Old 03-02-2004, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 247
Dub on carnival tuesday

was i the only one that heard reggae played on carnival tuesday??? what was that??????? : and why?? should carnival tues be all soca? or is dub, r&b ok???
Old 03-02-2004, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hellooo

Credits: 138
i didn't hear any reggae.. and i'm glad i didn't i would of been mad as hell.... but i think it should on be soca playing on carnival tues...i mean we only have carnival mon & tues, can we atleast enjoy tht without reggae or rap..
Old 03-02-2004, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)

Re: Dub on carnival tuesday

Originally posted by soca junkie
was i the only one that heard reggae played on carnival tuesday??? what was that??????? : and why?? should carnival tues be all soca? or is dub, r&b ok???
you heard that in your section? who was your dj?
whoever it is should be ashamed I think the entire carnival SEASON SHOULD BE ALL SOCA DAMMIT reggae, hiphop or r&b should be banned during the carnival season. I think any dj or live band caught playing anything other than soca should have to pay a fine
Old 03-02-2004, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
VINCY4LlFE

Re: Dub on carnival tuesday

Originally posted by soca junkie
There is nothing wrong with reggae being part of CARNIVAL. You can still have the CARNIVAL feel inspite the presence of reggae. I am sure there were those who were in OPPOSITION to reggae being part of the Labor Day festivities on Eastern Parkway. We can now APPRECIATE the HUGE crowds that these reggae trucks bring to Parkway. The same thing goes for the Haitians. I am sure that it is good for business.

Since Trinidad is going to MARKET itself as a TOURISM destination, I am sure adding these elements to its carnival can only help. We're living in a GLOBAL economy, so we have to OPEN up our countries to other ELEMENTS that are not EXCLUSIVELY ours.

Just like how America was not receptive to INTERRACIAL marriage, surely we can move PAST this thinking that SOCA should only be EXCLUSIVE to carnival. I am in favor of adding other Caribbean cultures to carnival.
Old 03-02-2004, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Re: Re: Dub on carnival tuesday

Originally posted by VINCY4LlFE
There is nothing wrong with reggae being part of CARNIVAL. You can still have the CARNIVAL feel inspite the presence of reggae. I am sure there were those who were in OPPOSITION to reggae being part of the Labor Day festivities on Eastern Parkway. We can now APPRECIATE the HUGE crowds that these reggae trucks bring to Parkway. The same thing goes for the Haitians. I am sure that it is good for business.

Since Trinidad is going to MARKET itself as a TOURISM destination, I am sure adding these elements to its carnival can only help. We're living in a GLOBAL economy, so we have to OPEN up our countries to other ELEMENTS that are not EXCLUSIVELY ours.

Just like how America was not receptive to INTERRACIAL marriage, surely we can move PAST this thinking that SOCA should only be EXCLUSIVE to carnival. I am in favor of adding other Caribbean cultures to carnival.
For West Indian celebrations in the States playing Reggae, Compas, Zouk in addition to Soca is a good thing I guess.

But this is TRINIDAD CARNIVAL, why should we have to compromise our indigenous (sp?) aspects of carnival to cater to foreigners? We had 49,000 visitors (not including Trini expats) the largest so far without having to compromise anything. Why should we start now. Trinidad is the home of Calypso, Soca and Steelpan. I'm sure Brazil don't play anything other than Samba and New Orleans have their Zydeco, do you see them adding Soca or Reggae to thier festivals? Don't get me wrong, I like all kinds of music but Carnival time is the only time you get to hear Soca in all it's glory after Ash Wednesday that's all but gone until Boxing Day.

Old 03-02-2004, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 312
Please.. you have big name soca artiste that cannot put on a soca show without dub and hip hop so why allyuh expecting anything more for a little 2 x 4 d.j.