Old 08-11-2006, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,794
Found this Article

in the T&T Guardian, July 21st, 2006 by Peter Ray Blood

Making Mas in August

Expect pomp and pageantry for Carnival 2007 as most of the popular mas bands in north Trinidad seem bent on taking a page from Trini Revellers’ successful 2006 period presentation of Rome. Come C2K7, the streets of the nation’s capital will come alive with portrayals from ancient India, Africa, France, Greece and even a bit of North American Indian lore.

There will also be some high fashion on the streets, as well as a return to traditional Trini mas, plus tributes to past icons like the late George Bailey and Harold Saldenah.

Two major players in the mas arena will launch their C2K7 presentations as early as pre mid-August. Harts International has scheduled its launch of Ethiopia on August 11 at Trinidad Country Club, with Tribe doing the same the following evening with Ole Time Something…Come Back Again. This week, Tribe leader Dean Ackin, who made an indelible first impression this year with What lies beneath..., disclosed that next year’s presentation is “a tribute to traditional mas in T&T.”

Things are bubbling down south as well as reigning Band of the Year We People Int, led by Dawad Philip, is well advanced in its planning for presenting Dante’s Inferno. Just let your imagination run wild with this one.

Other mas bands which have already named their C2K7 portrayals and are in the process of also planning early launchings are Brian Mac Farlane (India); Big Mike & Legacy (Hiawatha); Island People (Sahara); Masquerade (Golden Heritage...a Tribute to Mas); Genesis (In the name of Troy); 2 Ha’quai (A Sailor’s Tale); Pulse 8 (Cocktails); Trevor Wallace & Associates (Mackie on the Catwalk); Rampage (The Masked Ball); and, defending Band of the Year (Large) Trini Revellers (The French Revolution).

Article was done by
Old 08-11-2006, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 31
Small error in that article

Hart's presentation is called "Utopia" not Ethiopia.
Old 08-11-2006, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by squeezle
Hart's presentation is called "Utopia" not Ethiopia.
meh eh the author of this article...
Old 08-11-2006, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)

I wasn't saying that YOU made the error! I was just pointing out the original author's mistake.

I, for one, got very excited when the article first came out because I thought "Oh my God! Harts has an actual THEME this year!!!!" But when I found out the correct name of the presentation, I was kinda let-down.
Old 08-11-2006, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 41,539
I can't wait to see Dantes Inferno. I'm itching to see how this is going to be translated into the mas. I can't wait to see India and all the other mas as well.

Heck, I just can't wait to get my mas fix on.

Old 08-11-2006, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy

I know just how you feel. At this point, I just want to macco any and every costume. Bring on the MAS!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-11-2006, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by squeezle
I know just how you feel. At this point, I just want to macco any and every costume. Bring on the MAS!!!!!!!!!
it feels like its taking forever....
Old 08-12-2006, 07:03 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,120
Originally Posted by shandy
I can't wait to see Dantes Inferno. I'm itching to see how this is going to be translated into the mas. I can't wait to see India and all the other mas as well.

who's doing Dante's inferno?
Old 08-12-2006, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess
who's doing Dante's inferno?
Things are bubbling down south as well as reigning Band of the Year We People Int, led by Dawad Philip, is well advanced in its planning for presenting Dante’s Inferno. Just let your imagination run wild with this one.