Old 09-12-2006, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 522
Found this article/ letter to the editor

in the Trinidad Express Newspaper.....So trinis
mainly focus on Carnival? I AM SO GUILTY!

Carnival? What about Divali, Eid?
Saturday, September 9th 2006

The Carnival mentality in this country is getting totally out of hand. Band and costume launches are taking place as early as August now.
Might I remind readers that we are still in 2006 and have yet to celebrate Divali! The date for Eid has not even been announced and Christmas has only been mentioned in terms of year-end sales!
Where are you Divali, Eid and Christmas? Why can't I find you? Have you been smothered by the feathers and beads of Carnival gear?
I'm appalled at the blatant disregard for the aforementioned religious observances and the over-exposure of the Carnival scheduled for February 2007.
Trinidad is neither one dimensional nor its people of one culture.

Sati Mohammed
San Fernando
Old 09-12-2006, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Saucy_diva

what the hell? Divali and Eid doh fall in my garden, I am not of that religious denomination and is not like the WHOLE country going to bandlaunching or we get a holiday for it so what is the problem? And plenty people I know who celebrate Divali and Eid doh participate in Carnival..so we suppose to get vex for that then? steups!

And for years now Harts launching in AUGUST..I tell you these now come Carnival people who doh know nuttin!
Old 09-12-2006, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
*Beaming down my rays :)*

Location: Somewhere still with plenty text books and cases...boooo!
Also, there is also a mad rush at certain points for Carnival... Band Launches always cause a stir because they are followed by craziness to register and such..Then it calms down a lil... And if it doesnt so what! to each his/her on!
Old 09-12-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Whining Criminal

Credits: 218
not picking sides or picking on any groups of ppl. but reading this reminds me of when someone/group wrote that instead of Soca Warriors it should be Soca Chutney Warriors.
Old 09-12-2006, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

Steups....tell Sati Mohammed to hush he rass.....his carnival probably consists of sittin on ah street corner with ah bottle of Black Label mixed wiht gramazone anyway!
OOh Divali......and Eid....steups......lemme drive around Valpark and thing to watch all deh great works of deh Festival of lights......he is ah real iggit......
*I wonder if Indians in Trini really think they run things?*
Old 09-12-2006, 12:41 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 522
Originally Posted by Trini Exhibitionist View Post
Steups....tell Sati Mohammed to hush he rass.....his carnival probably consists of sittin on ah street corner with ah bottle of Black Label mixed wiht gramazone anyway!
OOh Divali......and Eid....steups......lemme drive around Valpark and thing to watch all deh great works of deh Festival of lights......he is ah real iggit......
*I wonder if Indians in Trini really think they run things?*
it have real indians in carnival/ mas and i know
they probably just as excited as me about carnival
Old 09-12-2006, 12:42 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Short_Thing View Post
it have real indians in carnival/ mas and i know
they probably just as excited as me about carnival
ooh i know there are....but i think he feel he's speaking for deh majority of them anyway!
Old 09-12-2006, 12:50 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 106
Originally Posted by Short_Thing View Post
in the Trinidad Express Newspaper.....So trinis
mainly focus on Carnival? I AM SO GUILTY!

Carnival? What about Divali, Eid?
Saturday, September 9th 2006

The Carnival mentality in this country is getting totally out of hand. Band and costume launches are taking place as early as August now.
Might I remind readers that we are still in 2006 and have yet to celebrate Divali! The date for Eid has not even been announced and Christmas has only been mentioned in terms of year-end sales!
Where are you Divali, Eid and Christmas? Why can't I find you? Have you been smothered by the feathers and beads of Carnival gear?
I'm appalled at the blatant disregard for the aforementioned religious observances and the over-exposure of the Carnival scheduled for February 2007.
Trinidad is neither one dimensional nor its people of one culture.

Sati Mohammed
San Fernando
This is a pack of A$$!!!! Nobody in Trinidad ever ignores any of the religious holidays. We celebrate when it get here...he talking bout Eid...We dont even know what date Eid is yet!!!!

Trinidadians = Carnival..dat is we ting! Who vex loss!