Old 02-11-2005, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 268
......and It Don't Stop

NCC delays mas results
The NCC’s decision to withhold Carnival competition results, pending an investigation into whether rules were broken by bands, was met with mixed reactions by prominent mas bandleaders yesterday.

NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said yesterday that there had been reports of infractions, but did not give details.

De Silva said the review committee wanted to investigate these reports before giving the final results.

The winners were originally scheduled to be announced at 10 am yesterday. However, an hour before the ceremony, the NCC postponed it until 2 pm yesterday.

The results were subsequently rescheduled to 3 pm today.

Dean Ackin, bandleader of Tribe, said he was pleased with the NCC move, since his band had suffered on Carnival Monday and Tuesday, because of the indiscretion of other bands that ignored the specified route.

“I am happy to hear that they are doing an investigation, because we were victims of bands taking the wrong route and cutting in front of us, and I do hope that they investigate thoroughly and those guilty are penalised,” he said.

However, Earl Patterson, leader of Masquerade, said he was sceptical about the judging.

“I get accustomed to NCC so long that I don’t think I have a comment. Even if they have infractions, they should sort it out quickly,” he said.

“I don’t think is so much the rules. I just think there was a big question mark hanging over the decision. But we will see tomorrow.”

Poison bandleader Michael Headley, meanwhile, said his band had come in for some unnecessary stick from his colleagues over the length of time they took on stage.

“I have been asking NCBA and NCC that if you have a stage that is 48 feet wide, yet they allow spectators to crowd the exit, and our 8,000-plus masqueraders have to exit the stage in single file. The real problem is the exit and the entrance. Those areas should be exclusive to masqueraders.”

Headley said the NCC should also consider placing live video cameras along the route, so masqueraders wouldn’t have to wait till they got to the Queen’s Park Savannah for their moment of glory on television.

“When they have to wait so long to be on TV, they become rebellious. They could also consider allowing half of the bands to cross the savannah in full costume on Monday and the other half on Tuesday. This could be reversed the following year, with the bands that went on Monday going on Tuesday and vice versa
Old 02-11-2005, 05:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx

Credits: 166
Old 02-11-2005, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Cool

Originally Posted by NEO ONE
NCC delays mas results
The NCC’s decision to withhold Carnival competition results, pending an investigation into whether rules were broken by bands, was met with mixed reactions by prominent mas bandleaders yesterday.

NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said yesterday that there had been reports of infractions, but did not give details.

De Silva said the review committee wanted to investigate these reports before giving the final results.

The winners were originally scheduled to be announced at 10 am yesterday. However, an hour before the ceremony, the NCC postponed it until 2 pm yesterday.

The results were subsequently rescheduled to 3 pm today.

Dean Ackin, bandleader of Tribe, said he was pleased with the NCC move, since his band had suffered on Carnival Monday and Tuesday, because of the indiscretion of other bands that ignored the specified route.

“I am happy to hear that they are doing an investigation, because we were victims of bands taking the wrong route and cutting in front of us, and I do hope that they investigate thoroughly and those guilty are penalised,” he said.

However, Earl Patterson, leader of Masquerade, said he was sceptical about the judging.

“I get accustomed to NCC so long that I don’t think I have a comment. Even if they have infractions, they should sort it out quickly,” he said.

“I don’t think is so much the rules. I just think there was a big question mark hanging over the decision. But we will see tomorrow.”

Poison bandleader Michael Headley, meanwhile, said his band had come in for some unnecessary stick from his colleagues over the length of time they took on stage.

“I have been asking NCBA and NCC that if you have a stage that is 48 feet wide, yet they allow spectators to crowd the exit, and our 8,000-plus masqueraders have to exit the stage in single file. The real problem is the exit and the entrance. Those areas should be exclusive to masqueraders.”

Headley said the NCC should also consider placing live video cameras along the route, so masqueraders wouldn’t have to wait till they got to the Queen’s Park Savannah for their moment of glory on television.

“When they have to wait so long to be on TV, they become rebellious. They could also consider allowing half of the bands to cross the savannah in full costume on Monday and the other half on Tuesday. This could be reversed the following year, with the bands that went on Monday going on Tuesday and vice versa

Good I'm glad NCC is doing an investigation and they better hold people accountable. :devil I had no problems calling everybody and their great grandmother on the NCC board and filing a verbal and written complaint on Ash Wednesday. If anyone else wants the contact information you can also email me and I will also send you the information.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL