Old 02-24-2008, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,721
Enough of the band talk.....changes you would like to see for carnival

I will start:

1) A damn Savannah stage....it is not the same without it.

2) Start of J'ouvert go back to 2 am. There is something about jamming from night til morning that isn't there with the 4am start.

3) The NCC or whichever organization running carnival now to take a more active role and give each band and assigned route. That way you don't have all the big bands together and there is no long wait at judging points.

Last edited by trinidarkie; 02-24-2008 at 01:43 PM..
Old 02-24-2008, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,263
1. PLEASE BRING BACK D BIG YARD STAGE! But from the looks of contruction or the lack there of, we won't see that anytime soon.

2. A fluid procession of bands

3. ADEQUATE planning from one canrival year to the next. Damn, discussions and logistics should start up Ash Wednesday for the following year.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 02-24-2008, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 1,920
does this include other island carnivals?
Old 02-24-2008, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 6,721
Originally Posted by Nickyan View Post
does this include other island carnivals?
You can talk about other carnivals just specify which one.
Old 02-24-2008, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 15,462
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
1. PLEASE BRING BACK D BIG YARD STAGE! But from the looks of contruction or the lack there of, we won't see that anytime soon.

2. A fluid procession of bands

3. ADEQUATE planning from one canrival year to the next. Damn, discussions and logistics should start up Ash Wednesday for the following year.
yes yes........all bands should b able to follow their routes freely and have alternate rutes in place in case of some unforseen circumstance.........I would also like to see Emergency vehicles perhaps use roads that are parallel to the main parade roads like Arapita Ave so that people doh have to be dodging dem passing tru for wat seems like no REAL emergency 99% of the time.
Old 02-24-2008, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 1,920
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
You can talk about other carnivals just specify which one.
ok! well when 1 pops up ill be here!
Old 02-24-2008, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,751
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
I will start:

1) A damn Savannah stage....it is not the same without it.
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post

#1-Most definitely DE SAVANNAH STAGE
*The newbies enjoy themselves w/o a stage just imagine if they jump on the savannah stage *
#2-Better and more organized parade route to avoid the clashing of bands
#3-Keep Carnival as is do not move to a later date
#4-Extend CARNIVAL to a week...as Shurwayne said "Carnival will always be too short"
Old 02-24-2008, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
Like everyone said BRING BACK DE STAGE...that was the worse ever. At least do like NY then and let people know where the judging starts and ends. I walked across the "stage" and was like huh? Which caused me to go back and jump with the next 7 sections to make up for it
Old 02-25-2008, 08:18 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,114
Originally Posted by Prinzez Diva View Post
Like everyone said BRING BACK DE STAGE...that was the worse ever. At least do like NY then and let people know where the judging starts and ends. I walked across the "stage" and was like huh? Which caused me to go back and jump with the next 7 sections to make up for it
like you wouldnt have anyway.

but of course THE STAGE... and all of the other things mentioned and do something wid the freeging prices man it getting so people cyar afford Mas
Old 02-25-2008, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess View Post
like you wouldnt have anyway.

but of course THE STAGE... and all of the other things mentioned and do something wid the freeging prices man it getting so people cyar afford Mas
Shhhhh when the stage come back I will have to look for a new excuse.
Old 02-26-2008, 10:17 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 234
The Stage deff #1 feels like DC carnival without it....
NCC to take a deeper role in carnival.
Old 02-26-2008, 11:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
December Baby

Credits: 521
Carnival prices bring it back to where everyone can afford it
Old 02-26-2008, 11:26 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 14,069
Originally Posted by cseemungal View Post
Carnival prices bring it back to where everyone can afford it
You mean the price to play in the band? Or fete tickets and airfare and lodging?
Old 02-26-2008, 06:10 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 4,625
Bahia Brazil

They shouldn`t be playing house/techno music at carnival. I hate it here where I live, and to travel and see this in person disgusts me.

Outrageously priced accomodations, I don`t complain about pricing normally, but this is an exception.

Other than those two complaints carnival was a blast. Wouldn`t change a thing.
Old 02-26-2008, 07:57 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 160,103
Originally Posted by ~SR~ View Post
You mean the price to play in the band? Or fete tickets and airfare and lodging?

You Rated this Thread: