View Poll Results: Do you agree with size restrictions on costumes
Yes I agree 26 46.43%
I don't agree 22 39.29%
I couldn't care less about it.....I'll find another band that would accept my size 8 14.29%
Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

Old 09-14-2005, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 521
Do you agree/ Disagree with

size retrictions on costumes? Y?N?
Please explain why/ why not
Old 09-14-2005, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 325
i ent even too sure what a frontline is... but if it is as it sounds, then I disagree and agree.
I mean, so long as yuh can buy the costume and jump you should be able to wear it. Its discrimination to not be able to because you dont fit the size criteria.

but at the same time, we all know sex sells and look at how yall carry on about the costumes and the models wearin them. Yuh think if they had pics of some obese people in these costumes yall would feel the same way about them? I doubt it. They would NOT look the same due to larger sizes and beads an ting hung differently. So if thats how life goes, why de bands cant want the better lookin costumes representin them in de frontline?

Sheeiiit! at de rate yall outta control, they soon gonna have good lookin requirement, and winin requirement (which I would advocate) too.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,255
Originally Posted by trini_chic
size retrictions on costumes? Y?N?
Please explain why/ why not
I think if a band is trying to look good its reasonable to have some size restrictions espeically when you're talking about bikini and beads costumes. Hopefully bands will keep their restrictions reasonable though and not only look for tall, Tyra Banks types. Don't exclude real women; but they have the right to demand that the women look fit, healthy and appealing.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Don't Watch Me, Watch TV

Credits: 35
I totally disagree on restrictions on the size of a masquerader. That is why women do such drastic things to make sure that they are able to get into their costume.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 44
If i had a band my only requirement is green dollars.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by yanktiguan
i ent even too sure what a frontline is... but if it is as it sounds, then I disagree and agree.
I mean, so long as yuh can buy the costume and jump you should be able to wear it. Its discrimination to not be able to because you dont fit the size criteria.

but at the same time, we all know sex sells and look at how yall carry on about the costumes and the models wearin them. Yuh think if they had pics of some obese people in these costumes yall would feel the same way about them? I doubt it. They would NOT look the same due to larger sizes and beads an ting hung differently. So if thats how life goes, why de bands cant want the better lookin costumes representin them in de frontline?

Sheeiiit! at de rate yall outta control, they soon gonna have good lookin requirement, and winin requirement (which I would advocate) too.

good points...........

bwaaaaaaaaaaaah
good looking people sections only
if yuh ugly u need not apply
i could see it now....
Old 09-14-2005, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80
What if some pieces of the costume are pre-ordered from a wholesale manufacturer and those pieces only come in certain sizes... In that case the size restriction is forced on the band, so the question then would be: does the band choose to alter the design of their costume and settle for something less than what you wanted, or should they stick with the original design and place a few restrictions on the available sizes?

Old 09-14-2005, 04:22 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LSK
What if some pieces of the costume are pre-ordered from a wholesale manufacturer and those pieces only come in certain sizes... In that case the size restriction is forced on the band, so the question then would be: does the band choose to alter the design of their costume and settle for something less than what you wanted, or should they stick with the original design and place a few restrictions on the available sizes?

i aint a costume desinger, but i highly doubt that
costume pieces only come in certain sizes...
i could be wrong though, its a matter of putting
beads and feathers together on some fabric
a lil extra for the people with more size
but its doable......bra n panties does come in all sizes so
i really doubt that the pieces are the problem

I personally think that its a matter of appearance
and what looks better/ is more appealing to the eyes
Old 09-14-2005, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 325

nah, im sure that does play an issue. Is not everything you can get in every size.... but the question is, if you arent able to find the piece in all desired sizes, does that costume have to be the frontline?

but then again, like I said before.... I really doh know anything about this whole mas ting, so.....
Old 09-14-2005, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Pre-ordered peices is one thing...I see no problem with that especially if the band have other frontline sections with no size retrictions.
But What I don't like is if the costume is clearly easy to adjust according to size but when you call up the mas camp they tell you the restrictions or if you and a chubby friend go in person to register and the person at the camp take one look at your pleasingly plump friend and tell you the section is sold out, but give me your number and I'll call if a space is open. A day later later they call you to get your skinny self in the "soldout" section...true story folks and it didn't happen in any of the new crop of bands, this happened way before.

Old 09-14-2005, 04:34 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by yanktiguan
nah, im sure that does play an issue. Is not everything you can get in every size.... but the question is, if you arent able to find the piece in all desired sizes, does that costume have to be the frontline?

but then again, like I said before.... I really doh know anything about this whole mas ting, so.....
i don't either, but if the band/section leaders really
wanted to include everybody there would be no restrictions
they would have found an alternative
Old 09-14-2005, 04:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wine, wine, wine!!!

Credits: 32
I agree that there should be size restrictions, been saying so for years. Even though I on the thick side.

Reason: some women treat carnival costumes like everything else in fashion - they doh realise that not every style is for everybody. I will never forget de sights that greeted my eyes in de Queens Park Savannah on carnival Tues for the five years leading up to the time that I left TT. And it seemed to be getting worse every year. I always blame the bandleaders, cause if they not offering the costumes in those sizes then the women cannot wear them.

I am not saying that there shouldn't be any big people in the band. But let's face it, big (and especially the very big) people come with fat, cellulite and all manner of bulges, bumps and shapes. A string bikini with thong that might look like de bomb on a skinny gyal WILL NOT look good on someone weighing in excess of 200 pounds!

Costumes should be tastefully designed to suit bigger people. AND NO TWO PIECE, please, for the love of God! There could be variations of the section just for the bigger gals (I doh see why not cause sections have like 3 variations these days). Give them things to enhance their beauty and make them still feel sexy. Not have them in de same tings de fit body gals wearing, with no consideration for their size and the extra flesh available to expose. Then have them looking ridiculous, and have people laughing at them and your band.

Big people deserve as much time and consideration when designing your band, cause their money just as good as anybody else.

Last edited by redtrinigirl; 09-14-2005 at 04:55 PM..
Old 09-14-2005, 04:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Dreamweaver...

Credits: 80

Actually I'm not speaking from speculation, I'm speaking from fact. All those cute little crystal costumes you all have been loving so much... well they only come wholesale in certain sizes – especially the bras: 32A – 36C; panties xsmall, small and medium (we haven’t found them in large yet)… Which is why, at least in Tribe, there are restrictions on our Nylon Pool section. I'm sure it's the same for IP but don't quote me on that since I cannot speak for them.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Bahia Grown

Credits: 30
I'm still getting the in-and-out of TNT mas camps and carnival. Which is so different from Brazil. The Rio camps makes their own costumes and the "frontline" are chosen by the camp. Which reduce the craziness for people to get in a section until close to carnival when sections are sold out.

LSK, I understand your point too, I remember the thread of the camps buying pieces from wholesale. Which only leads them to a limit amount of sizes they can buy ahead of time.
Old 09-14-2005, 04:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
saucywow

Originally Posted by redtrinigirl
I agree that there should be size restrictions, been saying so for years. Even though I on the thick side.

Reason: some women treat carnival costumes like everything else in fashion - they doh realise that not every style is for everybody. I will never forget de sights that greeted my eyes in de Queens Park Savannah on carnival Tues for the five years leading up to the time that I left TT. And it seemed to be getting worse every year. I always blame the bandleaders, cause if they not offering the costumes in those sizes then the women cannot wear them.

I am not saying that there shouldn't be any big people in the band. But let's face it, big (and especially the very big) people come with fat, cellulite and all manner of bulges, bumps and shapes. A string bikini with thong that might look like de bomb on a skinny gyal WILL NOT look good on someone weighing in excess of 200 pounds!

Costumes should be tastefully designed to suit bigger people. AND NO TWO PIECE, please, for the love of God! There could be variations of the section just for the bigger gals (I do see why not cause sections have like 3 variations these days). Give them things to enhance their beauty and make them feel still sexy. Not have them in de same tings de fit body gals wearing, with no consideration for their size and the extra flesh available to expose. Then have them looking ridiculous, and have people laughing at them and your band.

Big people deserve as much time and consideration when designing your band, cause their money just as good as anybody else.
I totally agree.