTY AND ENJOY TO THE FULLEST, MISBEHAVE ONE LAST TIME, it is only one life to live and i will not have a bad conscious