Old 03-20-2006, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 142
Fellas plaing Mas a moment of your time

im a part of (X) Mas organization and as we are gearing up for Ny carnival season (early yes yes I know) and it seems like an ongoing issue is how to apeal to the men playing mas as sadly they are being over looked and according to some ladies not enough of you are playing. so fellas give me your top five things that draws you to play mas in a peticular band. (and please we all know fine ladies is at the top so no need to list)
and you can pm me if you need more details

ladies if you have any CONSTRUCTIVE imput please feel free to add as you are always welcome
Old 03-21-2006, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)

wow so much peepers and no body answer

well dont say your opinions were never asked for
Old 03-21-2006, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 268
Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess
im a part of (X) Mas organization and as we are gearing up for Ny carnival season (early yes yes I know) and it seems like an ongoing issue is how to apeal to the men playing mas as sadly they are being over looked and according to some ladies not enough of you are playing. so fellas give me your top five things that draws you to play mas in a peticular band. (and please we all know fine ladies is at the top so no need to list)
and you can pm me if you need more details

ladies if you have any CONSTRUCTIVE imput please feel free to add as you are always welcome

1) come on are male costumes realy the same price as female costumes?

2) this year i played in TRINI it was a last min choice but the designs of some male costumes are realy bad jokes.

3) go alllll inclusive sell the costumes in packages so when a woman buys a costume the male costume is part of thepackage.

4) more than one design: it have all kind of men out there so a costume should come in about 3 types for each body type.(some men have shame)

5)style you know the black man likes style like that poison section........ platinum and disco mania some yrs back contemporary stuff yuh know.

Last edited by NEO ONE; 03-21-2006 at 08:15 AM..
Old 03-21-2006, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 379
I was thinking, thye need to make the costumes more manly, I'm sure no men want to walk around like sissies.

Men love mas as much as us women do, so we need to make it good / enjoyable for them too!
Old 03-21-2006, 08:42 AM   #5 (permalink)

Reasons WHY I PLAY MAS!!!???

**Going home is my recharge!!!*

I play Mas because of:

1. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

2. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

3. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

4. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

5. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

**I doh know about deh men part**
Old 03-21-2006, 09:05 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 268
**Going home is my recharge!!!*

I play Mas because of:

1. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

2. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

3. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

4. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

5. ORGASMIC COSTUME!!!

**I doh know about deh men part**

HMMM
SO PRINCESS, GIVE THE WOMEN ORGASMIC COSTUMES THIS WILL SUGGEST THAT WOMEN WILL BE LOOKING AND FEELING ORGASMIC, THUS THEY WOULD ALSO BEHAVE IN AN ORGASMIC MANNER.
THIS LOOK AND BEHAVEIOR SHOULD HAVE A MAGNETIC KNOCK ON EFFECT ON THE MEN, IE MEN WANT TO FEEL OGASMIC TOO, SO THEY WILL JOIN THE BAND JUST TO SHARE THE EXPERIENCE WITH THE ORGASMIC LADIES.

NICE THEORY Trini Exhibitionist
Old 03-21-2006, 09:14 AM   #7 (permalink)

it is always this one they call neo

*that's my theory *
Old 03-21-2006, 09:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 5,409
Carnival is just not the same on U.S. soil.

No desire to play mas in Brooklyn, DC, Boston etc. I'm just not going to dress up in all sorts of shiny costume, glitter body paint, and all that where I live. Save it for the island where I can go into a drunken stupor and my behavior is appreciated.

Not to mention, you have alot of your Drs., Lawyers, other professionals that don't quite want to Sh!t, where they eat. But they will do it away from home in a heartbeat.
Old 03-21-2006, 10:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Jamaican Su'Flan

Credits: 5,228
Originally Posted by Swervin
No desire to play mas in Brooklyn, DC, Boston etc. I'm just not going to dress up in all sorts of shiny costume, glitter body paint, and all that where I live. Save it for the island where I can go into a drunken stupor and my behavior is appreciated.

Not to mention, you have alot of your Drs., Lawyers, other professionals that don't quite want to Sh!t, where they eat. But they will do it away from home in a heartbeat.
I agree it just doesn't have the same effect up here.

Ppl behave way more Scandalous away from home.

Considering how pack the sidewalks are on the Parkway I may just play to avoid having to be on the sidewalks
Old 03-21-2006, 11:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Dragon Lizard

Credits: 33

Honestly I look forward to playing mas in Trinidad because it is more fun. In the states playing mas does not equal to the excitement of playing mas in Trinidad or any other West Indian country.

Also to me the carnival's are not that good anymore, I could remember back in days how good Miami used to be (waiting for somebody to rip down de gate at Apoloca Airport and rush to meet wit de band you was jumpin wit), at one point Labor Day used to be good but there are too many people and too many restrictions and DC is just good for the parties, de carnival itself ending at 2:00 pm.
Old 03-21-2006, 12:22 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 106
so fellas give me your top five things that draws you to play mas in a peticular band. (and please we all know fine ladies is at the top so no need to list)
1. Music Truck Sound System(s)...clean powerful well-engineered sound...bass that ripples your shorts.

2. DJ Performance...Music selection critical as well as good taste on use of mic, music should be central focus, not DJ. I prefer a wide selection of music from different islands.

3. Prefer DJ Trucks but a top live band on the road would be great as well.

4. Start the music with food and drinks in the assembly area long before the parade gets underway.

5. Good security to keep stormers out.
Old 03-21-2006, 12:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 123

have to agree on some levels. I think that also, this has to do with years and years of people not giving two craps about the mens costumes either.

Personally, No one has ever given me a REASON to play mas in the states. Men costumes are generally shorts and some arm/leg bands. Come up with some designs that are appealing to men and you MAY see a change.

Women bring beauty to the road, but it's the men that bring the ENERGY! There's no balance anymore and until that balance is brought back, I'll be on the side taking pics (or playin mud in DC)
Old 03-21-2006, 02:53 PM   #13 (permalink)

ok guys and Trini Ex im hearing yuh but i need solid lists of issues/things to add remove so i can bring this up in a to the point mannor. and this is not confined to playing mas in the states, just men playing mas in general.
Old 03-21-2006, 03:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 5,409
Ok

ok guys and Trini Ex im hearing yuh but i need solid lists of issues/things to add remove so i can bring this up in a to the point mannor. and this is not confined to playing mas in the states, just men playing mas in general.

OK..well, now that you put it...
What motivates me...since I do play mas out of the country..

Women in sexy costumes
Open TopShelf well stocked Bars
strong sound system..with artists if you can get them
Well organized Band
Old 03-21-2006, 03:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
I beez Tribing!!!

Credits: 591
Originally Posted by bygmyke33
Honestly I look forward to playing mas in Trinidad because it is more fun. In the states playing mas does not equal to the excitement of playing mas in Trinidad or any other West Indian country.

Also to me the carnival's are not that good anymore, I could remember back in days how good Miami used to be (waiting for somebody to rip down de gate at Apoloca Airport and rush to meet wit de band you was jumpin wit), at one point Labor Day used to be good but there are too many people and too many restrictions and DC is just good for the parties, de carnival itself ending at 2:00 pm.

Memories.........