Credits: 522
Do you or would you encourage
your child/baby to play mas? If you already do, at what age did you start them off......PJK any interest in getting the young one involved?
Wastin Time
Credits: 5,409
Maybe I'll give it a go on Eastern Parkway one year but the culture not really in his blood but das my fault. |
Credits: 46
well i started my niece from early when she was 3 ...now she's 7 and she knows machel voice very well ........
i think it is nice when the little ones are into the culture just as much as we.....so any little party or parade she can take part in i will make sure she's there ..... |
Reppin' TnT
Credits: 607
My nephew is 3 and he has his favorite soca songs like In your timing, One more time, Sugah sugah etc etc. He is in the 'culture' but it may be a few years down the road before he gets in the 'Mas playing' ting.
Going home soon...
Credits: 3,148
My daughter plays in Brooklyn and always beggin to play in DC....she is 8 now. I told her she couldnt go to Trini to play until she graduates from college though.
She is one soca lover too....she is always trying to convert her little friends, so they all know the Carnival tunes. She stays up on things. Lord have mercy the child loves herself some Destra. |
Wastin Time
++
I does find this is a bigger thing with mothers than fathers... Ah sure if my son mother was west indian, he would be more intune with the culture.
Credits: 27,172
As soon as mine is of age he starting off wit a lil bit a Kiddies carnival, pan lessons and when he is a teeneager h go take meh cane/walker and we heading Insomnia.
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV
Credits: 35
I started at 4 years old and would encourage my child to do the same thing. I want my children to know about their culture, no matter where they live.
Return of the JeDi
Credits: 711
The boy will follow his own path I will not encourage nor deter what he will choose to do. As long as he know it involves mixing music!!
Wastin Time
I need to sacrifice my own Carnival one year and tek him down. What he really needs is to spend a summer (or the summers), in TnT but ah sure his muddah not goin for that. not to mention, he dont have any cousins his age down there for him to run around with. Dat boy has not seen a flying cockroach yet, ent climb no trees, play in de river (memories of slipway), etc. and he might not ever for that matter. |
Look into my eyes - Give me your credits
Credits: 21,339
I mebbe was bout 6 or 7 and I had a ball as long as the juice and snow cone kept coming. Jump up with friends, put on glitter, have a standard, dance to music and show off a costume Pure Bliss. I not sure about doing that with a baby cuz they get heavy when u carry them for the whole day. But to me when they can walk for a long time you can start them and it would be best if their friends are in the same section or band.
~~~~DASECA run d world~~~~ Hurt people hurt people... Try to break the cycle. Look within yourself, value yourself and treat others with dignity. Daily Affirmation: I AM WHOLE, PERFECT, STRONG, POWERFUL, LOVING, HARMONIOUS AND HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |

they rather attend the parades well at least the older one, the little one rather stay home