Dippity Doo-Dah
Credits: 709
Dc Carnival Marshals
Hello everyone!
I am sending out an open call for volunteers to participate as marshals in DC's upcoming Caribbbean Carnival. The event is slated to take place on Georgia Avenue NW on Saturday 25 beginning at 10 am for those who didn't know. As some of you may have heard, the carnival committee has run into some trouble with the governing bodies of the District and in order for the permit to be granted in the future it is necessary for us to, in essence, make the carnival procession a little bit more tame (as dreadful a thought that may be to some of us ). This is why volunteer marshals are necessary, to keep some semblance of order. If you were to volunteer your services, you would be making a personal effort to ensure the proliferation of Caribbean culture. As I get more details, I'll post them. Thanks ![]() |
sounds interesting keep us posted
Credits: 2,244
You better get a Security Force that is insured to secure your carnival and revellers.
Carnival is a business. Volunteers chipping along with a flask in dey pocket------won't cut it. |
Credits: 37
Yo..these guys really need all the help they can. If we aint playing mas, can we all pitch in and try and help out. ![]() |
damn, if i was'nt filming every year i would do it in deed,. for 1,. ah see what de committe does see ,. mostly at de judging point,.. when u have de " Security Force " huggin up and jumpin along wid de mud band in front of de stage,
this is not a good force to have,.. u need strictly profession minded forces, doing what deh are out deh to do,. ah mean come on,. would u see de mayors force,. jumping out ah line an starting ah wicked wine just because deh start tuh feel de riddim in deh soul ?, no,.. so ah feel de ppl, need to respect de judging point for what is, (THE JUDGING POINT), and not just wuk up so across de stage as if its at de beginning of de parade,. but ah cyah put de blame on all de ppl,. for some may not have no idea its de judging point eh,.. so in this thought, i always felt that it should be some sort of banners that let de ppl know its de point and not to cross it,. its a symple thing that can be done i feel and this will help de judging be a fair judging, and give all de camera men that have passes to be at de point to get nice footage without having to pan over ppl that should not be there without a costume,.. if ya feel tuh jump, please let de mass come off de stage 1st,.. okok ah done, just wanted to point that out, cus ah been having this trouble fuh years now,. so i hope de committee or who ever at hand will look into having some sort of banners (BRIGHT COLOURFUL) letting everyone know, its de judging point, it will indeed improve de quality of sight and viewing for all. |

). This is why volunteer marshals are necessary, to keep some semblance of order. 

this is not a good force to have,.. u need strictly profession minded forces, doing what deh are out deh to do,. ah mean come on,. would u see de mayors force,. jumping out ah line an starting ah wicked wine just because deh start tuh feel de riddim in deh soul ?, no,.. so ah feel de ppl, need to respect de judging point for what is, (THE JUDGING POINT), and not just wuk up so across de stage as if its at de beginning of de parade,. but ah cyah put de blame on all de ppl,. for some may not have no idea its de judging point eh,.. so in this thought, i always felt that it should be some sort of banners that let de ppl know its de point and not to cross it,. its a symple thing that can be done i feel and this will help de judging be a fair judging, and give all de camera men that have passes to be at de point to get nice footage without having to pan over ppl that should not be there without a costume,.. if ya feel tuh jump, please let de mass come off de stage 1st,.. okok ah done, just wanted to point that out, cus ah been having this trouble fuh years now,. so i hope de committee or who ever at hand will look into having some sort of banners (BRIGHT COLOURFUL) letting everyone know, its de judging point, it will indeed improve de quality of sight and viewing for all.