Old 01-20-2006, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 265
Eh Eh Check And See If Your Band Is Crossing

Some of the most popular large mas bands in T&T will not be crossing the Queen’s Park Savannah stage come Carnival Tuesday, after being forced to post as much as a $50,000 bond ahead of the 2006 competition.

Defending band of the year champs Trini Revellers, Poison, Tribe, Hart and Masquerade are a few of the bands that will be boycotting the savannah stage, after the National Carnival Commission (NCC) announced bands would have to pay a cash bond in lieu of breaking any rules or regulations during the Parade of Bands competition.

The main penalties involve spending too much time on stage and veering off the parade route.

The pending boycott was announced by the National Carnival Development Foundation yesterday, during a press conference at the Harvard Sports Club, St James.

NCDF chairman Donald Little said the decision was taken by the NCC at a Carnival Parade of Bands committee meeting on Monday, where no representatives of his organisation were present.

Little said that of his 90-strong membership, at least 40 cross the savannah stage. Out of the 10 large bands that parade in Port-of-Spain, nine of them were NCDF representatives, he said.

A copy of the minutes from the meeting stated that “members agreed that there should be fairness to all bands participating in the competition and the category that have historically contributed to the congestion problem, put up a bond.”

A cash bond of $30,000 is to be paid by bands that have 1,001 to 5,000 masqueraders. Bands with more than 5,000 players will pay $50,000.

Bandleaders are up in arms against the bond, which, in the case of the $50,000 figure, surpasses the prize money for band of the year title, which is $35,000.

The bonds are to be applied as liquidated damages for any infringement of the rules, the minutes stated.

Little said a complete list of rules and regulations for the competition has not yet been compiled or distributed to bands by the NCC.

In addition to the bonds, the NCC has decreased the time allotted to big bands crossing the stage.

Bands with 5,000 or more members have 75 minutes to cross this year, compared to 90 minutes last year.

The NCDF has called for an increase in the purse, which they believe should parallel the top prizes for Panorama ($400,000) and the Carnival king and queen of the band competition ($100,000).

“There is some misconception that large bands are ruining Carnival,” said Tribe representative and NCDF board member Michael Nobriega.

“It is the number of masqueraders not the size of the band that is the problem. Bandleaders should limit their bands themselves, within their ability or their capability to manage the band,” he said.

Nobriega added that it is the inability of the powers that be to manage Carnival that has led to congestion in Port-of-Spain during the Carnival parade.

Members of Poison and Masquerade complained that vendors on the parade route and those stationed at the savannah, coupled with spectators, cause more congestion than bands.

They said the NCC has to come up with innovative ways for bands to manoeuvre the existing parade route, which is confined in a city too small for the ever-growing Carnival.

Contacted yesterday, NCC commissioner Sigler Jack said the decision for bonds was not final, as it is yet to be discussed by the board of commissioners.

He said the meeting was only one of a sub-committee involved in the planning of Carnival.

After making a referral to a newspaper article yesterday, where he said chairman of the NCC Kenny de Silva spoke on the matter, Jack then denied having any knowledge of the bonds.

“This is the first time I am hearing that such a decision was taken,” he said.

Little said he was also not informed if the bonds would be returned by the NCC if bands obeyed all the rules and regulations.

“I trust that they will give you back the money.”
Old 01-20-2006, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)

No friggin way why they just doh call out Poison one time and done!!!! steups....that's ridiculous....do these *so-called* whoevers know that it's the masqueraders....and people are so hype about being on that stage.....it's hard to just jump two seconds and leave *hence all deh people who always running back*
Old 01-20-2006, 09:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 52
Originally Posted by Chun Li

It is the number of masqueraders not the size of the band that is the problem. Bandleaders should limit their bands themselves, within their ability or their capability to manage the band,” he said.

Uhmmm, but doesn't the masqueraders make up the size of the band. What is he talking about??
Old 01-20-2006, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by classyivy1
Uhmmm, but doesn't the masqueraders make up the size of the band. What is he talking about??
ENT!!!! If it's the size of the band then they should only have small bands enter!!!!
Old 01-20-2006, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 362
Well sorry to say come hell or high water w/ or w/o the band I crossing the damn stage...one drunken wayward fairy passing thru...

What is the point of masquerading if you dont cross?
Old 01-20-2006, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 419
Originally Posted by ILanDFnTsY
Well sorry to say come hell or high water w/ or w/o the band I crossing the damn stage...one drunken wayward fairy passing thru...

Aye, fantasy, doh sell KD costume just yet, she still going she say...
Old 01-20-2006, 10:19 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 992
Was just about to post myself.

This is quite interesting
Old 01-20-2006, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 992
Originally Posted by classyivy1
It think he means that a large band could have 2000 or 5000 ppl. Therefore it is not necesarily all large bands just the ones with lots of ppl.
Old 01-20-2006, 10:27 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by brownskintrini
Aye, fantasy, doh sell KD costume just yet, she still going she say...
I wasn't planning on selling it anyhow...that one woulda be on you.
Old 01-20-2006, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)

I AGREE!!!!! lemme see dem catch meh in flight.....
Old 01-20-2006, 10:47 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 419
I wasn't planning on selling it anyhow...that one woulda be on you.
Well, leh we see...she was drunk when she reassured me anyhow.
Old 01-20-2006, 11:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Imix Biggest Freak

Credits: 1,453

U is an a$$....

I AGREE!!!!! lemme see dem catch meh in flight.....
Old 01-20-2006, 11:37 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by GoldnHoney
U is an a$$....

girl...this is pure shyt these people talking here....ooh may not cross stage....??? dem is fighting words!!!!
Old 01-20-2006, 12:25 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 379
Lord faddah!

Anytime I listenin to de tunes, meh eye just close up and I on de stage - I eh even been before!

Boy, if someone tell me that I eh cross de stage, i look to hijack somebody band or i takin bottle & spoon and I goin so.

These people mad or what?
Old 01-20-2006, 12:39 PM   #15 (permalink)

"Contacted yesterday, NCC commissioner Sigler Jack said the decision for bonds was not final, as it is yet to be discussed by the board of commissioners.'

I doubt it will happen...bc if all the bands boycott what would be the point?