#17 (permalink) | |
Credits: 43,454
Arimagal, I was thinking about that prize money too. If I dare call it prize money, that’s not even enough for a rum and roti lime, not even a good curry-que. $500 for a band that takes 1,000’s of dollars to produce is a downright F-U from the organizers. I was thinking, sometimes the City cuts down services in a given area because of lack of votes. The City looks at the numbers of those who visit the polls in a given area to determine what to do, what to cut as far as services, fire stations etc. Not to take away from the lousy way this carnival and those involved are being handled, BUT I believe we as a community if qualified to vote, have to vote. We have to start flexing our muscles at the polls when time comes as well as sign petitions, email all those involved and do whatever it takes to ensure the survival of our cultural expression.
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
#18 (permalink) |
Hawks International Weighs IN!!!
Hello all my astute fellow IMIXERs..I am elated that this topic is finally getting some play all over… As a rep for Hawks and intimately evolved with organizing our presentation for this year “Splendor of Egypt” a couple of things must be said…I have personally participated in these meetings WIADCA (West Indian American Day Carnival Association) in utter dis-belief and disgust! WIADCA is not running the carnival the police are! They dictate to WIDICA what must be done and they implement the city’s policy. What we need is a union (Carnival Band Leaders Association) like CBLAC which we are partly responsible for forming. Because of the lack of funding it can only do so much. So we the organizations continue to be disrespected!! What is Hawks going to do about it…well this year we were pressured by our die hard supporters to come out one more time…for the sake of our supporters we will try our hardest!! Here is a breakdown:
1 Tuck with Music and all the trimmings = 12K 1 Truck with band = 15k 1 Construction of costumes & stipends = depends on number of masqueraders 1 Register to play MAS with WIDICA = $100-$500 depending on how much noise you make to the City about WIDICA, 2003 Hawks will have to pay $500 as punishment for our boycott last year! 1 Truck with refreshments = 4K 1 MAS infrastructure = 4k (season) Total Estimated Cost $35,000 (excluding cost of manufacturing of costumes) for a “big band.” This infrastructure can pay for itself if you have enough masqueraders, but if you don’t…yuh shit a duck! The Hawks First Fridays are a way of trying to raise funds for all of our programs! Scholarships, our computer school for kids and our cultural programs like the MAS. Last year it was a decision of the school over the MAS. This year it is by request…but I can tell you 2003 May be Hawks Final Year in protest if New York City/WIDICA does not reinvest in our community…Look for us in a city near you! Hell all the other ethnic groups get what they want…So we appreciate all the continued support. We will insure that the $$$ get spent on things that support the community and not the corruption that is currently taking place… We are a not-for-profit 501 c 3 and our books are open for public review on the net… Become enlighten and “Dare to forge the future” No need for us to write letters..Mary Markowitz is a long standing member of Hawks.. and for those of you who mentioned that he does a lot for our community, I agree..but don’t be fooled..open your eyes a little wider..you see that last name that someone mentioned..that’s all I have to say! He is a Hawks Member and Brooklyn Borough president, so why is it so difficult for an organization that he is a part of to get treated farily…Rhetorical question… |
#19 (permalink) |
Credits: 212
how do they plan to keep everyone on the other side of the barracade? is it just me or plain clothes people jumping up in a band makes 70% of the carnival great. they always had barriers before but I never let it stop me, i just take a jump up over them and follow a truck. so, whats going to be different this year? will they be pulling everyone out? i dont think there would be that much police presence
#20 (permalink) | |
#21 (permalink) | |
bwahahahahaha you are a real a$$ :p |
#22 (permalink) |
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,078
WOW Thanks Pine for this link. I hope people know what they doing because Attorneys may have to start stepping in and folks will be at risk now of getting sued.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
#23 (permalink) |
Credits: 55,360
#24 (permalink) |
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
Credits: 683
i third chun li's motion!!!!!
"Racism is not an excuse to not do the best you can." - Arthur Ashe "I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain." Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987) "Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman." Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993) |
#25 (permalink) |
Credits: 94
Excellent Post
I looked at the original date..cannot belive nothing has changed. In fact it is even worst. Time to be a little bit more radical this time!
#26 (permalink) |
Credits: 181
so what will be done
will we just sit by and watch our carnival go to shit ive been trying to find out when this cARNIVAL COMITEET MEET AND HOW ARE THE PEOPLE ELECTED AND I AM BORN AND RAISED IN CROWN HEIGHTS WHERE CARNIVAL TAKES PLACE ALL THAT PROJECT NIGHTINGALE BULL SHIT COMES TO A CEASE IN OCTOBER WHEN THE JEWS HAVE A WEEK LONG FESTIVAL THAT INCLUDES CONCERTS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT WE PEOPLE NEED TO REAL ORGANIZE. IVE ATTEMPTED TO CALL POLICE DURING THESE CONCERTS AND WAS TOLD " WE KNOW ABOUT IT THEY HAVE A PERMIT FOR THE WEEK" Y DONT THE WICDA GET PERMITS FOR THE MAS CAMPS TO THROW FUNDRAISERS...
I BET THIER EXECUTIVE BOARD DRIVE PURE GOOD CAR AND LIVE IN PURE BIG HOUSE... FYAH BUN..... ![]() |
#27 (permalink) | |
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة
Credits: 683
"Racism is not an excuse to not do the best you can." - Arthur Ashe "I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain." Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987) "Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman." Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993) |
#28 (permalink) | |
Credits: 1,061
but again no one dose, we sit like sheep instead ![]() well im a part of the revolution and my war will be televised. ![]()
#29 (permalink) |
Credits: 4,196
#30 (permalink) |
Credits: 1,061
that "we" will always be the thorne in "our" side. my team has pulled out of carnival this year but as a whole both steel and Mas we need to together demand what is ours from the powers that be or we taking they precious baby from them and finding forster parents to love and "support" us

who'll be getting sued? For what?