Old 01-16-2004, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Kaiser Ball Gyul

Credits: 53
For DMinshall Hopefuls

www.guardian.co.tt
Peter Samuel tries to fill void left by Minshall
BY DONNA PIERRE

Peter Samuel Jr has produced two sections to cater for the Peter Minshall masqueraders who were left without a band to parade in this year.

The former King of Carnival said on Wednesday that when Minshall made it official that there would be no band, he understood how his masqueraders felt.

Samuel had worked closely with Minshall and his Callaloo Company before moving on to bring out a section for Barbarossa.

This year Samuel, with designer Patrick Roberts, will bring out five sections for Masquerade’s 2004 presentation, River Lime. They operate under the name 2 Ps & D’Pod.

Samuel said the two additional sections catering to Minshallites were entitled “East Dry River” and “Caroni River.”

He said he left Minshall because of the lateness of bringing out his band and the long hours, but said they were still friends.

“My personal feeling is that we are losing all concept of what mas is about. In fact, we have very few designers left in mas. We can count them on one hand,” he said.

Last year, Samuel had switched from Barbarossa to Masquerade, saying he was tired of the bathing-suit syndrome.

He said it was a misconception to believe only the elderly wanted to play mas using a lot of fabric.

“I have no problem with bands doing the bathing-suit mas, because it is business. My problem is that there is no more design concept in mas. We are killing our own Carnival,” he said.

The two sections produced by 2 Ps & D’Pod are on display at Masquerade’s mas camp, de Verteuil Street, Woodbrook, and at the Mas Camp Pub, corner French Street and Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook.

They can also be viewed at 2 Ps & D’Pod mas camp at Millhouse, 161 Tragarete Road, Port-of-Spain.
Old 01-16-2004, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 268
THANKS FOR THAT ONE BAGOGYUL
SAMUEL IS ONE OF THE BEST KINGS OFCARNIVAL EVER BUT HE ENT ALL THAT IN THE MAS .
RESPECT TO HIM FOR TRYING TO KEEP IT UP ANYWAY