Old 05-25-2004, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Credits: 245
Unhappy Do they have carnival in Japan

buz I may be moving to live there for a year.

I'm already getting depress just thinking about it.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 05-25-2004, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,471
Re: Do they have carnival in Japan

Originally posted by Pebbles362436

Wish I was you....
Old 05-25-2004, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 256
well I'm sure they have some festival where u can get dressed up in...but I not too sure w/ their religious beliefs. They huge into reggae though, so u never know
Old 05-25-2004, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Thanks guys but I'll be crying sending allyuh pictures of soca fetes and carnival in Japan.
Yes I'm the chick who's work has been featured and quoted in the NY Times, NY Daily News, NY Post, Carib World News, Fox, Fashion Leadge Magazine, JA Gleaner, Star, Trinidad Express, the Punch and countless other media sources. My "A" list clients make over $500K per event. So I'm not accepting "volunteer" applications. Don't Hate The Playa Hate The Game B!tches. While your biggest claim to fame is an internet attention whore and President of yuh Imix Bulla men Bacchanal club.LOL
Old 05-25-2004, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Thanks guys but I'll be crying sending allyuh pictures of soca fetes and carnival in Japan.
JAPAN????? What yuh doing all the way in JAPAN?????

the closest thing to a soca act they have is Junko.

Old 05-25-2004, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally posted by shandy
JAPAN????? What yuh doing all the way in JAPAN?????

the closest thing to a soca act they have is Junko.
lol@Junko
She'll be my only soca friend.
Its all work related Shandy.
Old 05-25-2004, 03:24 PM   #7 (permalink)

lol@Junko
She'll be my only soca friend.
Its all work related Shandy.
Wow, sounds cool though.

Old 05-25-2004, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 268
CAN I GET AH DIGITAL CAMERA AND AH LAP TOP WILE YOU THERE PEBBLES IF THEY DOH HAVE ONE START ONE 2 YEARS LATER THEY WILL HAVE THE BEST ONE IN THE WORLD AND YOU BOUND TO FIND SOME TRINIS THERE
Old 05-25-2004, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally posted by NEO ONE
CAN I GET AH DIGITAL CAMERA AND AH LAP TOP WILE YOU THERE PEBBLES IF THEY DOH HAVE ONE START ONE 2 YEARS LATER THEY WILL HAVE THE BEST ONE IN THE WORLD AND YOU BOUND TO FIND SOME TRINIS THERE
If I do decide to go it's only going to be for a year Neo. So no way am I going to invest that much energy and time into a culture that I'm not familar with. It would take me at least two year of research and I would want to get a better understanding about Junko's culture prior. Hopefully I dont have to make the move/decision until after I come back from Trinidad carnival 2k5.
Old 05-25-2004, 07:33 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 92

Old 05-25-2004, 11:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Gadget Freak

Credits: 537

We don't have west indian style carnival.

But soca music is getting popular among dancehall fans. I have two dj friends that play soca. one of them is a big dancehall dj that has her own label and she done work with Machel and KMC recently. another has a regular soca & reggae event.
I'm planning to take them to Miami carnival this year.
Old 05-25-2004, 11:28 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 92
Re: Re: Do they have carnival in Japan

Originally posted by cocotea

But soca music is getting popular among dancehall fans. I have two dj friends that play soca. one of them is a big dancehall dj that has her own label and she done work with Machel and KMC recently. another has a regular soca & reggae event.
We are everwhere.
Old 05-26-2004, 12:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Re: Re: Do they have carnival in Japan

Originally posted by cocotea

Wow we actually have people on imix that live in Japan I thought I would be the only person logging into CC from Japan. Thanks so much for sharing and welcome to CC bcuz I have no clue about the culture and I will be at a total lost. I have like two million questions. I do know that when the bands travel they sometimes go as far as Japan.:)
Old 05-26-2004, 09:30 AM   #14 (permalink)

My brother has a close friend who lives in Japan. He makes steel pans

Old 05-26-2004, 10:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Focus & on Task

Originally posted by shandy
My brother has a close friend who lives in Japan. He makes steel pans
Shandy I'm not going to sleep on Japan. Now that you mentioned this I remember one of the steel pan groups out of NY was invited to perform in Japan. :) I also recall reading about some trends they were setting as well.